We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home; Peaceful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We stayed at Chestnut Lane on our first visit 3 years ago. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer. This time we stayed 4 glorious nights. Of course the BnB is spotless and modern while cozy. Kathleen and John are warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful. The wireless internet worked flawlessly. We sat and watched the sunset over the green pastures out the back of our cottage. We look forward to our next visit. The Trip Advisor "5" rating is not high enough for this sensational BnB.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Steve thank you for your kind words about your stay at our B&B. We so enjoyed meeting you again, just like having family come home.
We do appreciate your mention of the wireless internet - so important for our guests to have that contact with family and friends back home. John and I never tire of the lovely views of green pastures and lovely sunsets from the cottage deck.
We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We had three nights in the cottage during which we ran out of superlatives for the accommodation and our hosts, Kathleen and John. We knew, from reading previous reviews, that the cottage would be good, but it exceeded our expectations. The breakfasts were great and all the better for Kathleen’s company. Like other reviewers we had a plentiful supply of scones – and an introduction to feijoa.

Apart from Hobbiton, Matamata may not be the most obvious stopping place on the North Island, but with so many places (Rotorua, Hamilton, Waitomo, Tauranga ...) within an hour’s drive, the cottage is a perfect base for exploring this part of the Island. Stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hi Suze, thank you so much for the lovely review you posted for us. John and I are very happy to hear your enjoyed your 3 night stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our home and location. Other guests coming to stay at our B&B can give consideration to staying more than the one night to experience some of the beautiful walks in the area.
Warmest regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

So glad we discovered this place on our visit to Hobbiton. Lovely, bright, well-equipped and spacious cottage. Kathleen and John were such warm and friendly hosts. Delicious scones and hot breakfast prepared by Kathleen. Their home is beautiful - with a separate tastefully-decorated living room for guests' use. We will definitely be back - & bring our friends - when we are next in NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MLYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you Mei-Ling for taking time to write a review about your stay with us.
John and I enjoyed chatting with you and your husband at breakfast time.
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your night in our cottage, we hope you will make it back another time with your friends.
Warm regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We loved our stay at the Chestnut Lane Cottage! It was the first place we stayed during our two week trip to New Zealand and Australia, and it was our favorite. We stayed in the guest house/cottage, which was spacious and beautiful. Our hosts, Kathleen and John, greeted us upon arrival with hugs and smiles. Additionally, Kathleen is an amazing cook! Adjusting to the 14 hour time difference was a bit of a struggle, but the delicious breakfast and afternoon tea/snacks were a delightful surprise. We also had a lot of questions about places to hike nearby and things we should see, and Kathleen had recommendations that made our trip perfect and memorable. We only wished we had another night to stay in Matamata and this lovely cottage!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Amy thank you so very much for your lovely review, we so enjoyed meeting you and your husband. Great to hear you enjoyed you 2 nights in our cottage.
Thank you for the special little note and souvenir from your home town, it was a nice surprise to find them after you had left to continue your vacation in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Kathleen and John greeted us when we arrived. They showed us around the cottage and took orders for breakfast. While we were out for the evening Kathleen made up the sleeper sofa for my son. We all slept well and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast Kathleen served.

We highly recommend this B & B as a delightful place to stay with wonderful hosts.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Shirley thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for coming to stay at our B&B.
I hope you enjoyed your few days in Auckland before flying home.
Best wishes and kind regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
3.2 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
301 reviews
0.5 km away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
6.5 km away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
2.0 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
0.9 km away
Walnut Lodge B&B
Walnut Lodge B&B
#3 of 8 in Matamata
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Matamata

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing