We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Lodge Motel(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Road Motel(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
de Preaux Lodge(Matamata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
432
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main housenew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelguest housecooked breakfastone nightvisiting hobbitonjam and creamliving roomon arrivalhome away from homeeach morningstayed longerwonderful staynext morning
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We had three nights in the cottage during which we ran out of superlatives for the accommodation and our hosts, Kathleen and John. We knew, from reading previous reviews, that the cottage would be good, but it exceeded our expectations. The breakfasts were great and all the better for Kathleen’s company. Like other reviewers we had a plentiful supply of scones – and an introduction to feijoa.

Apart from Hobbiton, Matamata may not be the most obvious stopping place on the North Island, but with so many places (Rotorua, Hamilton, Waitomo, Tauranga ...) within an hour’s drive, the cottage is a perfect base for exploring this part of the Island. Stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hi Suze, thank you so much for the lovely review you posted for us. John and I are very happy to hear your enjoyed your 3 night stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our home and location. Other guests coming to stay at our B&B can give consideration to staying more than the one night to experience some of the beautiful walks in the area.
Warmest regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

So glad we discovered this place on our visit to Hobbiton. Lovely, bright, well-equipped and spacious cottage. Kathleen and John were such warm and friendly hosts. Delicious scones and hot breakfast prepared by Kathleen. Their home is beautiful - with a separate tastefully-decorated living room for guests' use. We will definitely be back - & bring our friends - when we are next in NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MLYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you Mei-Ling for taking time to write a review about your stay with us.
John and I enjoyed chatting with you and your husband at breakfast time.
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your night in our cottage, we hope you will make it back another time with your friends.
Warm regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We loved our stay at the Chestnut Lane Cottage! It was the first place we stayed during our two week trip to New Zealand and Australia, and it was our favorite. We stayed in the guest house/cottage, which was spacious and beautiful. Our hosts, Kathleen and John, greeted us upon arrival with hugs and smiles. Additionally, Kathleen is an amazing cook! Adjusting to the 14 hour time difference was a bit of a struggle, but the delicious breakfast and afternoon tea/snacks were a delightful surprise. We also had a lot of questions about places to hike nearby and things we should see, and Kathleen had recommendations that made our trip perfect and memorable. We only wished we had another night to stay in Matamata and this lovely cottage!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Amy thank you so very much for your lovely review, we so enjoyed meeting you and your husband. Great to hear you enjoyed you 2 nights in our cottage.
Thank you for the special little note and souvenir from your home town, it was a nice surprise to find them after you had left to continue your vacation in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Kathleen and John greeted us when we arrived. They showed us around the cottage and took orders for breakfast. While we were out for the evening Kathleen made up the sleeper sofa for my son. We all slept well and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast Kathleen served.

We highly recommend this B & B as a delightful place to stay with wonderful hosts.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Shirley thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for coming to stay at our B&B.
I hope you enjoyed your few days in Auckland before flying home.
Best wishes and kind regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

No words to describe the wonderful, positive, amazing experience we had. Katherine was incredibly accommodating and welcoming. We had to arrive a bit earlier than usual due to our hobbiton tour reservation and she was very helpful and accommodated us to arrive earlier. The breakfast experience was out of this world. She was respectful, patient, and so welcoming. Made us feel at home. I wish I has stayed there longer.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yessy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

"Yessy B" thank you for your beautiful review, it was just lovely having you and your daughter stay with us, we wish you could have stayed longer too. We appreciate the positive and kind words you put into your review, thank you very much Yessy.
We hope you will be back some other time with your family.
Best wishes and warm regards from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews