We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
de Preaux Lodge(Matamata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
432
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main housenew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelguest housecooked breakfastone nightvisiting hobbitonjam and creamliving roomon arrivalhome away from homeeach morningstayed longerwonderful staynext morning
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We absolutely loved every minute of our time at the Chestnut Lane Cottage. Kathleen and John were delightful in every way. Upon arriving they got us settled in the cottage and Kathleen brought us delicious home made scones. My husband and I spent some time admiring the sunset while John gave us a quick tour of the property AND fresh fruit from the trees. This was our first time staying at a B&B and Chestnut Lane Cottage greatly exceeded our expectations. Kathleen cooked us a delicious breakfast, and even catered to some food allergies. There really is no other place to stay if you are visiting Hobbiton or the area. THANK YOU Kathleen and John! Carrie & Bryan

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carried275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Carrie thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. John and I so pleased you enjoyed your first B&B experience with us and were home to see the lovely sunset.
Warm regards to you both from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Best to email ahead of time to secure a spot in this lovely cottage home near Matamata. The cottage is situated about 5 minutes drive from Matamata and 15 minutes drive from Hobbiton Movie Set location. John and Kathleen were extremely welcoming when we arrived at their beautiful residence in the New Zealand countryside. They greeted us upon arrival gave us a tour of the guest house, then offered delicious tea and scones right away, which we could not refuse. The guest house can comfortably sleep 3-4 people, and an additional two guest bedrooms are available in the main house, so this arrangement was perfect for our family of 5. The facilities were pristine and well maintained. Each room is replete with the latest comforts and appliances, including electric blankets and a top notch HVAC system in the guest house. John and Kathleen also make a large lounging area in the main house available for guest use. Breakfast the following morning was nothing short of spectacular, with Kathleen rising early to cook a hearty meal fit for royalty. Overall, the experience was fantastic but the warm, friendly and welcoming company and hospitality of the owners is what puts this BnB head and shoulders above the rest. If you are staying in Matamata, there is absolutely no question of where to stay - Chestnut Lane Cottage is by far the best option. If only I could give 6 stars...

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silverxnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you so very much "silverxnt" for a wonderful review. You and your family were a joy to have stay in our house, thank you Ian for bringing your family to our B&B. We were very happy for your parents they could watch the sun rise before sitting down to breakfast.
Best wishes and very warm regards to you all from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were very lucky that we recently had a friend who vacationed in New Zealand and went to Hobbiton. When planning our trip, he insisted that we make a reservation with Jon and Kathleen. After staying with them this past week, I can't even begin to emphasize how glad we were to stay at Chestnut Lane! First, Kathleen was very responsive in the months leading up to our stay. She was great! Second, the accommodations were immaculate! My wife and I had the cottage, while our parents stayed in the main home. All parties loved our rooms! Lastly, the breakfast was amazing! As we prepared for Hobbiton, we had a great pre-Hobbit meal to give us ample energy.

Overall, Chestnut Hill is a must stay BnB! Jon and Kathleen are wonderful and I highly recommend staying with them.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Matt thank you very much for your review. John and I loved having you, your wife and parents stay with us, it was great meeting you all. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage. I hope you had a wonderful stay in Fiji on your way home. Best wishes to you all with warmest regards from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Rumor has it that our B&B on Chestnut Lane was used to host a member of the cast during the filming of the Hobbit, but that was not the best part of our stay. The hosts, Kathleen and John are the nicest and most accommodating people we have ever stayed with. Regardless of our request, they found a way to help. The welcome freshly baked scones were a nice touch.

The property offers two exceptionally good options. Stay in the very cute cottage, adjacent to the house, and have your own private retreat or stay in one of the two bedrooms on the first floor or the main house. Our friends and their daughter enjoyed the cottage and my honey, Edie, and I stayed in the house with the private bedroom and bathroom with tub next to our room. Regardless of your choice either option is excellent. We even watched a Lord of the Rings movie on their home theatre system with the warmth from the fireplace in the background.

A fully cooked hot breakfast, good WiFi, off street parking, and the use of their family room is part of the deal. The house and cottage are first class construction and immaculately clean. We stay at lots of five star properties and this may be our best stay ever thanks to the hosts. Book directly with Kathleen for the best rates and pay in NZD cash to avoid any extra charges.

Chestnut Lane may be the perfect location for an extended stay in the area because there is so much to see and do. The Hobbiton movie set is down the road, the ocean is 40 minutes away, and Rotorua and the thermal activity is a day trip. Excellent hosts with fairly priced superior accommodations are rare, so I wished we would have stayed longer so we didn’t need to move our bags.

Room Tip: Cottage offers privacy and the house has 2 bedrooms
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Ron your review is amazing, thank you so much. John and I had a wonderful time with you and your honey and your dear friends from Australia. How lucky we are to have met you all and have you stay in our home. Thank you for your very kind words Ron.
Take care on your travels, I hope you all had a wonderful time together in the northern parts of New Zealand.
Best wishes to you all with warm regards from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing time with Kathleen in her beautiful home! When you book (which you should) you should CALL OR EMAIL directly. You can't book her on Tripadvisor and I thought that her place was originally booked but it wasn't. Make sure to reach out with her contact information directly.

Also she takes cash or a bank transfer so best to plan for that.

Kathleen is the kindest host and genuinely loves taking care of her guests. She even brought us special cookies since we checked in on Anzac Day. Breakfast and afternoon scones were just perfect and we enjoyed chatting with her with a bottle of wine in her gorgeous gazebo while the sun set. The cottage is spacious, the bed is comfortable and it has everything you would need.

Make sure to ask her about what it was like during the filming of the Hobbit movie. (-:

One of the best places we have stayed during a holiday!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we had a lovely evening in your company whilst watching the sun go down from our gazebo and loved our chat over at breakfast.
Many thanks for the advise you offered to other guests wanting to book with us.
We enjoyed having you in our home, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Warm regards and best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews