We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Matamata
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No. 1 Motels(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
431
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main houseb bnew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelguest housecooked breakfastone nightvisiting hobbitonjam and creamliving roomhome away from homeon arrivaleach morningstayed longernext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 435 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing time with Kathleen in her beautiful home! When you book (which you should) you should CALL OR EMAIL directly. You can't book her on Tripadvisor and I thought that her place was originally booked but it wasn't. Make sure to reach out with her contact information directly.

Also she takes cash or a bank transfer so best to plan for that.

Kathleen is the kindest host and genuinely loves taking care of her guests. She even brought us special cookies since we checked in on Anzac Day. Breakfast and afternoon scones were just perfect and we enjoyed chatting with her with a bottle of wine in her gorgeous gazebo while the sun set. The cottage is spacious, the bed is comfortable and it has everything you would need.

Make sure to ask her about what it was like during the filming of the Hobbit movie. (-:

One of the best places we have stayed during a holiday!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we had a lovely evening in your company whilst watching the sun go down from our gazebo and loved our chat over at breakfast.
Many thanks for the advise you offered to other guests wanting to book with us.
We enjoyed having you in our home, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Warm regards and best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage as Kathleen and John really made us feel at home. The cottage is nicely decorated with a beautiful view, giving a tranquil feel. The afternoon treat of yummy scones and cookies was a wonderful surprise and my two young boys really enjoyed them. The breakfast was also really special as Julie made us feel at ease in her dining room while she cooked delicious breakfast. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hema thank you very much for the review you posted for us. It was great to meet you, your husband and your2 boys. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, I am happy you all enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

While we have stayed at a number of hotels, we don’t often stay at a bed and breakfast. What a great experience! The cottage is beautiful and had all the conveniences of home with the “away” fun of a hotel. Kathleen and John were perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome! The warm scones when we arrived were amazing! The view from the back porch of the cottage is so tranquil. We appreciated the ample closet space, luggage racks, fan, and hair dryer in the cottage. Everything we needed for a terrific stay was provided. The blackout curtains in the bedroom were especially wonderful as well. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. We had a bit of rainy weather when we visited and ended up completely soaked after a hike. With a flight scheduled for the following day, we would have been in real trouble had Kathleen not generously allowed use of her dryer! Thank you again! As others have noted, the Cottage is very close to Hobbiton. This is especially convenient if you have an early morning tour or the evening dinner tour. The stay was truly wonderful, don’t hesitate, book now! Thank you, Kathleen and John!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hobbes_and_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was great meeting you and so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in the south Island, especially beautiful Queenstown. Thank you for mentioning things you enjoyed most about your stay with us Best wishes to you both, warmest regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Kathleen and John made us feel right at home. The property is beautiful, clean, tidy, and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely like to stay again.

Breakfast was delicious, and we really appreciated the bottle of bubbly for our wedding night.

Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Tim thank you very much for you kind comments. It was lovely meeting you and your bride, glad you enjoyed the bottle of bubbles.
John and I wish you well and much happiness for your life together.
Warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We only stayed for 1 night in February Kathleen and John could not have been more hospitable A lovely couple making your stay so so comfortable and such a friendly pair
Our breakfast was perfect...The cottage is amazing so is the adjoining unit which we stayed in is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, the views were brilliant what more could anyone want Very well done to you both it was our pleasure Although it has been awhile since we stayed I hope you remember us. Kathleen and David from Norfolk along with Pauline Ashley and Gail

Room Tip: We stayed in the unit adjacent to the main house which was beautiful Breakfast was served in the main house
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

How lovely to see your review, we remember you well Kathleen and David and your family, Pauline, Gail and Ashley. It was a fun time having you here in our home.
We hope you had a great trip through New Zealand.
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. John and I send our best to you all in Norfolk.
Warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews