We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with the Hobbits”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Rumor has it that our B&B on Chestnut Lane was used to host a member of the cast during the filming of the Hobbit, but that was not the best part of our stay. The hosts, Kathleen and John are the nicest and most accommodating people we have ever stayed with. Regardless of our request, they found a way to help. The welcome freshly baked scones were a nice touch.

The property offers two exceptionally good options. Stay in the very cute cottage, adjacent to the house, and have your own private retreat or stay in one of the two bedrooms on the first floor or the main house. Our friends and their daughter enjoyed the cottage and my honey, Edie, and I stayed in the house with the private bedroom and bathroom with tub next to our room. Regardless of your choice either option is excellent. We even watched a Lord of the Rings movie on their home theatre system with the warmth from the fireplace in the background.

A fully cooked hot breakfast, good WiFi, off street parking, and the use of their family room is part of the deal. The house and cottage are first class construction and immaculately clean. We stay at lots of five star properties and this may be our best stay ever thanks to the hosts. Book directly with Kathleen for the best rates and pay in NZD cash to avoid any extra charges.

Chestnut Lane may be the perfect location for an extended stay in the area because there is so much to see and do. The Hobbiton movie set is down the road, the ocean is 40 minutes away, and Rotorua and the thermal activity is a day trip. Excellent hosts with fairly priced superior accommodations are rare, so I wished we would have stayed longer so we didn’t need to move our bags.

Room Tip: Cottage offers privacy and the house has 2 bedrooms
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Ron your review is amazing, thank you so much. John and I had a wonderful time with you and your honey and your dear friends from Australia. How lucky we are to have met you all and have you stay in our home. Thank you for your very kind words Ron.
Take care on your travels, I hope you all had a wonderful time together in the northern parts of New Zealand.
Best wishes to you all with warm regards from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Chestnut Lane Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 405 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing time with Kathleen in her beautiful home! When you book (which you should) you should CALL OR EMAIL directly. You can't book her on Tripadvisor and I thought that her place was originally booked but it wasn't. Make sure to reach out with her contact information directly.

Also she takes cash or a bank transfer so best to plan for that.

Kathleen is the kindest host and genuinely loves taking care of her guests. She even brought us special cookies since we checked in on Anzac Day. Breakfast and afternoon scones were just perfect and we enjoyed chatting with her with a bottle of wine in her gorgeous gazebo while the sun set. The cottage is spacious, the bed is comfortable and it has everything you would need.

Make sure to ask her about what it was like during the filming of the Hobbit movie. (-:

One of the best places we have stayed during a holiday!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we had a lovely evening in your company whilst watching the sun go down from our gazebo and loved our chat over at breakfast.
Many thanks for the advise you offered to other guests wanting to book with us.
We enjoyed having you in our home, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Warm regards and best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage as Kathleen and John really made us feel at home. The cottage is nicely decorated with a beautiful view, giving a tranquil feel. The afternoon treat of yummy scones and cookies was a wonderful surprise and my two young boys really enjoyed them. The breakfast was also really special as Julie made us feel at ease in her dining room while she cooked delicious breakfast. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hema thank you very much for the review you posted for us. It was great to meet you, your husband and your2 boys. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, I am happy you all enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

While we have stayed at a number of hotels, we don’t often stay at a bed and breakfast. What a great experience! The cottage is beautiful and had all the conveniences of home with the “away” fun of a hotel. Kathleen and John were perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome! The warm scones when we arrived were amazing! The view from the back porch of the cottage is so tranquil. We appreciated the ample closet space, luggage racks, fan, and hair dryer in the cottage. Everything we needed for a terrific stay was provided. The blackout curtains in the bedroom were especially wonderful as well. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. We had a bit of rainy weather when we visited and ended up completely soaked after a hike. With a flight scheduled for the following day, we would have been in real trouble had Kathleen not generously allowed use of her dryer! Thank you again! As others have noted, the Cottage is very close to Hobbiton. This is especially convenient if you have an early morning tour or the evening dinner tour. The stay was truly wonderful, don’t hesitate, book now! Thank you, Kathleen and John!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hobbes_and_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was great meeting you and so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in the south Island, especially beautiful Queenstown. Thank you for mentioning things you enjoyed most about your stay with us Best wishes to you both, warmest regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Kathleen and John made us feel right at home. The property is beautiful, clean, tidy, and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely like to stay again.

Breakfast was delicious, and we really appreciated the bottle of bubbly for our wedding night.

Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Tim thank you very much for you kind comments. It was lovely meeting you and your bride, glad you enjoyed the bottle of bubbles.
John and I wish you well and much happiness for your life together.
Warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
0.5 km away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
3.2 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
297 reviews
6.5 km away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
7.9 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
2.1 km away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Matamata

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing