We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and warm. The perfect spot in Matamata”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is so mush better than a four-star hotel. The cottage is beautiful, well equipped, spacious and quiet. The sundeck is very cosy. The hosts, Kathleen and John are so lovely and attentive. The home-made breakfast is delicious and we had a nice chat with Kathleen in the morning. We stayed only one night but I would definitely book here if I ever come back in the Matamata area.

Room Tip: The cottage is very nice, with its own kitchen and living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Claire thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you so much for your review. It is encouraging to hear how you thought our Cottage compares well to a four-star hotel, thank you for your telling us. Good to hear too that you enjoyed your breakfast. Kind regards to you and your partner. Best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

I actually stayed here some time ago and neglected to write a review. But it was so fantastic I felt very guilty about it and wanted to amend my error! I cannot fault this place. The hosts were completely charming and the cottage was so comfortable, warm and tidy. Very handy to all the tourist spots and I recommend staying for the breakfast it was amazing. I will definitely stay there again it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank irenemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Irene how lovely to see your review, I remember your stay with us last year, was lovely to meet you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay, we appreciate you mentioning you enjoyed the comforts and cleanliness of our B&B. Best wishes to you Irene. Best regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Kathleen was so very warm and welcoming as was John, with the welcome being felt from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Warm, hospitable, friendly are just a few words which could be used to describe our hosts.

We stayed in the cottage, which was a self-contained 1 bedroom unit. The unit was well appointment and had everything you would want, including all the DVD's for The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings!.

It is only about a 10-minute drive to Hobbiton, which is one of the reasons why we chose to stay here (and the good reviews of course).

Kathleen made us breakfast the next day, which was cooked perfectly and we had everything we could want, including vegemite, which we had been missing so much!!

I would highly recommend this cottage as an ideal place to stay if you are visiting Hobbiton or the local area.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Sylvia thank you very much for your review, we are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you, your husband and lovely daughter. Thank you for mentioning points of interest in our cottage. The DVDs have proven very popular. Our guests often like to familiarise themselves again before heading off for their Hobbiton experience.
Best wishes to you all with warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful , just perfect , clean , friendly , wonderful breakfast , the best hosts one can imagine .
Kids loved the big grass yards to run around .if you visit hobbiton stay here .The best place we stayed at on our New Zealand holiday.next time we stay longer for sure
Marcela,Ron,Angelina,Michael from Switzerland

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 254ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Ron we had a wonderful time meeting you and your family, even though your visit was short we felt we had made a friend in your family.
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Warmest regards to you all in Zurich. Best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Chestnut.

Location was fantastic, and was a short drive away from Hobbiton and the local town centre

Kathleen and John were great hosts and were very friendly and accommodating!

The morning breakfast was delicious. Overall, we had a great time, and wish we could have stayed for longer.

Thank you Kathleen and John for a great time and we definitely recommend them for anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Jesse thank you so much for coming to stay with us on your very "special weekend".
It was lovely meeting you and your fiancé. Best wishes to you both.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us Jesse.
Warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
0.5 km away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
3.2 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
301 reviews
6.5 km away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
2.0 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
0.9 km away
Walnut Lodge B&B
Walnut Lodge B&B
#3 of 8 in Matamata
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Matamata

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing