We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The House With No Nails(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Road Motel(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Lodge Motel(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
de Preaux Lodge(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matamata Backpackers(Matamata)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
434
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesthe main housenew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelguest housecooked breakfastone nightvisiting hobbitonjam and creamliving roomon arrivalhome away from homeeach morningstayed longerwonderful staynext morning
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I actually stayed here some time ago and neglected to write a review. But it was so fantastic I felt very guilty about it and wanted to amend my error! I cannot fault this place. The hosts were completely charming and the cottage was so comfortable, warm and tidy. Very handy to all the tourist spots and I recommend staying for the breakfast it was amazing. I will definitely stay there again it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank irenemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Irene how lovely to see your review, I remember your stay with us last year, was lovely to meet you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay, we appreciate you mentioning you enjoyed the comforts and cleanliness of our B&B. Best wishes to you Irene. Best regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Kathleen was so very warm and welcoming as was John, with the welcome being felt from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Warm, hospitable, friendly are just a few words which could be used to describe our hosts.

We stayed in the cottage, which was a self-contained 1 bedroom unit. The unit was well appointment and had everything you would want, including all the DVD's for The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings!.

It is only about a 10-minute drive to Hobbiton, which is one of the reasons why we chose to stay here (and the good reviews of course).

Kathleen made us breakfast the next day, which was cooked perfectly and we had everything we could want, including vegemite, which we had been missing so much!!

I would highly recommend this cottage as an ideal place to stay if you are visiting Hobbiton or the local area.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Sylvia thank you very much for your review, we are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you, your husband and lovely daughter. Thank you for mentioning points of interest in our cottage. The DVDs have proven very popular. Our guests often like to familiarise themselves again before heading off for their Hobbiton experience.
Best wishes to you all with warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful , just perfect , clean , friendly , wonderful breakfast , the best hosts one can imagine .
Kids loved the big grass yards to run around .if you visit hobbiton stay here .The best place we stayed at on our New Zealand holiday.next time we stay longer for sure
Marcela,Ron,Angelina,Michael from Switzerland

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 254ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Ron we had a wonderful time meeting you and your family, even though your visit was short we felt we had made a friend in your family.
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Warmest regards to you all in Zurich. Best wishes from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Chestnut.

Location was fantastic, and was a short drive away from Hobbiton and the local town centre

Kathleen and John were great hosts and were very friendly and accommodating!

The morning breakfast was delicious. Overall, we had a great time, and wish we could have stayed for longer.

Thank you Kathleen and John for a great time and we definitely recommend them for anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Jesse thank you so much for coming to stay with us on your very "special weekend".
It was lovely meeting you and your fiancé. Best wishes to you both.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us Jesse.
Warm regards Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Our stay at Chestnut Cottage was truly exceptional. We stayed in the house for three nights as the cottage was previously booked. This proved to be beneficial as we had more opportunities to get to know Kathleen and to see John again after many years.
We could not have been made more welcome and the house was very homely, perfectly clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was beautifully served, with everything that was asked for, the cooked breakfast was just the best!
You would be lucky to find a better, cleaner more comfortable B and B any where in NZ.
Matamata is a perfect base to see the Waikato and the Bay of Plenty.
We hope to see Kathleen and John at some future time in Fremantle Western Australia.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 33Jack712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Jack it was great meeting you and having you stay with us and lovely for John to see you again after 50 years. He has often spoken to me about his days working with you. We will catch up with you again someday in the not too distant future Jack.
Thank you for the lovely review and thank you for coming to stay with us. Best wishes to you and Kathy.
Warm regards from Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews