We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Expedia.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$101
eDreamsUS$101
CheapTicketsUS$101
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
276
71
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
71
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hobbiton tour close to town would stay again two single beds studio room few minutes drive comfortable beds air conditioning karen motel host units supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2019

When arriving at the motel, Karen and Terry were amazing, so accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. It is rare to find such awesome hosts and such a clean, presentable room. I will definitely be back! Thanks for the stay, V.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vjb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen o, Manager at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

HI V
Thank you for your review we really appreciate this, hope your " artwork" is looking good now, we would love to have you back anytime. All the best for the future. Kind regards Terry an Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

I booked a 1 bedroom unit for 1 night and had an excellent stay. Everything was spotlessly clean and the windows were open with fresh air. I enjoyed having a "country" view from the kitchen, yet still being so close to town. I was particularly grateful on returning home on Saturday night with my disabled son, to find that the heat pump had been turned on & curtains drawn. It felt welcoming & safe. Terry & Karen were very friendly & helpful. I've passed through Mata Mata many times but never realised that Centennial Drive existed, I highly recommend this too, thanks for your recommendation, Terry.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2019

Hello Louise an thank you for your lovely review, yes there wouldn't be many motels to have such a view like you had outside there windows, we are very lucky to have this an still be only a 3 minute drive into town. Thank you for the photo as well. All the best, Terry an Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

We booked a Studio with a bedroom and full kitchennite. Unit is spacious, clean and comfortable. Two single beds are in the seating area and one double bed is in the bedroom. Room rate is good. Motel is on the roadside. We could hear some traffic noise in our bathroom but we can't hear this in the sleeping area. Just few minutes drive to supermarket. I would recommend this motel to other travellers, especially those want to take a break when planning to join Hobbiton Tour.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ritali294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Hello from Matamata an thank you for your review, Hobbiton is sure a tourist attraction with guests coming from all over the world, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Regards karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

The cabins are so sweet, and immaculately clean. The owner is lovely and helped us out with local info and details about the Hobbiton Tours too. Even the smaller cabins are spacious and more like apartments with a good sized kitchenette. Beds are great (electric blankets, extra blankets and heater available for frogs like us). Lovely rural setting, Very affordable, I would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MoleyToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Good Morning an thank you, Terry an I work hard to keep the standard of our motel exactly like you found it, it is 52 years old this year!!! What a lovely family from France you all were, its guests like yourselves is why we are doing what we are doing. Kind Regards Terry & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

Comfortable, Cosy, Clean!

Thank you Karen and Terry, my elderly parents had a good rest before the second part of our trip. We booked two rooms that were on opposite sides. We would definitely love to stay at your motel again!
We Highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lofi114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2019

Hello from Matamata, love the "Three C's" heading thank you, isn't that all you need when staying in a motel! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm regards Terry an Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews