We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
83
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan roomrural settingfreshly baked croissantsturn down serviceart piecesbircher muesliart houseoutside areasoft boiled eggextra touchesheated towel rackeggs cooked to orderhomely feeldistant mountainsapple juicenew zealandhobbiton movie set
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Everything about the Arthouse is lovely, especially hosts Denise and Bruce. Set in an idyllic rural setting with beautiful rooms, a great breakfast and on-site parking. We had to be on the road early and with typical thoughtfulness Denise and Bruce packed us a lovely breakfast to go! Will definitely be back!

The Boyds

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Shane, we loved meeting you and James. Thanks for your awesome review and glad you enjoyed your breakfast on the go too! Looking forward to meeting more of your family in due course! Best regards, Denise & Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This was my first experience in a B&B and I was not disappointed ! Denise and Bruce are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home in a stunning location.

Sadly the weather for us was very rainy but this did not take away from the beauty of the area. We booked there to go and do The Hobbiton Tour was was located only a short 10 minute drive away.

We had the Peony Room as my friend and I were sharing, it was a beautiful room with two single beds they were very comfy and nice clean sheets !

We had our own bathroom with heated tiles and a lovely large shower ! - Again this was very clean.

They had a communal area where you could sit and read, enjoy a board game make tea, coffee, or have a nice glass of wine. Wifi was free which was also great !

In the morning we had a wonderful breakfast, fresh croissants which were delicious! With an assortment of fruits, meats and cheese. The thing I most enjoyed was the muesli soaked in apple juice over night with yogurt! It was absolutely wonderful.

Both Denise and Bruce were wonderful and engaging hosts ! I have already recommend this place to my family as they also wish to do the Hobbiton Tour. We stayed in a few hotels like The Hilton and Grand Mercure which are quite fancy but I would have to say that I preferred Denise and Bruce's ArtHouse !

( We actually said many times over our trip that we wish we could stay there again or in a place very similar !! )

Thank you again Denise and Bruce !

Kathryn :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn_Atk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brycegallery, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you Kathryn for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review! We enjoyed the warmth and energy both you and Anita brought to ArtHouse. Glad that you enjoyed the Bircher Muesli - we are finding it a firm favourite on our breakfast menu! We loved your comparison of our ArtHouse with the 'fancy' hotels. We look forward to meeting your family in due course and will ensure that they also have a wonderful stay. Thanks again for the awesome review! We hope we will get the opportunity to meet again. Denise & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I wish we had more time to stay as the B&B was lovely and the hosts delightful. We were greeted by Denise and immediately felt very comfortable in her home.

We stayed in the Peony room which has a private bathroom and is beautifully decorated and maintained. The house has a separate sitting area for guests also which was a nice area to sit with coffee in the morning. Breakfast was a lovely array of options to satisfy any guest need and was masterfully cooked and served by Bruce.

Thanks again, would highly recommend your B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We so enjoyed your company Julie & Marcy. Sorry that your stay was short but delighted that you enjoyed all that ArtHouse offers including Bruce's wonderful breakfasts! We hope you will get the chance to return another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

It was our first experience in B&B.
It is a house in the middle of cattle land. The road to get there was well maintenanced.
Very close to Matamata where you can find nice restaurants.
We choosed the Peony room, comfortable, nice bathroom.
Beautiful house where you can discover peaces of art everywhere and from all over the world,
You have diffrent places where to stay in and out of the house.
The breakfast was excellent!
Denise and Bruce were the perfect host, looking for our needs and trying to get them.
Thank you both!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Peony room is rather special with its fresh colours and stunning artwork. Bruce is pleased to know that you enjoyed his breakfast too. Hope we get the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Having never stayed in a B&B before I was a little apprehensive when we pulled in to see it was a "normal" house. Well it was anything but normal. Denise and Bruce are two of the most amazing people you will ever meet. They have opened up their gorgeous house to strangers providing all the facilities you could possibly need. The property is a wonderful combination of spectacular hospitality and art cultural. Bruce makes a hearty breakfast in the morning and will have it ready to suit your departure needs. The only complaint I have is that we didn't have the time to stay here for longer. Definitely stay here if you are in the Matamata area.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks so much for your awesome review. And yes your complaint is endorsed - we seem to hear it quite regularly. Our position in the centre of the "Golden Tourist Triangle" offers visitors the opportunity to stay here for 2-3 nights and day trip to the area's unique attractions without packing up everyday for a series of 1 night stays. Glad you enjoyed Bruce's breakfast too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews