We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate place to stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start. The location is amazing, set in the countryside with unobstructed views. The hosts are the warmest and friendliest of people - Denise and Bruce, lovely couple who make you feel right at home. The rooms are very stylish and very comfortable. Breakfast is lovely, lots of choice - tried my first golden kiwi. Great place to base yourself to see nearby places. One night here is not enough so make sure you give yourself at least three nights here. Close to town for great places to eat. Will be back for sure. Feel like we have made long lasting friends.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janiecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the awesome review Jane. We loved having you & Andy staying with us. You bought wonderful warmth and humour to ArtHouse. Although the weather while you were here was rather unkind, you made the best of the region by exploring every day. Bruce & I felt sad seeing you leave but happy to know that you will return to us in the near future. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Everything about the Arthouse is lovely, especially hosts Denise and Bruce. Set in an idyllic rural setting with beautiful rooms, a great breakfast and on-site parking. We had to be on the road early and with typical thoughtfulness Denise and Bruce packed us a lovely breakfast to go! Will definitely be back!

The Boyds

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Shane, we loved meeting you and James. Thanks for your awesome review and glad you enjoyed your breakfast on the go too! Looking forward to meeting more of your family in due course! Best regards, Denise & Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This was my first experience in a B&B and I was not disappointed ! Denise and Bruce are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home in a stunning location.

Sadly the weather for us was very rainy but this did not take away from the beauty of the area. We booked there to go and do The Hobbiton Tour was was located only a short 10 minute drive away.

We had the Peony Room as my friend and I were sharing, it was a beautiful room with two single beds they were very comfy and nice clean sheets !

We had our own bathroom with heated tiles and a lovely large shower ! - Again this was very clean.

They had a communal area where you could sit and read, enjoy a board game make tea, coffee, or have a nice glass of wine. Wifi was free which was also great !

In the morning we had a wonderful breakfast, fresh croissants which were delicious! With an assortment of fruits, meats and cheese. The thing I most enjoyed was the muesli soaked in apple juice over night with yogurt! It was absolutely wonderful.

Both Denise and Bruce were wonderful and engaging hosts ! I have already recommend this place to my family as they also wish to do the Hobbiton Tour. We stayed in a few hotels like The Hilton and Grand Mercure which are quite fancy but I would have to say that I preferred Denise and Bruce's ArtHouse !

( We actually said many times over our trip that we wish we could stay there again or in a place very similar !! )

Thank you again Denise and Bruce !

Kathryn :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn_Atk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brycegallery, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you Kathryn for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review! We enjoyed the warmth and energy both you and Anita brought to ArtHouse. Glad that you enjoyed the Bircher Muesli - we are finding it a firm favourite on our breakfast menu! We loved your comparison of our ArtHouse with the 'fancy' hotels. We look forward to meeting your family in due course and will ensure that they also have a wonderful stay. Thanks again for the awesome review! We hope we will get the opportunity to meet again. Denise & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I wish we had more time to stay as the B&B was lovely and the hosts delightful. We were greeted by Denise and immediately felt very comfortable in her home.

We stayed in the Peony room which has a private bathroom and is beautifully decorated and maintained. The house has a separate sitting area for guests also which was a nice area to sit with coffee in the morning. Breakfast was a lovely array of options to satisfy any guest need and was masterfully cooked and served by Bruce.

Thanks again, would highly recommend your B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We so enjoyed your company Julie & Marcy. Sorry that your stay was short but delighted that you enjoyed all that ArtHouse offers including Bruce's wonderful breakfasts! We hope you will get the chance to return another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

It was our first experience in B&B.
It is a house in the middle of cattle land. The road to get there was well maintenanced.
Very close to Matamata where you can find nice restaurants.
We choosed the Peony room, comfortable, nice bathroom.
Beautiful house where you can discover peaces of art everywhere and from all over the world,
You have diffrent places where to stay in and out of the house.
The breakfast was excellent!
Denise and Bruce were the perfect host, looking for our needs and trying to get them.
Thank you both!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B, Owner at ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Peony room is rather special with its fresh colours and stunning artwork. Bruce is pleased to know that you enjoyed his breakfast too. Hope we get the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
7.5 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
297 reviews
6.3 km away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
6.5 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
93 reviews
10.4 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
5.5 km away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Matamata

Been to ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 77 Duncan Road | RD1 Waharoa, Matamata 3474, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Price Range: $150 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rural location offers art themed boutique accommodation within 10 minutes of excellent cafes and restaurants in Matamata. Perfectly poised in the “tourist triangle”, Hobbiton is just 20 minutes drive from ArtHouse B&B. Tauranga beaches and Rotorua Geothermal Wonderland are less than an hour away; Waitomo Glow-worm Caves just 90 minutes. ArtHouse B&B is the perfect base for a 3+ night stay. Two rooms with en-suites, one room with private bathroom. In room Wi-Fi and TV, plus a Guest Lounge and sumptuous breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing