We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooking Class in Ko Samui for Small Group
50

Book in advance
from
$120.99
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Smiley Cook
from $120.99
More Info
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
495
42
7
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
495
42
7
1
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local market market tour great cooking class at home cooking experience authentic thai food bung dish chef cooks lesson prep skills
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Great hosts food was awesome and tasted authentic. Highly recommended. They picked us up on time. Instructions for cooking food was easy to understand.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2019

This Thai experience starts off by being picked up at your hotel and driven to the local market where your Chef, Mong, shows you a menu and asks you to chose 4 dishes from the menu to cook. He then takes you on a tour of the market selecting the fresh ingredients to cook your dishes. After the market you are driven to the home of Bung, our teacher for the day. Here Bung teaches you in a friendly relaxed atmosphere in her family home. Her home is fully equipped to teach this class. The class is an easy step by step instruction on preparation, cooking and of course eating. Bung and Mong are excellent teachers and this is a Thai experience worth your time. You won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic morning at the Smiley Cook cookery school. We started off in the market and got to see all sorts of different traditional Thai food. The school itself was set in a family home, a lovely setting! The actual cooking is made really simple, everyone does the same dish (you all select at the beginning) which means the instructions can be really simple and easy to follow, anyone could do it! After the cooking you get access to the website with all the recipes on, so you can carry on your new found skills back home!
Make sure you book in advance, as groups are kept small (making the experience better!) so they get booked up quick.
Over all a fantastic morning, thanks to all the team at smiley cook!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 946samw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

My family of four (2 adults, boys aged 13 and 10) did the morning cooking class with Mong.
We first went to the market and whilst the other guide bought the ingredients for the dishes we had chosen, we were shown around the market, taking in the sights and smells. It was really interesting seeing the different vegetables, rices and noodles.
Then we went the Smiley Cook HQ for the cooking. It was such great fun and so easy to prepare and combine some lovely fresh ingredients to make Tom Yum Prawn soup, Beef salad, Massaman chicken curry (paste prepared in advance) and steamed fish in chilli sauce. Each individual could choose how much chilli to put in each dish for themselves.
It was so well organised with plates, utensils and ingredients being brought and then taken away as and when required.
We also got to look around the garden to see some of the ingredients growing.
Then we got to eat it all - delicious!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank AB9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019

An exceptional culinary experience!
After we tasted local cuisine and loved it. We decided to take the family to a cooking class in a local kitchen. Chef Mong picked us up from the hotel for a guided and fascinating tour of a real local market. After choosing the dishes we wanted to cook, we arrived at the professional kitchen in his house. The hospitality was perfect! The positions were already arranged and his assistant was like a magician who arranged and organized everything quickly and efficiently. The explanations were clear and very enriching, about the culinary history of the Thai cuisine (with many Chinese influences), and about the cooking technologies - from cutting to cooking, seasoning and serving. The children were very excited to take an active part in a professional kitchen. After preparing 4 portions we sat down to eat and it was deliciouse!!
Thank you very much Chef Mong and the Chef Assistant for an unforgettable experience on our family vacation.(couple with 4 children ages 20, 18, 10, 8)

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank yoramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tonychokdi, Propriétaire at Smiley Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2019

Thank you very much for your great feed back.
All the best to your family.
Tony
Smiley cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews