We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
674
439
116
51
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
439
116
51
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bottle of wine night tour across the road recommend this hotel welcome drink the hotel staff swimming pool secure parking lot half board on demand locked parking free parking minute drive from the hotel beach resort overlooking the courtyard small bar hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the temples and also because I thought the hotels in Agrigento seemed very expensive. I wish now that I'd booked a small B&B in Agrigento as we had a poor stay here and are now regretting the decision.

The location of the supposedly 4-star hotel and the resort of San Leone is a bit like staying in an inexpensive Med resort on the coast of Spain i.e. not what you come to Sicily for. There is one main road and strip with restaurants and an average beach. The hotel is directly on the main road into town with the car park and swimming pool on the other side of the road. It is a benefit to have secure off-road parking though.

The lobby of the hotel gives a good first impression but unfortunately the room was poor (211). I had booked a room that was supposed to be higher quality than standard, however it was stark, uncomfortable and had cheap furniture. The bedroom door itself was incredibly thin and didn't even close properly, so the corridor light glowed through at all times and the noise from outside the room was extraordinary. The lift noise and people moving around outside sounded like they were in the room with us. We did have a small balcony that looked onto the terrace, where they had live music each evening until about 11pm.

The breakfast was average - only one choice of ripe fruit when we were there but they did have some hot choices you could order which arrived promptly. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than that (Doctor Fish nearby is great). The service from the lovely cleaner was great but reception was woeful. The main person we dealt with could not make eye contact with us, summon up a smile or concentrate on us for more than a few seconds at a time. Checking us in took ages because he spent so long talking to his colleagues and other guests at the same time. I've never felt less welcome! To top it off, he told us to wait outside for a shuttle bus to the temples when the temples were closed. Luckily after about 10 minutes waiting in the hot sun, another member of staff told us the bus wasn't running.

The one redeeming feature was a free bottle of red wine on checkout! So if you're visiting Sicily for Italian charm, rustic hotels and amazing food, please avoid this place. If you are happy with a basic seaside resort where you could be anywhere in the world, go for it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RLM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Had a fantastic holiday, excellent location and food. The cakes at Breakfast made by Antonella were exquisite. However the holiday was made more special by the room service received from Joanne and Deborah. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was cleaned to a high standard every day. They were friendly, respectful and it was easy to become friends. Due to this friendly reception we would certainly return next year. Thank you to all the staff for making this a rememberable holiday. Once again thank you Joanne and Deborah. Tanti Bacci grossi.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of the helpfulness of the staff, the cleanliness of the spa and rooms and the lovelt breakfast. Thoroughly recommend this place for a short break by the sea. Free parking and WIFI is offered here. We were offered a drink on arrival and were given a gift when we left. A real nice touch from the staff.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StefanoB411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The hotel is very convenient to both the beach and the Valley of the Temples. The room was modern and very clean. We had booked a double room but had an extra bed. The bathroom was very big, especially the bathtub (which had a very tricky system to open the faucet). Since we only had one day and did not want to deal with driving, we took the package the hotel offered us to visit the temples and it was great, both during the day and at night. We also had dinner there as part of the package but the food was nothing to rave about. Eating a la carte would have been much better judging from what others had on their tables. However, the biggest asset in this place is the staff. From the moment we checked in until we left we were treated like family. Everyone was super nice and friendly and they really strived to make our stay as pleasant as possible, from carrying our bags up the stairs to giving us a bottle of wine as a farewell present. We loved the good vibe of the place and how easygoing everyone was. I just wish we had stayed longer to enjoy the beach as well.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The hotel had one of the most wonderful friendly and helpful staff. The owner even helped us to get the luggage from the secure car park. They offer some wonderful packages for dinner and transfer to the temples. The driver "Antonio Banderas" is quite friendly and helpful as well. The food at the hotel especially the Pasta con sarde & pizzas were good. Service can be slow & island paced. The facilities in the room are very modern. There is also a supermarket about 2 mins walk. There is a beach & plenty of eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank globetrottersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews