We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Charlotte Steeg
Heidelberg, Germany

Amazing beach ride

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2024
Did a beach ride and it was just wonderful. We all could ride according to our level (from total beginner to advanced) and they really looked out for us. In the end we also could go into the water. Horses were very calm. Would love to do it again, wonderful beach.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
7.1 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
8.7 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
8.0 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
9.6 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chalet 4 - Kereru
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
10.2 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
9.0 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
8.8 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.4 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
18.8 km from Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay
View more hotels in Takaka
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
109
7
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse ride experienced riders beautiful horses great riding rope swing felt completely safe golden bay the owner rock beach lovely place thank you for a lovely enjoyed our stay friendly atmosphere next morning kitchen area other guests wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Pippa was a superb guide for us as novices! Very patient, teaching us the necessary basics perfectly. The horses were wonderful and the ride on the beach joyful. Pippa took some lovely photos for us as we went along too. Such a memorable experience for us - thank you so much!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baerbel Hack, Owner at Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Thank you Jackie for your review. We love to hear that Pippa is an excellent teacher and that the horses were great. Happy memories may see you again.
Ride on
The Hackfarm Team
Baerbel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

We were 2 beginners of a certain age who wanted to ride on a beach. The staff at Hack farm were brilliant in accommodating our wishes. They were really friendly and our horses were very healthy and happy. We would really recommend Hack Farm to anyone of all abilities or age who wants to ride a horse in beautiful countryside and on a beach.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mcburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baerbel Hack, Owner at Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

thanks for your review
We love to see you safe and happy
Brillieant that you care about the horses health too

thanks again

Ride on the Hack Farm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

I am a retired horse vet and an old lady... I am dubious of these kinds for establishments, but all my reservations were easily dismissed. (Big-time!!)
I wanted to go for a ride while visiting the Golden Bay/Tasman area. I was pleasantly surprised with Hack Farm. They presented beautifully trained and healthy horses. Baerbel Hack is the owner, and she went to great lengths to educate me and a younger rider on equitation. She was so positive in her suggestions, and she understands both human reactions to instructions and equine reactions as well. She went way out of her way to teach to our individual needs while maintaining safety for all concerned. She took amazing pictures of us which she gave to us at the end of the ride. We rode to the ocean at sunset and she even stayed out past our allotted time so we could see the glowworms which are only viewed at night. The horses were perfect and well-trained. 5 stars all the way.

Room tip: Book early if you want to stay at the farm. They cater to all kinds of travelers, but the place fills quickly.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

It's been a while since I've ridden, so in my aim to spend this year being busier than ever outdoors, on a whim I booked an afternoon beach ride. I loved it, from the busy, eccentric yard upon welcome to the horses munching hay lazily beneath an apple tree, to the briefing that put the horses' comfort and safety first, I knew I'd chosen well. And then, I met Saffron and my heart skipped a beat. A beautiful, bouncy and carefree Clydesdale/Thoroughbred cross. I loved her, the minute I sat in the saddle. We doddled off down a bridle path to the beach, waded in the tide and said hello to dozing oyster catchers and black-back gulls. It was a terrific afternoon.

Room tip: Easy to find and parking well marked on arrival.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank captainandtneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baerbel Hack, Owner at Hack and Stay Horse Backpacker and Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Welcome back in the saddle

we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our horse and rider safety approach and then had a wonderful time on the beach

Welcome back
it is fabulous to see riders returning to this holistic sport

Ride on
the Hack team
Baerbel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024

My husband and I booked a "Swimming with Horses" ride and had the best time! The staff were friendly and very conscious of the well-being of the horses. Baerbel gave us amazing riding instruction that helped us feel more confident by the end of the ride. Riding horses bareback into the ocean was an unforgettable experience! Highly recommend Hack and Stay!!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eovsebloyrnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews