We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Adventure!

Mit flew us from Takaka to Brown Hut, offered us a ride in his old and squeaky Peugeot and saw us... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
nilsmue
,
Bern, Switzerland
via mobile
Must do !

My partner and I enjoyed a scenic flight with Mit this morning and we loved it. Mit is a super... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
844rosiec
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 201 reviews
  
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
199
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heaphy track great pilot scenic flight great flight golden bay awaroa lodge farewell spit his knowledge great guy experienced pilot abel tasman funny guy wings informative commentary car relocation capable hands sight seeing
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We were due to go to a large family event in Blenheim when Gita closed the Hill and cut the Bay off from the rest of the Country.
We called Adventure Flights and Mit and Mieke stepped up to help hundreds like us meet our commitments. The service was superb and professionally delivered in a humourous, friendly manner despite the fact they must have been exhausted.
We cannot thank Adventure Flights enough. We have used them before and rate Mit as an experienced and trustworthy pilot.
We would highly recommend Mit and Mieke as a wonderful way to travel around the Top of the South.
Angela Adye

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

These guys have been awesome shuttling people from Golden Bay and back after Cyclone Gita damaged the road over Takaka Hill - I cant recommend Mit enough.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank wackersGoldenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We flew into Brown hut and out of Kohaihai... Mit is one of the few providers that actually advertises his prices online which is fantastic for planning! The prices are so reasonable and Mit is hilarious and such a knowledgeable pilot. He was also super flexible when we ran a little behind schedule which was nice.
Flying the Heaphy track after hiking it was such an amazing experience! Seeing everywhere we hiked was a real highlight of the trip and Mit knew a lot about the area which was super helpful.
We would definitely recommend doing this!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank RomNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

You will not be disappointed flying with Mit! A happy, kind, friendly, knowledgeable, easy to talk to guy will sweep you into the air and show you all the sights.
This pilot knows his stuff and the local area. He’s not afraid to show you Golden Bay at its finest views!
He even picks up and drops off at the Heaphy Track. Cannot wait to fly again!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Tikitikiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

we planned to hike the heaphy track with two couples. we were going to do our own car shuttle but heard about Mit's option to fly from karamea right back to brown hut. considering our time constraints it made sense to do the flight. and talking to people on the track it was only a few $ per person more than the bus shuttle. it was also very convenient as we didn't have to schedule a specific time. we called from kohaihai when we arrived. some people had to rush the last day to catch a scheduled pickup.

on top of that it was a great flight. Mit flew us back along the track showing us the highlights from the air and what we had accomplished. he is an entertaining guide and very clear in his instructions around the plane. we landed in a farmer's field and the shuttle (4 km) had a great kiwi twist to it as well:) we picked up our cars and were settled in collingwood just a few hours after completing the track. thanks Mit.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank pholmes2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews