We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and landscaping, but somewhat overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and landscaping, but somewhat overpriced.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three of us stayed here in March 2017for two nights.This is a well- located property on the Golden Bay beach, with beautiful landscaping of the grounds. It is presented and priced as a luxury resort, with beach views.Unfortunately our cottage did not have one.To be fair, once you get to the beach close by, the views are amazing, especially the rise of the full moon which was glorious to behold.On arrival we were met the owners, who were extremely friendly and helpful.Luggage has to be taken to the cottage via a wheelbarrow. The cottage is very well designed and furnished, and the amenities are good quality. The sofa bed was uncomfortable for our friend, who actually slept better without pulling it out ! Breakfast is a hamper, everything else is self catering.Laundry in the owner's premises before 9 am and after 5 pm.
Overall we were happy with the place, but feel it is too costly for what is on offer.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Shyam for your feedback and for your positive comments on the things that you appreciated about our property and accommodation. We’re very sorry we did not meet your expectations; I'm guessing that you were expecting a more formal resort, which we are not. I see that you booked via a 3rd party website and unfortunately, like most 3rd party websites it has a lot less information than our own website, where we endeavour to paint an accurate picture of what we are offering. The cottage you chose is a Beachview Cottage which has a limited view of the water – the view from the cottage is shown on the website you booked on. We are aware that a sofa bed is not as comfortable as what we would like for our guests and therefore have topper pads available for these. I'd suggested to your friend when you checked in to ask for one or 2 of these if it would make her more comfortable but she said that she'd be happy even just sleeping on the sofa.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
142
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently spent a night at Adrift with me partner to have a special night away. I was expecting something really amazing and was left quite underwhelmed. The place is really beautiful with well looked after grounds and the cottages are high quality although slightly dated. The beach is nice but there are far nicer beaches around New Zealand. Adrift is really peaceful and relaxing.
The reason I was disappointed is because I was expecting something a bit more. It was $500 for 1 night and it is basically a self catering cottage with waterfront views. You can rent whole holiday homes in more beautiful locations around New Zealand which give the same standard of service. None.
I have stayed in several places around New Zealand in the same price bracket which offer amazing service, welcome drinks, and a fully cooked breakfast of your choice minimum. At Adrift we were shown to our room and delivered a hamper of well presented but plain food for breakfast which we had to cook ourselves?? Really?? For $500??
It really is nice but in my opinion way overpriced and not worth the money. Stay in a beach front holiday home and have the same experience. On a nicer beach. I wouldn't recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the feedback – I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had anticipated. We advertise the cottages as self-catering with breakfast provisions supplied, so I am not too sure where the expectation came from that the English Breakfast Hamper would be cooked for you. The feedback that we usually receive from our guests is that they very much appreciate the privacy and relaxation afforded by being able to have breakfast at whatever time of the morning they choose without our intrusion. We also offer the choice of a Continental Breakfast Hamper if guests prefer not to cook.

We have a full-time staff of 4, plus 3 part-time staff operating our 6 accommodation units and grounds so that we are able to provide a Qualmark rated 5 Star experience. At least 1 person is always available at reception from 9am to 6pm. By comparison, in a normal holiday home there are no staff on-site and in New Zealand you are usually expected to clean the house before you leave: this is obviously a cheaper option.

Yes, our Beachfront Cottages are NZ$500+/ night for stays of less than 1 week during peak season (end of December until mid - March), but we offer a variable discount outside this time (up to 40% in low season) and a discount for return guests who book directly with us.

I agree that staying for one night is not great value as you have such a short time to take advantage of what we offer, so we do try to encourage longer stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in the studio which is attached to the owners house. Beautiful view over the garden to the beach less than a minute away. It is private but you share the garden with the owners & you can hear the owners next door so not totally exclusive. Choose a cottage if that is what you need.

Continental breakfast was delivered the night before. Slightly meagre ??? Not sure - our previous accommodation had served a mind blowing continental breakfast so maybe this accommodation just suffered from that. It was fresh and adequate - two rolls, two jams, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee. I'm being picky.

Beautiful studio with king size bed, stunning views, gorgeous ensuite, garden, sun loungers, could park our car right next door.

Very special, beautiful sunrise viewed from in bed !
We visited Farewell Spit from here, also Wharariki Beach. The mussel inn served great seafood and their own craft beers. Takaka is a cool hip sort of place, we thought tye die & cheesecloth had gone out of fashion. Loved it.

We enjoyed beautiful weather. Used their double kayak which was fun. Really beautiful get away from it all simple pleasures. Would love to go back.

Getting there over Takaka Hill is fun ! So much that you have to do it on the way home too !

Room Tip: Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on the things you appreciated most about Adrift and Golden Bay, I am sure they will be helpful for other travellers. Hope you can visit again, maybe the fashions in Takaka will have evolved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Adrift is the place to got to in golden Bay. The location is fantastic, private location and a perfect room. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, felt home instantaneously, everything was just perfect. Not the "standard hotel atmospehre" but rather a very personal touch which made it so charming. Lovely breakfast opportunity in the room. Of course, everything also perfectly clean.
The only real drawback is that you have to leave sooner or later

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you appreciated our relaxed atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
457 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,315 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My wife recently stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the inn as well as the area.

Our unit was very nice - clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is dropped off a day in advance. We cooked the British fry up one day and opted for the continental breakfast the other two days. Both were very good.

We weren't able to enjoy the beach or the grounds. We were busy in the mornings and early afternoons. By the time we returned the wind was blowing too hard to enjoy the outdoors. Don't know if this is a regular occurrence or just our bad timing.

We had a beach view unit which worked well for us. They don't have as good a view of the ocean as the beachfront units but they are within 10 yards or so of the beachfront units so there's not much of a difference.

Note that the inn is on Tukurua Street but there is also an Upper Tukurua Street right before Tukurua. We mistakenly took Upper Tukurua when we were trying to find it.

Also, the Mussel Inn is a few miles down the road and is highly recommended, especially their beer.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2017
Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, the wind was unusual. Our prevailing wind is from the west so the west coast of both islands (and Wellington) normally experience lots of wind. Adrift faces east onto Golden Bay and we have a few mountains plus we have planted shelter belt trees to protect us from the westerlies creating a micro-climate. During your stay, the North Island had some of the heaviest rain in possibly 100 years which created strong easterly winds off the sea instead of our usual calm waters and protected beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
18.8 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
31.9 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
17.2 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
145 reviews
6.6 km away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
102 reviews
18.8 km away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price range (per night): $261 - $655
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing