We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adrift in Golden Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anatoki Lodge Motel(Takaka)(Great Value!)
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohua Motels(Takaka)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$181
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
US$136
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Station House Motel(Collingwood)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa(Kaiteriteri)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
184
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshoneymoon cottagemussel innbreakfast basketspa bathnew zealandgolden bayprivate decksouth islandgranolawharariki beachfarewell spitbeach viewstudio apartmenthomemade cookiesunderfloor heatingsun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed in the studio which is attached to the owners house. Beautiful view over the garden to the beach less than a minute away. It is private but you share the garden with the owners & you can hear the owners next door so not totally exclusive. Choose a cottage if that is what you need.

Continental breakfast was delivered the night before. Slightly meagre ??? Not sure - our previous accommodation had served a mind blowing continental breakfast so maybe this accommodation just suffered from that. It was fresh and adequate - two rolls, two jams, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee. I'm being picky.

Beautiful studio with king size bed, stunning views, gorgeous ensuite, garden, sun loungers, could park our car right next door.

Very special, beautiful sunrise viewed from in bed !
We visited Farewell Spit from here, also Wharariki Beach. The mussel inn served great seafood and their own craft beers. Takaka is a cool hip sort of place, we thought tye die & cheesecloth had gone out of fashion. Loved it.

We enjoyed beautiful weather. Used their double kayak which was fun. Really beautiful get away from it all simple pleasures. Would love to go back.

Getting there over Takaka Hill is fun ! So much that you have to do it on the way home too !

Room Tip: Studio is attached to owners house cottages are separate, some on the beach
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on the things you appreciated most about Adrift and Golden Bay, I am sure they will be helpful for other travellers. Hope you can visit again, maybe the fashions in Takaka will have evolved!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Adrift is the place to got to in golden Bay. The location is fantastic, private location and a perfect room. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, felt home instantaneously, everything was just perfect. Not the "standard hotel atmospehre" but rather a very personal touch which made it so charming. Lovely breakfast opportunity in the room. Of course, everything also perfectly clean.
The only real drawback is that you have to leave sooner or later

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you appreciated our relaxed atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My wife recently stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the inn as well as the area.

Our unit was very nice - clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is dropped off a day in advance. We cooked the British fry up one day and opted for the continental breakfast the other two days. Both were very good.

We weren't able to enjoy the beach or the grounds. We were busy in the mornings and early afternoons. By the time we returned the wind was blowing too hard to enjoy the outdoors. Don't know if this is a regular occurrence or just our bad timing.

We had a beach view unit which worked well for us. They don't have as good a view of the ocean as the beachfront units but they are within 10 yards or so of the beachfront units so there's not much of a difference.

Note that the inn is on Tukurua Street but there is also an Upper Tukurua Street right before Tukurua. We mistakenly took Upper Tukurua when we were trying to find it.

Also, the Mussel Inn is a few miles down the road and is highly recommended, especially their beer.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, the wind was unusual. Our prevailing wind is from the west so the west coast of both islands (and Wellington) normally experience lots of wind. Adrift faces east onto Golden Bay and we have a few mountains plus we have planted shelter belt trees to protect us from the westerlies creating a micro-climate. During your stay, the North Island had some of the heaviest rain in possibly 100 years which created strong easterly winds off the sea instead of our usual calm waters and protected beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Serendipity led me here and I am so glad it did. Beautiful setting, gardens and grounds and of course out front marvelous golden beach and dazzling blue water.
I stayed in the studio unit it was perfect. Super comfortable bed, great shower, quiet and my own private deck with table and chairs. In the yard in front two sun loungers - total comfort. Breakfast basket was delicious and fresh picked fruit from here was a bonus.
Best part of stay was the magical morning sunrises viewed from the bed. Truly a special spot in a magical place, thank you!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank CrackleNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thanks CrackleNz for taking the time to write about your stay and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Such a special time of year with the dramatic sunrises over Abel Tasman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My wife and I stayed in a Beach side cottage which was superb with complete privacy. Right on golden beach we had the use of kayaks and sup or just to relax in the garden and soak in the scenery. The cottages are well equipped and very comfortable this together with great support from the owners leads to a great stay.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank GeorgeTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks for your review George. Great you enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the cottage. Always such a pleasure to meet and help guests to enjoy their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews