We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My wife and I stayed in a Beach side cottage which was superb with complete privacy. Right on golden beach we had the use of kayaks and sup or just to relax in the garden and soak in the scenery. The cottages are well equipped and very comfortable this together with great support from the owners leads to a great stay.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank GeorgeTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks for your review George. Great you enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the cottage. Always such a pleasure to meet and help guests to enjoy their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed here recently and loved it! It was one of my favorite parts during our 17 day trip to the South Island .The location is perfect to base yourself for a few days in the area, and the setting is so peaceful !! Our studio was clean and super comfortable. I loved the decor. It fit right in with the setting, and our studio was immaculately kept!! We especially loved the delicious breakfast provided to our room everyday and enjoyed the entire family who owns the property. They were super welcoming and friendly and full of good advice. I highly recommend visiting Wharariki Beach (but not to sunbathe, it is too windy), and driving to Abel Tasman and hiking to Anapai Bay and Mutton Cove. Some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, in my opinion. If you don't want to hike to those, the beach where you park your car to start those hikes is also very beautiful. we also enjoyed the beaches by Taupo Point and just relaxing at Adrift because it is so beautiful and comfortable there. Takaka is a cute town to walk around and grab some food. very relaxed vibe. I loved the whole area and would go back and stay at Adrift again in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: The studio was the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagatita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Glad you enjoyed your experience staying in the Studio and exploring Golden Bay. Thanks for your comments on the things you appreciated most. Reviews are always a great encouragement to the team and so helpful to other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I have stayed at this property several times and each time I look forward to a return visit. The many positive reviews speak to the quality of the property and its outstanding team.

The setting is amazing, especially if you opt for one of the beachfront cottages... which I recommend. On this visit I had nothing but outstanding weather... blue skies, temperate weather... it can not get any better.

The kitchen is fully equipped and there is everything needed for self-catering. There are new Weber barbecues that are wonderful. By all means bring something to put on the barbecue.

You have your choice of a variety of breakfast offerings. The English breakfast option is great... eggs, ciabatta, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, orange juice, butter, and jams.

The spa bath is a treat after a day of hiking. Don't miss the hike from Totaranui to Separation Point.

The location is perfect for enjoying the many options in the Golden Bay area.

You will not be disappointed with a stay at this property.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thanks for staying with us whilst you are in New Zealand, always great to see you again! Really appreciate your feedback of the things you like about Adrift and I am sure it will be helpful to others considering staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

What an amazing place, right on the beach with the sound of the waves to wake to. The cottages are well set up with under floor heating in the bathroom, a really nice spa bath with all the toiletries. A choice of breakfasts, all in the middle of Golden Bay.

Room Tip: Go for a beach access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily L, Manager at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review Ian! A relaxing, peaceful retreat is just what we hope our guests will experience here at Adrift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for several days during our honeymoon and we loved this place! We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and she showed us around the grounds and our cottage. When I booked the place, I got to pick out what I wanted for breakfast and upon check-in, she had already brought a hamper of food to our cottage. Cold stuff was in the fridge so we could eat our breakfast at our own leisure and we could then pick out what we wanted for the next day on a sheet that they'd collect when they cleaned the cottage. We could also ask for movies based on their DVD selection, and we watched one of the Lord of the Rings movies during one rainy afternoon.  We had the honeymoon cottage, which was lovely and had its own private beach access. We had beautiful views of the ocean from our bedroom and living room. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was huge with heated tile floors. There's a big spa jacuzzi in the bathroom with a shower head mounted on the wall and provided bubble bath stuff and bath salts. The kitchen was the prefect size and we cooked dinner the first night and breakfast the first morning and we had everything we needed. It's perfectly situated outside Takaka so you feel like you're in a secluded spot but you're also not that far away from walking tracks and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is always encouraging to us and our staff. We're so pleased we could be part of your honeymoon - glad you enjoyed your time with us! All the best for your new life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
18.9 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
31.9 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
12.8 km away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
16.6 km away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
153 reviews
6.6 km away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range: $268 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing