We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adrift in Golden Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anatoki Lodge Motel(Takaka)(Great Value!)
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohua Motels(Takaka)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
US$138
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Station House Motel(Collingwood)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
183
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshoneymoon cottagemussel innbreakfast basketspa bathnew zealandgolden bayprivate decksouth islandgranolawharariki beachfarewell spitbeach viewstudio apartmenthomemade cookiesunderfloor heatingsun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for several days during our honeymoon and we loved this place! We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and she showed us around the grounds and our cottage. When I booked the place, I got to pick out what I wanted for breakfast and upon check-in, she had already brought a hamper of food to our cottage. Cold stuff was in the fridge so we could eat our breakfast at our own leisure and we could then pick out what we wanted for the next day on a sheet that they'd collect when they cleaned the cottage. We could also ask for movies based on their DVD selection, and we watched one of the Lord of the Rings movies during one rainy afternoon.  We had the honeymoon cottage, which was lovely and had its own private beach access. We had beautiful views of the ocean from our bedroom and living room. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was huge with heated tile floors. There's a big spa jacuzzi in the bathroom with a shower head mounted on the wall and provided bubble bath stuff and bath salts. The kitchen was the prefect size and we cooked dinner the first night and breakfast the first morning and we had everything we needed. It's perfectly situated outside Takaka so you feel like you're in a secluded spot but you're also not that far away from walking tracks and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is always encouraging to us and our staff. We're so pleased we could be part of your honeymoon - glad you enjoyed your time with us! All the best for your new life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Right on the beach, very quiet, easy to get to - but about 1 minute drive off the main highway.

Owner was very friendly and the BBQ grills were brand new. Cottage was very nice and the breakfast was very nice.

Great walking along the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christamasasaurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Glad you enjoyed your time at Adrift In Golden Bay. Thank you so much for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed in the Honeymoon cottage and it was truly everything you could ever want from your honeymoon accommodation. Walk straight out the door and on to the beach, fantastic in room spa, and the bed was just perfect. Ask about the on site penguins and get out in the kayaks at least once. All those little details are thought of from soft toilet paper to homemade cookies

Room Tip: All rooms provide privacy and I don't believe noise could ever be a problem. Intimate
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thanks for staying with us on your honeymoon. The baby penguins you saw are both doing well... mum and dad must be working hard keeping them fed as they are now almost the same size as their parents!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed in the studio apartment for two nights and enjoyed the tranquility and vista. The room was very well appointed and we were supplied with a continental breakfast each morning. The beach is at the bottom of the garden and provides lots of opportunities for walks and exploration. Our hosts were lovely and unobtrusive. We enjoyed watching Pukeko parents feeding their two chicks in the paddock at the front of the property.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your review! The baby pukekos (a New Zealand native bird) are indeed fun to watch – they've now reached a very comical “teenage” stage where their legs look far too big for their little bodies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a wonderful night here in peace with stunning surroundings. Spotlessly clean with immaculate presentation the villa was well set up with great views (we had a garden villa) and a short amble to the beach. The villas are well designed and garden landscaping gorgeous. The deck had great seating (deck chairs as well as loungers) for enjoying the views. Staff were professional and friendly without being intrusive. Although there was a full kitchen set up we opted for an early evening meal at the Mussel Inn, a short drive away. The breakfast basket featured fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs, bread and bacon. Fresh OJ and tea / coffee were complimented by
homemade Anzac cookies.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jocablebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We're glad you appreciate the hard work that goes into developing and maintaining our property. Great that you enjoyed the Beachview Cottage and the Mussel Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews