We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax Relax Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2016

What an amazing place, right on the beach with the sound of the waves to wake to. The cottages are well set up with under floor heating in the bathroom, a really nice spa bath with all the toiletries. A choice of breakfasts, all in the middle of Golden Bay.

Room Tip: Go for a beach access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily L, Manager at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review Ian! A relaxing, peaceful retreat is just what we hope our guests will experience here at Adrift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for several days during our honeymoon and we loved this place! We were greeted by one of the owners when we arrived and she showed us around the grounds and our cottage. When I booked the place, I got to pick out what I wanted for breakfast and upon check-in, she had already brought a hamper of food to our cottage. Cold stuff was in the fridge so we could eat our breakfast at our own leisure and we could then pick out what we wanted for the next day on a sheet that they'd collect when they cleaned the cottage. We could also ask for movies based on their DVD selection, and we watched one of the Lord of the Rings movies during one rainy afternoon.  We had the honeymoon cottage, which was lovely and had its own private beach access. We had beautiful views of the ocean from our bedroom and living room. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was huge with heated tile floors. There's a big spa jacuzzi in the bathroom with a shower head mounted on the wall and provided bubble bath stuff and bath salts. The kitchen was the prefect size and we cooked dinner the first night and breakfast the first morning and we had everything we needed. It's perfectly situated outside Takaka so you feel like you're in a secluded spot but you're also not that far away from walking tracks and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you so much for your detailed review, it is always encouraging to us and our staff. We're so pleased we could be part of your honeymoon - glad you enjoyed your time with us! All the best for your new life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Right on the beach, very quiet, easy to get to - but about 1 minute drive off the main highway.

Owner was very friendly and the BBQ grills were brand new. Cottage was very nice and the breakfast was very nice.

Great walking along the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Glad you enjoyed your time at Adrift In Golden Bay. Thank you so much for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed in the Honeymoon cottage and it was truly everything you could ever want from your honeymoon accommodation. Walk straight out the door and on to the beach, fantastic in room spa, and the bed was just perfect. Ask about the on site penguins and get out in the kayaks at least once. All those little details are thought of from soft toilet paper to homemade cookies

Room Tip: All rooms provide privacy and I don't believe noise could ever be a problem. Intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thanks for staying with us on your honeymoon. The baby penguins you saw are both doing well... mum and dad must be working hard keeping them fed as they are now almost the same size as their parents!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed in the studio apartment for two nights and enjoyed the tranquility and vista. The room was very well appointed and we were supplied with a continental breakfast each morning. The beach is at the bottom of the garden and provides lots of opportunities for walks and exploration. Our hosts were lovely and unobtrusive. We enjoyed watching Pukeko parents feeding their two chicks in the paddock at the front of the property.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonz, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your review! The baby pukekos (a New Zealand native bird) are indeed fun to watch – they've now reached a very comical “teenage” stage where their legs look far too big for their little bodies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
18.9 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
31.9 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
12.8 km away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
16.6 km away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
155 reviews
6.6 km away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range: $268 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing