We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
43
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secluded beach golden bay love this place mussel inn short drive down the road wade kim units bbq accommodation roomy rock furniture host collingwood base
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I love this place! Stayed early January with my cousin (Alison Corker) for 5 nights and had a great time. The villa was well fitted out, modern, spacious and very clean- everything you would need for a perfect holiday. The owners were super and keep the villas and the whole site up to an immaculate standard, they are also very sociable and lovely people. Can't wait to return !!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Beautiful, self contained detached villas. Very clean and well equipped, looking out onto well maintained gardens. Safe, sandy, quiet beach just a couple of minutes stroll from the front door. An ideal base from which to explore all the sites the area has to offer. We have just been for the third time and plan many more visits in the future. Wade and Kim are as good as hosts get!

Room Tip: You will delighted with any of the villas
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonCorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatonsRock, Manager at Patons Rock Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks so much for your review Alison- it's always rewarding reading positive feedback and receiving recognition for our landscape upgrading efforts! We have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know yourself and Peter and always look forward to your return! Once again thanks for taking the time to recommend Patons Rock Beach Villas and we'll hopefully see you again soon :)
Kind Regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Rural location a short drive outside of Takaka. Bright, sunny, impeccably clean units with a usable kitchen and lovely landscaping. We actually never saw the owners but everything went smoothly. Recommended!

Room Tip: 4 units, all the same
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne4259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatonsRock, Manager at Patons Rock Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for the complimentary review. We really appreciate the time you took to let us and others know you enjoyed your stay at the villas, and would love to meet you should you return in the future! One of the downsides of us not living onsite is we don't always get to meet people- but on the flip side this does ensure a more private stay for the customers! Thanks again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.
Kind Regards
Kimberley :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

These 4 villas are set in beautiful gardens with lovely flowers, trees and roaming birds! They are certainly very peaceful and get away from it all, but with just a short walk to the beach. Our villa was perfectly clean with comfortable beds, nice linen and good kitchen equipment. We totally enjoyed our 5 days here and Wade made us feel very welcome and was very helpful in suggesting places of local interest. Takaka is just a ten minute drive away for all your shopping needs. Definitely recommend this as a top spot. Thank you Wade!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank streetcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatonsRock, Manager at Patons Rock Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

What an amazing review! Thank you for taking the time and summing up exactly what we want people to know about our villas. I am also very impressed you could remember my name haha. I can normally work out who comments by little hints in the review but unfortunately
there were several 5 nighter's so i cant be to sure so I do not want to make a wrong assumption.
If you are over this way again and need a accommodation or more suggestions it would be great to chat again.

Kind Regards,

Wade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

This is a place for getting away without being far away. The cabin was comfortable, with everything we needed. A very short walk took us to the secluded beach, which had shady trees growing right on the edge.
The owners are new, and their efforts to improve it are making a pleasant place even nicer.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Archaeowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatonsRock, Manager at Patons Rock Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you so very much for a great response and for commenting on the improvements. Next winter we will get stuck in again and see if we can double up on the changes made last year. Your comment on getting away without being to far is a perfect description of what makes our villas so special. ( We might even need to use it as our advertising slogan). We are also pretty lucky to have the beach so close. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Wade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews