We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$203
Fully refundable before Wed, 22 May
Hotels.com
$203
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$203
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
darren m
Canterbury Region, New Zealand

Takaka gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2024
This place is special, lovely chalets so private, also well equipped with everything you will need, we had a lovely outdoor bathtub great after the Abel tasman walk we did, highly recommend, owners were so nice, even has a glow worm cave. Bed was huge and comfy, outdoors has a nice area with deck, furniture bbq etc. We got to pick some avocados off the tree, woke up to bird song, lots of fantails, chalets are surrounded by unusual rock formations.. 5 minutes stroll into town of Takaka and beautiful beaches 5 minute drive away.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Stay a while and discover the beauty of this region.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found it a quiet, comfortable place where you could relax, especially amongst the fantails and in the outdoor bath. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $180
0.7 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $215
1.6 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $184
1.2 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $135
  • Lol.travel
2.5 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $163
1.5 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aufenthaltsraum (1)
Booking.com
$77
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $185
  • ZenHotels.com
9.6 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main bathroom - shared by Fantail Room and Pukeko Room
Booking.com
$143
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $110
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $110
17.5 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
17.2 km from The Rocks Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Takaka
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
184
29
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
184
29
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms individual chalets golden bay private chalet outdoor bath another reason rock features welcoming hosts close to town surrounding area an amazing place to stay loved our stay a great stay thought of everything spent nights abel tasman comfy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024

The rocks is an awesome place to stay, lovely setting in the rocks and garden.
Clean and well presented,they have thought of everything..even a bottle of bubble bath for the outdoor bath.
So relaxing and handy for the town.
They even allowed my husband to return to do a zoom meeting after we had checked out.
Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charmain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your time here peaceful and relaxing. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

This hidden gem in the South Island is a must stay if visiting the Abel Tasman / Golden Bay area! The Rock Chalets were comfortable, roomy, and so cute! The outside tubs were such a treat---we had one almost every night. Each chalet was very private. We had our 2 year old daughter with us and they were able to accommodate us with a pack and play. 15-minute walk to town of Takaka, and easy drive to Abel Tasman, the Golden Bay and Labyrinth Rock. I ran a few times from the Rock Chalets to Paines Ford. The hosts/owners couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming! We will be back!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank romy_vann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your Chalet was private and comfortable and you got to enjoy the outside bath. :) Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

We only spent one night at this wonderful place and wish we stayed longer. The 5 of us shared 2 chalets and we were very impressed with the decor, cleanliness and how well equipped they were. The hosts, Lloyd and Leanne were amazing; friendly and informative. There are various beautiful spots on the property with tables and chairs for family gatherings; excellent BBQ/cooking facilities and many other little extras. The hosts have really gone out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay in an idyllic setting that also includes a mysterious cave that once was used as an illegal distillery and is now a haven for glow-worms.

Room tip: Great swimming spots just 15 minutes up the road in Payne's Ford. Also a great pub within walking distance called Root's Bar.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seaside66640280362
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

The owners are amazing and so helpful, made checking in, out, and our stay so easy for us. The chalet was large, bed and pillows comfortable. Great little kitchenette and complimentary hot chocolate, tea, coffee etc. Exceptionally clean. We had outside bath which was amazing. Easy walk into the town center. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aklegeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property to be quiet and have the amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. Chalet 4 and 5 with the outside baths are definitely popular and awesome you were able to enjoy a relaxing soak in privacy:) Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

We had Tui chalet set towards the rear of the property. It is very quiet and has an outside bath, which was a treat. The outside deck area is great for sitting out or eating of an evening. The chalets are well kitted out and there is a communal cooking area with BBQ and pizza oven on the property as well as a washing machine and tumble drier. It is a great spot to stay for visiting the Golden Bay area and close to town so that you can walk in if you wish. Definitely worth staying here if you are planning a trip to the area.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lloyd and Leanne Field, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property to be quiet and have the amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. Chalet 4 and 5 with the outside baths are definitely popular :) Kind Regards, The Rocks Chalets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews