We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Lynda S
Picton, New Zealand

GOOD WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE ROOM

Review of Mohua Motels
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2024
Very nice accessible room. Super King Bed and could still get around the room. Good accessible shower and bathroom. They laid a ramp down for my wheelchair and we had a good stay. If , in a wheelchair and travelling on own, get the owners to bring the glasses and stuff up high down to a lower level.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohua Motels, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Thank you for your comment :-) we would definitely move things down lower or a single traveller if we know they are alone :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Chalet 4 - Kereru
Booking.com
$203
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Mohua Motels
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $215
1.1 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $184
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $135
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $185
  • ZenHotels.com
9.0 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $163
1.0 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aufenthaltsraum (1)
Booking.com
$77
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $110
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $110
16.9 km from Mohua Motels
Free parking
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
16.6 km from Mohua Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
14.0 km from Mohua Motels
View more hotels in Takaka
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
351
58
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
58
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location great place to stay information centre golden bay would stay here again modern motel walking distance salmon farm heat pump tata beach comfortable bed great shower bedroom unit places to visit rural outlook takaka hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

My husband and I first stayed here around ten years ago and returned here for three nights with our seven year old daughter.

The rooms are really modern and clean with a well equipped kitchenette so you can easily cook in your room.

There is a nice balcony for the upstairs rooms.

The location is great, right next door to the information centre, across the road from the supermarket and walking distance to cafes, restaurants and the weekly market.

The staff were lovely and this is a great place for families to stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Lovely motel in the golden bay. Amazing location in Takaka. Spotlessly clean, large room and comfortable bed with good shower and cooking facilities. Parking right outside and 2 mins walks into the township and short drive to the beach. Wonderful beaches and walks in the local area. Good laundry service but you have to pay with coins. Very helpful staff

Room tip: Bring 2 dollar coins for Landry if you need to use it.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank charlottewE6042WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Great motel and a great room — it has everything you need, comfortable beds, and a fab shower with great pressure. The view from the room was lovely, too, and it was so close to town - walkable. I highly recommend it. Check in was seamless - lovely welcome

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Compass18399284792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohua Motels, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

The location was perfect and the rooms were well appointed and comfortable. All facilities were excellent. The Hosts very obliging and welcoming. The sunsets over the ranges to the west were great when we sat out in the early evening. Handy to shops, supermarket and very quiet location.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohua Motels, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

This is a large and busy motel just on the outskirts of Takaka. The hosts are incredibly friendly and the units are very well equiped and clean and very comfortable. It is the perfect venue for an extended stay in Golden Bay and is close to the new and modern First Choice super market and various eating places. We were lucky to be able to stay an extra night as the motel is very busy. definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bradleyonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews