We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drive and parking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Drive and parking area
Garden
bedroom
Garden
garden
Maentwrog
View from top of the hill beside the property
Maentwrog
Maentwrog
Ffestiniog railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny264
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful little cottage with your own quiet garden. Charming family hosts with a gorgeous collie cross dog called Tally. Electric is paid into a meter which I found quite unusual but very reasonable tariff (I think I put in about £6 during our week, and didn't use it all, mind you it wasn't cold so hardly used the electric heating) Log burner, logs, kindling, and paper to light, all ready for us and we took advantage of it to kill the chill.
Co-op 2 miles away in Blaneau, as are most other facilities including various (untested) takeaways. We travelled to Betws-y-Coed (about 10 miles) most nights to eat out at a great hotel/restaurant called Ty Gwyn, which serves the best food in the area that we could find (at pub prices) but they're booking a week in advance. We managed to get a bar seat by booking for the following 3 days at the 6.30pm start time.
This is a very central location for most sightseeing in N. Wales, as everything is no more than half hours drive.
Plenty of walking and waterfalls on your doorstep.
Say no more - book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tally
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo i
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sheena and her family made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
The cottage is cosy, quirky and full of interesting features.
Thanks for a memorable stay

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinoKay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are regular visitors to wales and have stayed in a variety of different accommodations over the years from caravans to lodges to cottages. We chose Tyn y cefn because of its central location to the areas around Snowdon that we planned to explore. With Betws-y-coed in one direction and Porthmadog in the other, it was easy getting around for food, sightseeing, trekking and shopping. A little further but easy driving were Caernarfon, Conwy and Llandudno for coastal trips.

The cottage is tucked away just of the main road, and we initially couldn't find it. The owners are lovely people, and when we called, Ian drove out and picked us up - we were only a 100 metres away! Throughout our stay we found Ian and Sheena to be very warm, friendly and hospitable. They live in the main house next to the cottage, and will certainly sort anything out if you need them to.

Once we had parked in the spacious courtyard, we were shown our cottage with its lovely private garden (we planned to have breakfast there but never quite got round to it!). The cottage has a kitchen, two bed rooms and a lounge. In the entrance area there is the WC with a shower. The cottage was rustic, clean, well decorated and we really enjoyed our stay.

There are a few small points which we feel people may find helpful in deciding whether this is right for them, which I have detailed below.

The kitchen is spacious and we loved both cooking and having our meals there, and sometimes sat and played games there. The lounge is also spacious with a log-burning stove that kept us warm and occupied for hours, the children and I enjoyed the whole experience of stoking the fire and getting it blazing. The bedrooms are a little small, but sufficient and functional.

The layout of the cottage means that the kitchen leads into the master bedroom, which leads into the bedroom with bunk beds, which then leads into the lounge - a traditional 'long cottage' layout. This was no problem for us, but some may feel it compromises privacy.

Set near a waterfalls, and in the middle of countryside, the cottage is completely at one with nature, so expect a few creepy crawlies, especially spiders around. When my children were younger this would have freaked them out, but it was fine - my wife did unfortunately have to make a few little creatures homeless.

The cottage does have wifi, but it is just about accessible from the kitchen and kept dropping signal. It was good enough for me to pick up messages, and well, it's kinda nice not to be wired in all the time as we are in London! There is also a wired connection, but we did not use that as my slimline laptop needed an adaptor for that which I didn't bring.

Our overall impression and experience was wonderful, and we plan to return again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, log fire, location
Liked least: poor wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine D
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical cottage”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After reading all previous reviews there isn't much I can add. We stayed with our 2 children in August and had a fabulous time. The cottage and surrounding garden are magical with elves, fairies and sun catchers. We were very well looked after by Ian and Sheena.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly8076
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my husband stayed at this cottage recently and we absoulty loved our week there the cottage is stunning it's beautiful both on the inside and the out the owners are great people easy to talk too and also really friendly and very welcoming our experience has been so truly amazing I would 100% without a doubt recommend it too anyone who needs a relaxing break Thankyou Sheena xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;