We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great ski instructors who made our ski experience great

We were a group of 2 in our early thirties, one who was a complete beginner and the other one had... read more

Reviewed 20 February 2020
elaineyzx
Great experience

Shout out to Carlo. Great coach. Will return if given the chance. Slightly pricier than the other... read more

Reviewed 19 January 2020
porcorusso
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complete beginner ski instructor green slopes ski season fiss georgia skills coach skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2018

We had such a good experience there that I reminded myself to write a review for them. We had 2 instructors for 2 days: Kasume (I hope that's his name, my memory of Japanese names is so bad) was our snowboard instructor for the adults; and Toshi our kids' ski instructor. I'm 52, so naturally slow to learn despite my ambitions. Kasume has the right combination of observing our current abilities, coach and then gave us space to internalise his instructions. I've been stuck at being able to being barely able to stay upright for a couple of seasons and progressed to executing J-turns this season all thanks to his coaching. Our kids too, progressed from pizza to parallel turns from 2 days' of lessons. And Toshi was really nice. He found out that we had a rental car and gave us a few restaurant recommendations that turned out of to be one of the highlights of our stay there. We've been through a few ski schools in Hokkaido and Furano Snow School definitely ranks right up there for their method of instruction and personal attention.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mengami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Our instructor, Gus, assigned was very patient with us and very encouraging. He taught us the techniques very clearly and effectively.
Also, he observed and guide us along when we practiced. Never once leaving us alone to figure out our mistakes.
Highly recommended to learn from this school.
They are th ones in yellow jackets w the words FISS written on it.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank 644wanjunl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We have just had a week skiing at Furano with ski instruction from FISS for the kidsand some adults most days. Naoko who is one of the organisers was so accommodating, matching the right ski instructors with the various level groups. It is all private lessons but the same price per hour whether you have one or more in the group so we had several groups with 3-4 kids of the same level in them which worked so well. Tracey was fantastic for the beginners and the boys had a lot of fun with Ricky. Girls had lots of fun with Naoko instructing today. The Mountain closed one day and they happily refunded us for this. Customer service was A+++++. All English speaking. Make sure you book well in advance as it books out.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Catriona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The standard of instruction was excellent and the rates were competitive. The instructor was great at identifying individual strengths and weaknesses and building confidence (which is, after all, what skiing is mostly about).

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Ec0sse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We booked FISS for a 2-hour family ski lesson with our 6-year-old son, and child care for our 1-year-old. Our instructor was friendly, patient and experienced, adjusting the lesson to suit our individual needs and speed of learning. I was happy with the child care services. The child carers were gentle and experienced with young children, and our daughter was happy with them (for the most part - she hated parting from us in the morning). We stayed at the New Furano Prince Hotel, and the complimentary pick-up service for the child care was handy on the days when we wanted to stay in the Furano Zone. Booking was easy, and I appreciated the quick response time by email (I get a reply usually within a day). The childcare facility is quite small and bookings get filled up quickly (as it is to date the only day care facility in Furano)

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank Expat_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews