We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very helpful host & classic accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephen J
1 review
“Very helpful host & classic accomodation”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found that Alfie cares about his guests and does all he can to help out. From airport pick up / drop off, to stocking the fridge, providing leaflets and pointing out local amenities, and generally making himself available if required. Our accommodation could not have been better - a 16th home with all the character that suggests. Likewise Birgu / Vittoriosa itself, a wealth of character and charm amongst the houses of this greatly historic area. The housing is close packed, so expect some "street noise" i.e. conversations amongst the locals - but the lane Alfie's house is on is for pedestrians only, so there is no traffic noise. In the main square, only a couple of minutes walk away, you will find bars and restaurants and also little shops for groceries. Get your shopping in the mornings if you can, the locals have a siesta in the afternoons! Close by too is the marina, with more restaurants. All in all a great place to stay and highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for your write up & review, Ones again it is always a pleasure to read Guests enjoyed their stay and had a great stay.

Thank you ones again and thank you for leaving the place neat & Tidy

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding little place in the best part of Malta!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Firstly I must apologise to Alfie for taking so long to finally write a review!
We visited in December 2015 and before we'd even arrived Alfie has been in contact providing so much information about the area and Malta. Alfie picked us up from the airport and took us to d'Center, a wonderful bar (they also make the best pizza!), introduced us to the staff and bought us a couple of pints! We instantly felt so welcome by everyone there!

We met so many wonderful people from all over the world in d'Center during the week we spent in Malta. It is like a home from home and we could see why so many people had relocated to this beautiful place...especially Birgu.

The apartment is absolutely wonderful, steeped in history itself and also Alfie's childhood home! Alfie had very kindly provided us with fresh fruit, milk, ham, cheese etc whish was wonderful, such a thoughtful touch. The apartment has everything you will need and although we ate out mostly we cooked a couple of meals there and it was most enjoyable. One meal was made with home made pasta sauce from the wonderful couple in Birgi, a little shop/cafe by the harbour. They sell THE best pastitzi, so good we had to bring a bag home!

Throughout the whole holiday Alfie was available should we have needed any help, on one occasion the bed slats came apart and Alfie was straight over to fix it, you will not find a better host anywhere.

The people of Birgu are wonderful, everyone has a moment to spare to say hello, we felt like we knew most of the locals by the time we had to leave. It is by far the nicest place in Malta and both my partner and I could see ourselves returning time and time again, I recommend Birgu to anyone who talks about going to Malta.

I have to highly recommend that anyone staying in Malta take a trip down to Marsaxlokk, a little fishing village in the south. You can get a bus from the main bus station in Valetta, easily accessible by the ferry or little water taxis from Birgu. It's so charming, all of the restaurants sell the freshest fish, most of them are family run too, beautiful little place.

On my list of recommendations are also;
A day trip to Mdina.
A day trip to Gozo (and Comino weather permitting).
Wandering the streets of Birgu and Cospicua and Valetta.

Food wise I highly recommend the following;
Birgi, by the harbour in Birgu for the pastitzi, coffee and conversation!
d'Centre, in the main square of Birgu for beer, piza and friendly staff!
Osteria.ve...tucked away in the little streets of Birgu, this place is worth a trip to Malta on its own, THE best Italian food I have ever had. The guys who run it work so hard and are wonderful, we want twice in one week! We also had THE best red wine there too. I would jump on a plane just to go for tea here!
Nenu the artisan baker in Valetta for TGE best pizza situated in an old bakery it's wonderful!
There is also a lovely cafe at the far end of the docks in Birgu (in Bormla) but I can't remember what it is called! They do wonderful cake!

Filigree jewelry is made in Malta, beautiful handmade items and they are very reasonably priced, makes for wonderful gifts to bring home!

Considering the time of year we had a wonderful week of weather, the first 3 days were about 20°C and full sunshine! The others were a little overcast, enough for a warm coat especially in the evenings.

There are so many things to do and see on this small island, so much history and Malta's link with the British makes it such a fascinating place to go.
Alfie and all the people of Birgu made us feel so welcome, thank you so much.
We have no doubts that will return to this beautiful place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
No need for apologies, Your detailed review is defiantly worth waiting for.

As I say so often as happy review from a happy visitor is music to my ears, going back home with such a good feeling is defiantly a blessing.

I certainly hope we get the opportunity to meet again, feel free to contact me when or if you decide to visit us again

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolanan...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Maltese experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from our 1 week stay in Birgu (Vittorosia). We booked Alfie's place and were picked up at the airport by Alfie and taken to our accommodation by him. Before he took us to the house he showed us around the town giving us some very helpful information about the area and how best to get around. He then took us for a drink in a local bar/restaurant. A good start to our holiday. Alfie's place itself was every bit as charming as the pictures shown on the website, we loved it. We were also very fortunate to get the opportunity to stay for a few days in Alfie's other place, The Alley, as there was a cancellation and it meant we could stay there up until we were due to leave. The Alley is every bit as charming as Alfie's place and we feel a bit spoiled as we got the chance to experience both places.

Alfie is a gem of a guy, helpful and genuine. We would recommend both his places to anyone who wants to experience the real Malta. We had a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a great review but also for the pleasure of meeting you both.

I am always delighted to read Visitors had a great time and a good Maltese experience.

Thank you also for leaving both Places so clean & Tidy, and I sure hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want to experience the real Malta then this is the place to stay.
Alfie's Place is a gorgeous old house. It's clean, cosy and comfortable and full of character.
Birgu is a lovely place,full of history with lots of winding old streets and a beautiful harbour where you can catch the quick and reliable ferry to Valetta.
Alfie was the perfect host,kind and attentive and always available when needed.
We had a great holiday and would love to visit Malta again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.Good Wifi. Great host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. I was an absolute pleasure getting to know. Certainly would love to see you back and thank for leaving the place spotless.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonevav
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Absolutly perfect””
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location, cleanliness, service, attention to detail, views, memories- we give them all a 10. If you are visiting Malta, look no further - "Alfie's Place" is the place to stay. And Alfred is the kindest host. We really had a fantastic time and we visit it again. See you soon, Alfie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your write comments, you are a truly Lovely Family and Two perfectly well behaved Kids. It was a pleasure having you and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I sure hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing