We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, stunning location, perfect host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jemma S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, stunning location, perfect host”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to spend 10 days in Alfie,s house and we relished every second. Perfectly situated in a stunning 16th century stepped street and only two minutes from the main square alfies place is ideal for exploring birgu (a history lovers dream) or using as a base for seeing all malta (Valletta is only 5 mins away by ferry @ 2:80 euros return). The house itself is all exposed beams and bare stone walls with a lovely balcony off of the master bedroom allowing you to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet of a beautiful traffic free street. The second bedroom has two single beds and a lovely arched ceiling. Air conditioning and fans allow for the house to stay perfectly cool even on the hottest maltese days. Birgu is a truly unique city where you can nearly forget about modern life entirely. Full of wonderful cafes and restaurants you can sample the real maltese way of life. Finally our host Alfie who went out of his way to make our holiday something special, picking us up and returning us to the airport, showing us around to give us our bearings, introducing us to the wonderfully friendly locals and always being available to any request. A charming man we hope we can call our friend. The perfect holiday in the perfect location. Many thanks Alfie shane and jemma

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed it, and no doubt a great mate-ship has been found, formed and cemented. Hope to see you again. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for the feedback and was lovely having you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farlsboro...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in an impressive, historic setting”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Alfie's Birgu apartment for just four nights (he was booked up either side) but enjoyed every minute of it. Birgu is one of "the three cities", a little walled town on a peninsula opposite the south side of Valletta, and a trip round its backstreets is listed as one of the top ten things to do in Malta according to Lonely Planet, so it's a privilege to be able to stay in one of those same quaint alleyways.

Alfie is a vivacious and helpful host who makes sure you know how to make the most of your stay. The small but clean and well-equipped apartment is, like everything in Malta, made of limestone and provides a cool (air-conditioned) haven for an afternoon siesta - we travelled in September, and doing anything strenuous between 12-4pm is not advisable! He has even provided a cool box for making picnic lunches, and had some bread, milk, tea, coffee and other useful things waiting for us in the fridge. He also does what all of our hosts in Malta seem to do - leave half bottles of sun lotion, after sun, insect repellent etc. from previous guests for our use. Some people may think this looks messy but we benefitted from this leftovers more than once and it is far better than constantly wasting them!

Downstairs is a kitchen and dining area with adjoining bathroom (toilet/shower/basin and also a washing machine), upstairs a large double room with wardrobes and drawers, and smaller twin room. Perfect for a couple, with or without small children (there is a gate at the top of the stairs).

Birgu is very picturesque - more so than anywhere else I think, perhaps other than Mdina - and the nearby square with small shops and restaurants feels friendly and lively. There are a few good options to eat (Osteria.ve being a favourite which intend to review) but it is easy and cheap to take a water ferry into Valetta (buses are also easy and cheap but take much longer) and Marsaxlokk is a short drive away (younger travellers, be sure to check out Peter's Pool for some fun rock jumping!).
Please be aware, you cannot leave your car within Birgu overnight (only residents with permits can stay beyond 150 minutes) but free street parking is available just the other side of the roundabout at the entrance to Birgu, a five minute walk if that. Parking in Malta is surprisingly easy, it is either free, free but time limited or requires a small informal tip (1€) to an attendant. Never the dreaded pay and display! There is also no ATM in Birgu, the nearest is a leisurely 15 minute walk away in Vittoriosa (we never fully understood the difference between Vittoriosa and Birgu; I think the former is everything on the peninsula that is not part of the old walled city).

Overall, if you want to stay near Valetta with beautiful harbour views around every corner in historic, picturesque surroundings, you cannot do better than to stay at Alfie's place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Birgu. It was lovely having you and sure hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan E
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in Malta”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The area: Birgu is a beautiful town, a joy to walk through every day, and conveniently situated. There is a nice range of restaurants within easy walking distance and a handy ferry for reaching other areas easily. We enjoyed trips to Valetta, Sliema and the Blue Lagoon. The harbour/marina was somewhat like Venice, minus the crowds!

The house: Alfie's place is lovely. Small and very traditional with great character and on a beautiful old fashioned street. We always enjoyed returning to it at the end of our days out!

Alfie: He was really helpful and friendly. He went out of his way to ensure the house was ready for us (e.g. milk and bread in the fridge, beach towels for borrowing). He was happy to meet us at the airport and introduce us to the locality which saved a lot of time when it came to finding our way around.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would definitely recommend Alfie's Place as somewhere to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The traditional house and location
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, was lovely having you and thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veraverav...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful flat in quiet location”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just finished a week long stay in Alfie's place and had a lovely time. The flat is beautiful with everything you could need including a clean, spacious bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds, AC, wifi and a small balcony. It's situated on a quiet street but with a square with cafés, bars and shops right around the corner. The beautiful marina where you can get the ferry to Valletta is only a couple of minutes walk away.

Alfie was a wonderful host, very accommodating and helpful. He supplied us with beach towels and there was even bottled water, milk, tea and basic food stuffs in the fridge when we arrived!

Would absolutely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Hi Vera thanks for such wonderful words, it was lovely having you and thank you so much for leaving the apartment spotless. Hope to see you again good luck and enjoy. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing