We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
163
105
28
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
105
28
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryloch nellconnel bridgean upgradepacked lunchtriple roomon arrivalsmall hotelloch viewlovely viewsmall balconylamban overnight staycomfortable roomstunning locationboth nightswonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

A small hotel over the Connel Bridge tucked away between residential houses with good parking. We booked a room with a balcony as the weather had been great but unfortunately we never made use of the balcony as there was a howling gale first night followed by wet conditions, but the view over the loch was really good. The room was small but well equipped. The shower was small and I believe would be a tight fit for some people. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was OK serving up the usual suspects. We had an evening meal which was good and the prices were comparable with other eateries.

Room Tip: the balcony room weather permitting is great, with a view over the loch
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night, lovely view from our room , comfy bed and adequate sized room, but of a problem with shower could only get cold water problem with water pressure I think.
Had a lovely meal in the restaurant and they did a pensioners special which was excellent value
Staff friendly and helpful

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This was our least favorite of the 9 lodgings we had while in Scotland.

Lochnell Arms in in N. Connel, about a 10 minute drive over the bridge to Oban. It is a little hard to find. Parking is good. The hotel sits on the bay, with a nice view of moored boats. Some of the rooms offer nice views, ours did not. The restaurant sits in the back of the hotel, and offers nice views.

The hotel is old and could use a refreshing. Our room was tiny and drab. Some of the pix on TA show nicer rooms, so I guess by ordering a double room, we got the crummy room. The bathroom was a throwback to Europe 30 years ago, when en suite was not the standard, and facilities were not as good. The room was small, the shower so small that you could not bend down without opening the door, and the toilet was jammed between the shower and the wall.......I don't believe a heavy person could use it, and I had to turn sideways to clear the paper dispenser in order to sit down. The mixing valve on the wall worked poorly, and I had a hard time finding a setting that was not either cold or scalding.

The owners were nice, the dining room was ok, breakfast was fine, but no choice other than Scottish breakfast. They also serve dinner, but we did not partake.

To be fair, this hotel is on the low end of the pricing structure, so some slack needs to be cut for that.........other than the crummy bathroom.....can't give that a pass....

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This is a lovely hotel with fresh cooked food, the salads are really nice and fresh.
The staff are friendly and the views over the water and surrounding Connell are great. This is well worth a visit and accommodates families .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daimler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant overlooking the loch. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. They went above and beyond our expectations. My husband has a food intolerance and the staff were happy to make sure he had food he could eat.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews