We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
206
214
94
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
214
94
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed old world charm standard room quaint hotel residents lounge cocktail bar scottish hotel family room no lift roaring fire oban ferry evening meal loch etive cooked breakfast lovely location we've stayed single room
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

This was the second visit to Falls of Lora. The property has had a face lift and looks very charming! Rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished out and a huge plus is they give you room service. We had to order in as although being a dog friendly hotel, your pet is not allowed in the public areas which makes it quite inconvenient as you need to do shifts for your meals! The food ordered was very disappointing. The steak was more boiled than grilled and being in Scotland one would think getting a steak right would be comparatively easy! They however do have a lovely private garden by the Loch which is beautiful!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived late (at 10 from Fort William). It was tricky in the rain to be sure that great old mansion was actually our hotel. But everything was arranged, there was an envelop with our name and keys.
Very nice rooms. We had a few drinks at the bar, but alas no bar food. Kitchen was closed at 9 not even an sandwich or grilled cheese was possible.
Had a great night and the breakfast the next day was very welcome. Our stay was too short, definitely a place to hang out a few days!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tox-downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

One of the highlights of our tour around Scotland was the Falls of Lora Hotel. It has all the ambience of times past with wood panelling, old photos and objects which made us feel we had found the traditional Scotland that we were seeking. The staff were great, and the restaurant was the best we encountered in our whole trip. Thank you Falls of Lora.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank OldBeantryagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

My husband and I were booked to stay here...everything was prepaid. When we drove up we knew we had made a mistake...tired old hotel...shabby.
Walked into lobby and wallpaper was falling off wall nearly. Rude staff. We asked about seeing room first and were told it was one of the smallest in the hotel....really small.
I flatly refused to stay there. Instead we drove into Glasgow.
We are easy to get along with Canadians and we have never walked away from a full paid for reservation. This place is nothing like its pictures.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We have had many meals over the last 15 years when we have visited an aged aunt who lives nearby. The meals have always been good with great choice on the menu. The service was friendly and quick and we enjoyed this visit

Room Tip: Didn't stay this time
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisfollett78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews