We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Marvy(Ozdere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sureyya Hotel(Gumuldur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
574
93
42
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
93
42
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamprofessional entertainmentturkeyrelax and have funearly checkperfect hotelnext yeartheir jobalways smiling and happyclean roomsperfect holidaychoose this hotelsea viewhotel managementenglish guestsmain restaurantwater slides
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week. Food was great, literally so much variety you couldn't find fault. Dishes were sometimes dirty or missing (as was salt) but when catering for 900 people, I think it was really well done

The pools are great, relaxing and fun.
Rooms are spacious, thin walls, few amenities (weird?!) but luxurious overall.

The best was the spa. We went back 3 times. Turkish hammam was amazing! Massages and hajimat (off menu) fantastic! Ask for Fii and Farouk - the manager Ali and frontman Oscar are super friendly and accommodating. Spa is really out of this world, so relaxing and luxurious.

Fun activity is to smoke the hookah pipe after dinner and enjoy some Turkish tea.

Gym was great and state of the art.

This hotel is seriously great for what you pay for. Yes, the staff speak little English but you get by.

Bar : wine and beer great.

Lots of kids!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nvcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejlasy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.
We have received your feedback with pleasure and we are glad to read about that you had a brillant stay while you were here.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon to provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality and wonderful surrounding of the Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.

With the kindest regards from Özdere
Your Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile


Very polite staff in the placid environmental friendly
Honestly this staff are wonderful. You couldn't find another place like this staff and thank you pinar ali yasemin ozlem excellent bar team.
Sunis hotel so quiet place you can enjoying holidays with your dear family .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejlasy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Ali,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.
We have received your feedback with pleasure and we are glad to read about that you had a brillant stay while you were here.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon to provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality and wonderful surrounding of the Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.

With the kindest regards from Özdere
Your Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is a long review and hope the readers will bear with me .
I, my wife and two sons along with 4 of my relatives stayed in Sunis Efes during 8-13th September. I had booked two sea view rooms for us and two garden view rooms for my relatives. We arrived in the resort from Tehran around 10 A.M. and were told that the rooms will not be ready prior to 2 P.M. At 1 P.M. they told my relatives that their rooms were ready and since garden view rooms were not available, they gave them sea view rooms no. 1219 and 1335 , the latter having a good view of the pools & the sea. At 2 P.M. room 1319 at the corner, facing a large dome with small view of the sea if you strained your head from the corner of the window and certainly no way to see sunrise or sunset was given to me and 3 P.M. the adjacent no.1321 was designated to my sons. Having paid over 67 Euro /room more than my relatives we received the worst sea view rooms respectively 1 & 2 hours later than them. Upon complaining to the reception and their conferring with their senior , I was told nothing can be done and it was only good luck on the part of my relatives and bad one on my part !. I was also given the very wise ! advice to change my room with my relatives !!. We settled in the given rooms but this carelessness on the part of reception left a bitter taste in our mouths. One other peculiar thing was that prior to giving us our rooms, they told us to leave our suitcases in the lobby along with those of other people and go enjoy the facilities without giving any receipts for them and had anyone accidentally or by intention taken any piece of the luggage, there were no way to put blame on anyone. This was repeated prior to our departure and this was the first time in any hotel that the luggage was taken without any receipt being given.
The hotel is very big with sizable common areas which are beautiful and are kept clean . In fact cleanliness in most areas is a plus for this hotel . There are very chic and clean common toilets in the buildings but I was told ladies' toilets in the grounds were not maintained as should be. On the whole compared to other resorts in Turkey,
with some exceptions I found the staff more polite and friendly but although better than some places, English still remains a problem with most staff.
There are two big & nicely cleaned and maintained pools with plenty of sun beds and shades . There are adult and kid water slides and a pier going into the sea with a number of cabanas on the end but they have to be booked for 40 Euros / day. The
sea is quite clear and one could see fish swimming there.
There are some daily activities in various areas and entertainment at night that
consisted of live performances during some nights and dancing music at others. On the whole we were not very impressed with these programs. There is also a cinema inside but we did not get to go there. Wifi is free and available throughout the resort.
The resort is near a village called Ozdere and is around 40 km from city of Kushadasi.
Going there by Dolmus vans is 9 TL / person and taxi to the modern Optimum shopping centre in Izmir is 240 TL return and to Bornova open space shopping centre
on the far side of the city is around 350 TL return. On the whole going to various outside places is a costly problem with this hotel and I would imagine if hotel arranged and charged a fair amount for shuttle buses, there would be more interest shown in this resort.
The historic site of Ephesus is around 30 Km from the resort and return taxi fare with 2 hour stoppage there is around 220 TL and a visit is highly recommended.
As the hotel offers UAll service, there is food available in one place or the other throughout the day . In the big main restaurant there is a good variety of greens , salads, breads, cooked food, sweets and desserts . Although most of them are reasonably good but like most resorts in Turkey we found the cooked food although varied but lacking in quality & inspiration.
The residents are allowed one a la carte restaurant attendance per stay but we did not manage to book it in time.
One good feature in Sunis is availability of variety of good ice creams throughout the day.
Although at booking they say free drinks with some limitations, I found them freely available and even brand names were served although beer is only the local Efes brand .
Rooms are of decent size and clean . A minimum of their own brand toiletries are supplied only once during the stay and if you run out you have to ask the cleaning ladies for them . There are no toothbrushes and no Ironing facility . There is a walk in rain shower with very good water pressure. Tea or coffee making facility is available and there is a mini fridge with free drinks which is topped up daily with two bottles of water and minerals and two cans of Efes beer and strangely four family size soft drinks bottles which effectively makes them useless . Cool water bottles are freely available all over the hotel. There is a big flat screen TV in the room but programs consist mainly of Turkish, Russian, German and French channels but there is not a single decent news channel like BBC or CNN which I found a major shortcoming for English speaking guests. Air conditioning is quiet and very effective .
There is an indoor pool which was too cold to use . The Turkish hamam is quite nice and there is a gym equipped with modern equipment.
Overall we had a good stay with some reservations as described. On the whole if you are the type that just wants to chill out and stay in the resort this could be a place for you, but if you also like to go sight seeing & shopping, then I would recommend places nearer to Kushadasi.

Room Tip: For sea view types on each floor, rooms ending with no. 35 or higher
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank daryooshh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejlasy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review submitted online! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us and supporting Efes Royal Palave with such warm words! We are delighted to note that our teams have managed to create a really nice and welcomed atmosphere for your family and that you remained completely satisfied with all aspects of service in our resort. It’s our goal to provide the highest level of service for our dear guests and to let them feel most relaxed and comfortable while staying with us. Thank you once again for your kind recognition.
It will be a great pleasure to have the chance of welcoming you back to Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa on many opportunities in the future.
With the kindest regards from Özdere
Your Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel architecture was great
Outdoor pool,slides for kids and adults,turkish bath,....
Generally it has very good facilities,but the staff weren’t how they should have been. There were only 2 bellmen for this huge hotel.only few staff were able to speak english,cleanliness was awful probably the most dirty hotel that i had ever been to.the food was awful and unhealthy and the only place that had good food was italian restaurant,dishes were so dirty and some of them were broken. Generally it wasn’t a good hotel and I didn’t like it at all.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Parshan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejlasy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you had bad experience in our hotel. We are always reading and taking care to positive or negative reviews and we are trying to do better with this notes. We believe that we have a good balance about price-quality and every new season we are developing our service quality step by step. If you give us one more chance , we will be grateful to show your Sunis Hotels quality.

With the kindest regards from Özdere
Your Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed for the second week of September. This was a gorgeous place to stay - a beautiful beach, plentiful sunbeds, friendly and helpful staff, and a really well equipped hotel. The food was excellent, always fresh and a huge variety. While most staff didn't speak much English, they were all pleasant and very willing to help. Every area was kept perfectly clean. We particularly loved the freshly fried pastries from the snack bar in the afternoon!

The only complaint we might make is that noise from the nightclub travels through the building. We were on the fourth floor and could still hear it - not so loud as to bother me, but I imagine that rooms on the lower floors might be more affected.

We travelled to Ephesus and one of the nearby water parks by dolmus, which was easy to catch from in front of the hotel. The guest relations manager helped us work out which side of the road to be on to catch the right bus! Taxis are easily available in front of the hotel but we found the dolmus easy to use. Scenery around the area is lovely and views from our sea-facing room were beautiful. A tip for travellers - we found that the shaver socket didn't fit our standard shaver plug (it looked like a euro socket rather than an actual shaver socket), but an adapter can be bought cheaply from the shop.

Thank you very much for such a relaxing break - we already wish we were back there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the nightclub. Sea view rooms look toward the setting sun.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eptima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejlasy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.

We have received your feedback with pleasure and we are glad to read about that you had a brillant stay while you were here.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon to provide you with the finest Turkish hospitality and wonderful surrounding of the Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa.

With the kindest regards from Özdere
Your Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews