We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful! A wonderful holiday”

Review of La Crouzette

La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley. Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley.
Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
A light, airy and spacious living room with great views.
The living room, looking through to the dining room.
Enjoy outdoor dining - with prime views of the golden castle and lush green valley hills.
Use our bbq with fresh food from Castelnaud village or Sarlat market. Yummy!
Make use of the bbq and watch the starry skies if you decide to have a night in.
When you hear the roar of the burners, you'll know there's a hotair balloon near by!
Hire canoes and pass chateaux, Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Beynac castles
One of 3 double bedrooms (+ 1 twin room), all beautifully decorated.
Modern and well equipped kitchen with dining table.
Private pool with private valley views in this relaxing sun trap.
Visit Castelnaud castle & see the village, Dordogne river and valley from the turrets.
Walk up to the castle or down to the river - they're both so close.
Don't miss market days in the gorgeous medieval town of Sarlat.
Sarlat is less than 20 mins by car. Markets, restaurants, church, entertainment!
Lots of entertainment on in Sarlat during the summer.
La Roque Gageac is only 5 mins away by car and not much more by canoe!
The bastide of Domme is close by, with a history of The Knights Templar!
Great food + wine! Dinner party outside.
The ideal French getaway.
Chilling in the pool on a hot day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KimiHogs
Bristol
2 reviews
“Beautiful! A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We (three couples (including one heavily pregnant woman) and two young children (2 & 9 months) stayed at La Crouzette for a week in early June and it was gorgeous! Wish we owned it!

The location of the house was so quiet and picturesque and the house itself was lovely. Big airy, tastefully decorated rooms with a veranda for use when it rained (once), a big table for meals outside, a driveway and garden perfect for boules and a great pool.

Unfortunately we were too early in the season for all the amenities to be open just up the road by the impressive castle in the night but we went there for coffee and crepes during a couple of the days. A few minutes walk. You'd need a car to get to the lovely boulangerie, cafe and shop at the bottom of the hill as in my opinion the road was unsuitable to walk along (safety-wise). There was some steep lanes down to the village I believe but due to the buggies we couldn't manage them.

Although we ventured to lovely nearby villages, two of the best days we had were sunning ourselves by the river at the bottom of the hill. The river is so clean and fresh. It was lovely.

The owner always responded quickly to my pre-trip questions and was very friendly.

Unfortunately (fortunately?!) we were there during a heatwave and so the only suggestion I can make is that the house would benefit from air-con, rather than fans, but we managed fine.

We aim to return to La Crouzette and had the most fantastic holiday. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely house itself and the village below.
Liked least: No air-con and couldn't really walk to village below as heavily preg and had young children.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krobbo31
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dordogne at its best”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

our first trip to the Dordogne Valley, I chose this house because of its position on a hillside under the castle, not being overlooked by anyone, and it was exactly what I expected, nice and peaceful. we did not hear anyone all week, My best recommendation is that if it was for sale, I would buy it, Wi-Fi was nice and fast, kitchen a delight, big table to cut up the baguette :-), very clean, well managed. nice bakery at the bottom of the hill. the local couple who manage the house responded instantly to my text asking how to turn the heating on, very efficient. the whole trip was a dream, will be staying again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and privacy, not being overlooked by anyone, on a hillside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The location is absolutely perfect and couldn't be bettered.”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The views from the house are absolutely stunning. From the veranda, the beautifully wooded hillsides, the wide and peaceful Dordogne river and the wonderful view of the chateau lit up at night are something out of a fairy tale. The swimming pool is set into the side of the garden and is perfectly situated, and benefits from having the sun for almost the whole day. The restaurant at the top of the village is excellent. Outside dining is absolutely perfect with the very large table and large number of chairs provided. At the back of the house is a garden with a lovely large tree which provides welcome shade in the hottest part of the day. Everything was provided at the house and our holiday was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
13celtic
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at La Crouzette with daughter, son in law and 2 yr old granddaughter. We were blessed with beautiful weather in this stunning location.
We were very comfortable with lots of indoor and outdoor space. The pool was gorgeous and very well fenced off for little ones.
Housekeeper popped in to check everything okay and pool was well filtered and clean.
It has a real family atmosphere and we really did not want to leave the wonderful views and ability to walk up to the medieval village for a meal.
Our thanks to the owner who was a pleasure to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, layout and atmosphere
Liked least: kitchen plates, pans etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaretm...
Hawkhurst, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect house in a superb position for many attractions.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were a family of 6 adults and 2 children (3 generations) and the house was perfect. We had many lovely meals outside and particularly enjoyed the magical evenings when the hot air balloons would go past. The position made for easy access to the many attractions of the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing