We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A llittle bit of heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dolgadfa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Northwest...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A llittle bit of heaven!”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from a weekend break celebrating my husband's 70th Birthday in this lovely 2 unit self catering accommodation. We were a party of 8 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs. The natural beauty of the surroundings was outstanding and the river running close by the property added to this.

The accommodation is lovely and had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean and the quality of the furnishings, bedding, crockery etc. was first class. With such a large party there were always dishes to be washed and the dishwasher was full after every meal but there were still ample items of tableware/cookware/cutlery etc. left in the cupboards to use while the dishwasher was on.

On the Saturday evening we sat down to a special dinner for my husband's birthday in the spacious dining room where we were all able to sit round the table in fromt of a lovely log fire.
There are wood burning fires in both units and ample supply of logs available to us which we made full use of. Nothing nicer on a dark winters evening than a real fire!!

I mustn't forget to mention how comfortable the beds were and the quality of the bedding and pillows - we all slept like logs!!

There were board games, table tennis equipment, maps of the area and a plentiful supply of books to read.

Lou the owner was very helpful and friendly and came over to welcome us on arrival to offer any advice or answer any questions that we had.

In summary, this accommodation has everything one could wish for and I would recommend it for a peaceful, spacious and comfortable accommodation for a large party. Perfect!!

Unfortunately we were only able to stay for 2 nights so weren't able to explore many of the lovely places nearby but hopefully we will return and for longer next time! Thank you Lou.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJTay
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

These 2 self catering units are great for big family groups or large groups of friends. Sleeping 12 in total the 2 'houses' have a lovely big sitting room, large dining spaces and a very well appointed kitchen complete with aga. Set in lots of open countryside there is a lot of scope for games of football/badminton close to the house and if you like cycling, the roads around the house are ideal - quiet and safe. Dolgadfa is a really great 'getaway' destination.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family Holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our second year at dolgadfa and it did not disappoint. Loads of space for our family of 10 Adults, 2 toddlers and our 4 very active Dogs. Lots of lovely doggie walks, fishing and just lazing around the large gardens as the weather was fantastic. Beautiful views and a great base for visiting Snowdon and the surrounding areas, would have stayed another week if we could, so much to do and the house and barn are modern and soooo lovely. Don't hesitate to book Dolgadfa for a family break expecially if you have Dogs, its amazing and we will all definately be back in 2014. Lou the owner is always on hand to provide help and information, lovely lady.
Thanks Lou, see you next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dolgadfa - Holiday cottages”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed there last week with family (10 of us and 6 dogs), the scenery was amazing, and the fact they allowed dogs is the reason we chose to stay here, it was lovely to have all the gardens for the dogs, and lovely walks literally on the doorstep. Would definitely recommend for those with doggies!! only problem (if you see it that way) is that there are sheep in all the surrounding fields so you need to keep dogs on a lead but if you are willing to drive you can find other walks, and even dog friendly beaches about 50 minutes away. The scenery really has to be seen to be appreciated. There is a pub in walking distance, which sells local snowdonia ale which my family all loved.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Dolgadfa at the start of the summer. We hope your dogs enjoyed themselves as well. From our records of the booking we made allowance from the usual 2 dogs to an agreed 5 for this booking.
Dolgadfa is located in the heart of the agricultural community where the main business is livestock farming - primarily sheep. The property is surrounded by fields and during certain times of the year they are stocked with sheep and lambs. You are correct to acknowledge that dogs need to be kept on leads although this is not required in the large yard and garden. We strive to provide the best expereince for the visitor (and dogs) and were dissapointed by the fact sheep surrounding the property, for which we have no control, may have impacted on your holiday and produced a subsequent rating of "average".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
demontwee...
derby, derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tranquilty & friendliness...”
Reviewed 17 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

My partner & I have just had a 5 night stay at this quiet & secluded B & B near Bala in Wales. It was a rush decision to go but fortunately Lou Robertson the owner managed to fit us in at short notice in her farmhouse residence that had once been a barn but is now a magnificent cosy place to hide away from the rat race our world is now.
It would take a long time to find somewhere as delightful as this again so maybe we'll be back next year eh Lou???
The secluded residence was all we could hope for & more, a short walk to the river Dee or an equally short walk to the forest behind the farmhouse was but 2 things to do. At dusk, if you were quiet & patient you could watch the otters play under the bridge or the fish rise in the river, maybe even take your rod & have a spot of fishing even yourself?
The access to this idilic spot is down a narrow lane but the locals are few & far apart so having to get out of the way was no problem with the exception of the pheasants who seem to think they rule the road lol!
In the vicinity are a couple of excellent eating houses & more can be found nearby in Bala itself.
As for friendliness & good wholesome breakfasts, well I cannot say more than excellent & Lou puts herself out to advise on places to go & see etc & has a mass of information on most activities etc in the area plus more besides.
So if you are looking for a quiet retreat etc then you could do a lot lot worse than stay with Lou & john at their family run B & B!
ps next time we may come on my motorcycle ok? Peter

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing