We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place for stay and countryside vacation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main lounge Kitchen with large dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Main lounge
Kitchen with large dining table
Snug with logburner and 2 x 2 seater settees
Log burner in snug
One of the single bedrooms
Chiminea in summer - great lake views and sunsets
View of Lake Bala from Garden
view on hillside walk from house
lake bala from walk from house
Path to castle Gronw
Views of Lake Bala from the grounds
House in winter
Winter wonderland
Castle mound in winter with view of Lake Bala
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sushaantt
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Amazing place for stay and countryside vacation”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had our stay at in the second weekend of December. I found this place when we are looking for weekend vacation on snowdon countryside and this place perfectly meet all our requirement. This place has blessed with amazing natural beauties. Farmhouse is very big and maintained with excellent interior. It has big kitchen with all required utensils, cutlery, microwave, fridge n dish washer. There was 2 fireplaces with very big living rooms. We have been provided with complementary logs as well. This property is very clean and again to say amazingly maintained. We got complete privacy during our stay without any disturbance. We checked in the night and enjoyed our stay at this place. The cost of the stay is very cheap comparing with the other benefits we have been provided such as individual towels, fully equipped kitchen, TV/DVD player/Music systems/board games and many more. I loved interior and owl hunt too.

I would Highly recommend this place to stay for countryside family vacation to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything in the property
Liked least: I was expecting wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzzardbo...
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived and felt at home as soon as we pulled in to the drive. The owners could not be nicer and showed us where everything was. The three children loved playing in the woods and the garden, as did the adults!. Three minutes drive to Bala and five minutes walk to the Lake. We will be booking again as we all had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Main road.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
728scarle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely but noisy”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a week at Pen y Bont as a family group of eight adults. It is a very lovely farmhouse - well taken care of and clearly loved. It has plenty of character and charm and the owners are very helpful and friendly too, which is great.
However, and this was a big however for us, what we hadn't picked up from the website was that it is situated bang slap on the main road into Bala. For those of us city dwellers who were desperate for some peace and quiet, we didn't really get it. The windows are double glazed and cut out alot of the road noise, but we like to sleep with windows open and so were woken at 7am every morning by traffic noise. Equally during the day, it was hard to get away from the traffic noise. We also found that noise carried significantly through the house. The couple sleeping above the kitchen said they could hear when the kettle had boiled! And certainly sleeping above the living room you could hear almost word for word conversations in the living room. You could even hear toilet activities from some of the bedrooms, which was a bit uncomfortable!
We also found the kitchen too small. The kitchen table does fit 8, but with 8 seated, you can't get round the table, or into the fridge (which was also too small for us being an under the worktop fridge). We found it difficult preparing food in the kitchen as there simply wasn't enough space.
The snug is actually a hall way with a couple of sofas in, which meant it wasn't really a separate space (we used the third reception as a bedroom).
So, all in all a very lovely house and well cared for but in our opinion not suitable for a big group looking for peace and quiet. We were a little bit too on top of eachother and the traffic noise would have been a deal breaker had we known about it beforehand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of charm.
Liked least: The noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
We are sorry this guest did not fully enjoy their stay. We are surprised by their comments, as an overwhelming number of guests rate our property location as a key plus factor. The property is on a minor B road into Bala (not the main road) and so whilst not being remote or isolated provides a great location for the lake and short stroll into Bala with all its amenities, yet still being out of town within its own grounds. We have had many groups (of up to 11) who have described it as ideal inside for a extended family, or group of friends get together - spacious and comfortable and a relaxing feeling of being at home. This review is highly unusual, please see our many guest comments on our website, all taken directly from our comments book, to get a true overall impression of guests experiences of staying at Pen Y Bont Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SellickM
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

A great location to visit the Southern side of Snowdonia with its stunning landscapes, Very relaxing and a place you could 'feel at home'. Recommended.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa008
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a large family celebration”
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in September 2011

We had a great time staying at Pen y bont Farmhouse in September when we booked a long weekend to celebrate mum’s 60th birthday. As a party of 6 adults and 4 children we needed a larger property with plenty of space. From the outside Pen y Bont Farmhouse looked like a small cottage but inside it was like a tardis with 3 living rooms, 5 bedrooms and a lovely kitchen diner, all with lovely character and attention to detail. The log burners made the farmhouse lovely and cosy in the evenings and we all enjoyed playing board games together. The beds were superb, so comfy it was hard to get up in the morning. The kids especially enjoyed exploring the house with the “secret” back staircase and the large gardens provided plenty of opportunity for them to run around and play. Mum loved our daytrip to Portmeirion, and we even made it to the top of Snowdon! There is loads to do in the area and we can’t wait to come again and explore more. The small town of Bala was only a short walk away and was very quaint, just one thing to be careful of though – we found that a lot of the restaurants shut fairly early in the evening, and we had to have a take away on our first night (tried the Chinese and it was excellent!) Would definitely recommend this farmhouse to similar groups – it ticks all the boxes for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property and great location
Liked least: Some restaurants in Bala close their doors quite early
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;