We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for large groups”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Priory

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Midsomer Norton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
LynseyCB
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at The Old Priory for a hen weekend, and it was perfect. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, each with an en-suite. We ordered groceries to be delivered which Melody took in and packed away for us, so we arrived to fully stocked fridges. The cooking facilities were wonderful, we BBQed and used the kitchen. It was a great weekend and Melody ensured the experienced was relaxed and hassle-free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is so old and beautiful
Liked least: There really isn't anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a long weekend in early May and had a great time. Melody was very welcoming. The house is well set up with a kitchen you can can easily cook for a large group in. The countryside around is pictureque and Bath/Bristol are within easy driving distance.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely house, great facilities and garden, and the owner was always very helpful and friendly. Strongly reccommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
1 review
“Perfect for a group”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Superb location, with wonderful hosts. Lovely setting in Somerset. Great house, each room with own bathroom. Lovely garden, plenty of space. Not a negative to say about it. Will definately return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautifully relaxing weekend!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wow! Where do I start?

After a hectic 6 hours of travelling down to Bath to enjoy the bank holiday weekend, we arrived at The Old Priory Hotel and were hospitably welcomed by Melody who showed us to our room (School Room).

The room was spotless and in fact had just undergone redecoration in both the bedroom and the en-suite, both beautifully clean and tidy. The hotel is a Grade 2 listed building, brimming with character and originality, whilst also furnished to a very high standard.

Breakfast was served at any time between 8:00 and 10:30 and had plenty of choice,the Greek yoghurt and accompanying fruits were a particular favourite of mine. Melody provides a beautiful menu encompassing everything from a cooked breakfast to salmon and scrambled eggs and a continental style breakfast. Breakfast was always freshly cooked and such is Melody's wonderful hosting that alterations to the set menu were made for both myself and my girlfriend.

We had an absolutely wonderful time this weekend and cannot thank Melody and Michael enough for their hospitality. They seemingly stopped at nothing to ensure we both had a wonderful stay and even lit the fire in the sitting room ahead of our return from Bath (massive thumbs up!).

We cannot recommend this hotel enough and will undoubtedly be returning in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing