We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunset Spectacular”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ginger Cottage

COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Ginger Cottage views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RedSoxPat...
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunset Spectacular”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Ginger Cottage was exactly as advertised. The facilities are clean an up to date. It is a very private and relaxing location. George and Lucretia are always willing to provide whatever you need.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottburn...
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, Amazing view, Unique experience, Great value!”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay at the Ginger Cottage! To spend a week overlooking the Caribbean Sea watching boats pass in and out of Marigot Bay was an unforgetable experience! The cottage is like a large screened-in porch with spectacular views in every direction. We had a hard time leaving for other activities because it was so beautiful being there.There is always a nice breeze and while it got a little warm a couple of times, it was never too hot and always cooled off nicely by late afternoon, and evenings and nights were comfortable. The kitchen was functional and perfect for easy breakfasts and snacks, while the bathroom was large with a nice shower and plenty of hot water. Most important of all, George made the whole Ginger Cottage experience fantastic! He is a great person that went out of his way to make you feel safe and comfortable, always willing to help and answer questions and make great suggestions!

We did not rent a car and were glad we didn’t. We were there to relax and driving on St. Lucia looked pretty stressful to us. Lucretia had made arrangements for our transportation from the airport which worked out perfect and we stopped along the way and picked up groceries for the week. George met us at the taxi and helped us get our groceries and bags across the bay and to our room, it worked seamlessly. We frequently walked down to Doolittle’s for meals and enjoyed their food and friendly staff. It’s also really nice that if you’re a customer of the restaurant you get to use the beach chairs and pool area. It was prefect for us! We also went across the bay to Hurricane Hole for lunch and then to Chateau Mygo for dinner a couple times. Also really enjoyed the boat trip (set up by George) to Anse Cochan and had a great lunch at Ty Kye Resort next to the beach. On our final day, we extended our trip to the airport and stopped at the botanical gardens and lunch at Ladera...we highly recommend both!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
❤️
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simondean...
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly lived up to the billing!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When I first saw the reviews for Ginger Cottage, I was slightly suspicious. Surely nowhere could be that wonderful?
Well, I'm happy to say that the reviews on here were spot on - the place is idyllic!
We arrived - three hours late thanks to Storm Doris in the UK - and were greeted at the airport then driven to Marigot Bay. There we were met by the ever-smiling George who showed us to the cottage.
The cottage was clean, well-equipped and we arrived to find a bowl of freshly-picked grapefruit and coconut.
Next morning, the full beauty of the place revealed itself.
I doubt there is a better view in all of Marigot Bay. You can sit on the terrace and watch the superyachts sailing in and out of the harbour...and the sunsets!!!
Marigot Bay itself is low-key and tasteful.
As other people have mentioned on here, the little supermarket in the marina is eye-popping expensive but, hey, it's a corner shop for people who own superyachts; what do you expect? A good tip is to stock up at the Massy Stores supermarket in Cul de Sac on your way there.
There are some lovely restaurants - our favourites were Masala Bay (excellent lunchtime tasting menu) and Chateau Mygo.
The beach is literally three minutes' walk from the cottage but for a really good beach with superb snorkelling, go for a walk to Trou Rolland, just to the south of Marigot Bay - there's a lovely scramble down through the woods.
And for some more adventure, the nature trail from above Oasis to the back of Rainforest Hideaway is a gem.
Marigot Bay is a magical place but be prepared to take your magical credit card.
Ginger Cottage was a pleasure and richly deserves the high praise it receives.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoingItOu...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage, Beautiful View !”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The two of us loved our stay at Ginger Cottage .We were picked up at the airport by wonderful Lucretia and enjoyed the rustic east coast drive that cut across through the scenic green valley and the center, stopping for groceries, and on to the west coast , ending in beautiful Marigot Bay.
From there, we took the one minute boat ride to the north side of the bay and a 5 minute walk up to our lovely home for the week. George, who lives in the cottage below, is friendly and very helpful with the luggage as well as anything you need through the week. He took us to the beautiful Anse Cochon for a day of snorkelling on one of our days there.
The cottage is perfect for two, with a single wall galley kitchen, microwave, toaster, fridge, drip coffee maker, kettle, gas stove, large shower in the bathroom, king bed, living room table, some wicker furniture, and a great little patio with a table for two that was great for breakfasts and drinks at sunset ! George had a basket of fresh grapefruits picked for us when we needed them from the tree on the steep slope nearby. Best when squeezed with local Chairman's Reserve rum ! You can walk to three restaurants on the north side of the bay in minutes. The locals are very laid back and friendly .
I can see where binoculars would come in handy....
Thank You to George, Lucretia and Enrica for a fantastic stay. Highly recommended !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is by no means a resort but if you want to feel semi-local , comfortable, close to everything and have tons of privacy, this is your place. A few things could be cleaner and the beach could be better, The views are out of this world. George is great, let Cyrus give you a ride and make fresh fruit juice with fruit from the trees in your yard. Awesome surprise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing