We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal D' Cordero(Santa Clara)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Casa Riki's Hostal(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Suite Florencia(Santa Clara)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal La Caridad(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hostel Casita B&B(Santa Clara)
Book now, pay at stay
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hostal Amalia(Santa Clara)
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Tulas House(Santa Clara)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hostal Vista Park(Santa Clara)
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
23
40
35
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
40
35
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Our family enjoyed our three day stay here very much. If you too do appreciate the cuban way and people, you will find them here. I believe we were the only foreigners during our stay. Don't expect anyone to speak foreign languages. The lobby has one of the best internet accesses in Cuba, which means that it is identical to all other slow and unreliable pay-per-the-hour ETECSA driven wifi spots around Cuba :-).
Fantastic setting in the middle of the beautiful nature. The warm pool with great views and spiced with reggaeton tunes all day was a welcome break from the vibrant citys. Make sure to see the spectacular sunset from the rooftop bar. Rooms and area were nice and clean.
Bar and food prices are very reasonable despite the lack of alternative choices in the area. But don't go here for a gastronomic experience; the buffet restaurant is very traditionally cuban, without much efforts to presentation nor taste.
All rooms are similar, with a capacity for 2 adults and one child. If you book two rooms, they will be adjoined by a door.
Do take one of the boat trips on the lake (locals offer them for cheaper prices at the hotel fence). The tiny very rural restaurant across the lake serves delicious fish and more.
If you can do with Spanish/body language and can don't emphasize gastronomy, you won't be disappointed here.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and lake view. Upper floors have better views. We did not find noise to be a problem
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CopenhagenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

If you go to the artificial lake Hanabanilla, there is no much choice to stay. It seems it is the only hotel in the area, so you have no choice anyway.
The hotel is big; but due to holiday weekend even it was overcrowded by multi-generational families (not only Cubans). People were having fun in the pool (it worked), nobody swam in the lake. The lobby bar was overcapacity (but they make not bad coffee). Room was OK. There was hot water. Air conditioner worked. Staff was friendly (they have so many Latin clients, I am not sure if they need speak other languages there). Internet worked. There was pool (billiard).
What I did not like, it was their restaurant room (stuffy) and food generally.
All in all, nothing too much negative. And if you managed to get there, you will survive.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Serguei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We went to Hanabanilla to enjoy the mountains, birdlife, lake and waterfalls, which were all spectacular, but, additionally, we were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel. The room was nice, overlooking the pool and the lake. The food was simple, but plentiful and fresh and tasty. During the evening meal, there was live Cuban music, which we really enjoyed.
The pool was very large and clean and the pool-side bar and chairs and tables were so enjoyable during the sunny hot days. The area was normally quiet, although it did seem to get busy with day-visitors on the weekend.
We took lake tours with a local boat operator; these tours allowed us to fish, hike, and swim in various waterfalls, including El Nicho. Our local guides were friendly and helpful.
Overall, our stay here (5 days) was very enjoyable and very affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LLB123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I got very dissappointed because we had our kids with us. I booked with GALA HOTELS...payed almost 200 Euros a night ....only stayed one because of the missing pool...never got any money back...neither hotel nor GALA HOTELS refunded anything.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank gbkobbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The only good thing about this place is that the view is nice. But the staff only speaks one language and that is Spanish. The service is very bad, sometimes there isn't even anyone at the front desk in the lobby. The wifi is $2 for an hour and it barely works! I only had breakfast there and it wasn't very good. There were bugs everywhere even in the room, and I found a spider in the shower!! The "maids" don't even clean the rooms, they just give you new towels and fix the bed. AND NO HOT SHOWERS! The water was always cold. I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laurenwright39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews