We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
24
40
36
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
40
36
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

wonderful views of the lake and the mountains , and a great base for boat trips and walking , but dont expect the hilton , this is a cuban hotel , more or less oin the middle of nowhere , the food is well cooked and plentiful , but its local , and a bit samey

the wifi is hit and miss , the electric is hit and miss , the mossies are plentiful , make sure you get down to meals early as there arent really enough tables to go round , so you end up queuing outside for half an hour to get seated

luckily I was only in here one night , so managed to cope , but would have been suicidal if i was here much longer

Room Tip: dont expect top quality , think butlins in the 60's
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattjay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This ismthe worse hotel I have ever stayed at. So bad that after arriving at lunch time, sampling the food, and spending a few hours we decided to leave during the early evening and not spend one night in this dilapidated and abandoned hotel. The road access was blocked by lake water and our party had to walk over a hill to reach the lobby area. The pool water was green and the general recreationalmarea was defficient. The menu choices were very limited and quality followed that line too. Avoid this place at all costs.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We were a group of 7 adults, 2 teenagers and one child who stayed at the Hanabanilla resort for 3 nights during the last week of July. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean as well as our rooms. The view was magnificent from our balconies (all the rooms face the mountains, the lake and the pool). The food was good (typically Cuban). The pool was a good size for the number of rooms (125). The staff was very friendly. The only downside is that the Wi-Fi is very weak. One day, we took an excursion by boat, across the lake to climb a mountain (the path was steep, but what a view at the top !!!) and then have lunch in a Cuban family restaurant: the turkey was the best I have ever had!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank caleroux57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Wanted to go to El Nicho falls but found this place to stop for the day as the driver told us that the falls stop due to lack of rain, not sure if he was lying as its common in Cuba since we did not understand spanish!!!!
Anyway it did not matter as we found the this hotel excellent to rest for the day . For 10 cuc each,we got lunch and unlimited amount of drinks i.e. beer/juice/water. The lunch was the usual type found in Cuba, chicken or pork served with rice, gravy and salad.
The pool was fantastic, very well kept. We went down to the river but did not go in the boat. Was told the for 10cuc we could go around the island.
Overall found the location quite out of the way unless if you are in the area for a tour or seeing the falls

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I stayed for one night at the Hanabanilla Hotel south of Santa Clara. It is located on large reservoir. The surrounding hills are beautiful with tobacco fields and palm trees. The hotel when built would have been beautiful. It does suffer a little bit with the maintenance. As with many Cuban hotels, you must be patient when checking in as it can sometimes take more time than in Europe or North America. It does no good to get upset, but always better to be patient and smile.
The rooms are quite basic, but they are very clean. There is no shampoo in the room, so bring your own.
The air conditioning worked well in my room and I didn't have any issues.
This hotel is in the middle of the countryside, so don't expect any stores near. There is ample parking if you are driving a car.
The food was basic, but wholesome and there was plenty of it in the buffet setting.
This is a beautiful part of Cuba and I highly recommend that you take the time to visit the area. This is a good place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rocks_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews