We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, relaxing and comfortable place to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manna House Barn

The Lodge frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge frontage
The easy-access terrace The view down the front of the Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
12 reviews
The Lodge frontage
The easy-access terrace
The view down the front of the Lodge
The main terrace outside the kitchen/diner
Bedrooms have their own terrace too
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Nice big, bright and airy rooms
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
One of the bathrooms
One of the bathrooms
Walk-in wardrobes
The kitchen
The kitchen
The main dining/rest room
The main dining/rest room
The large BBQ area
The pool
The pool terrace
A beautiful place to visit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
L'Ampolla, Terres de l'Ebre, Province of Tarragona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kevin D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insufferably hot!”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When temperatures are high, the whole building is insufferably hot! There is no relief from the heat which gets soaked up all day long into the building and inside the building, especially the living room, becomes even hotter than being outside in the sun. Due to the solar panels, there is no air conditioning, no ceiling fans or portable fans. If you plug in your own fan to try take the edge off the heat because you cannot even sleep, the owner will challenge you about your electricity usage, and then try to present you with a bill for diesel to fill up his generator. Yes, that actually happened to us!

For the first 3 days we had no hot water and had to shower in cold water. We were offered no help, alternative or apology.

Whenever the solar panels were insufficient, the owner would turn on a generator and while this was running there would be problems getting water from the taps, the microwave would not work and neither would the ignition switch for the oven.

Being in Spain, and hot weather not being uncommon, the solar panels should be upgraded to allow at least some fans to be plugged in. Until then, this building is simply unfit for human habitation.

The whole stay was a highly unpleasant experience!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2017
Dear Kevin
Many thanks for your review. I confess that I expected a poor review from you due to the experience we had with you all. I have already responded to your father-in-law Francisco in his review entitled “Pobres instalaciones” and your wife Nuria’s review entitled “HELL ON EARTH!” and I will respond to yours as well.
a) On the first day of your holiday, I advised you to close all doors and window shutters to keep the sun out of your rooms. You chose to ignore this advice and your rooms became hot. The roof insulation is of NASA design and is very successful at keeping out heat and cold. Indeed, we have comments in reviews from previous guests who specifically mention this fact. You chose to buy fans without consulting me, even though you understood that it is not possible for a solar powered electricity system to feed high powered devices like fans. When I asked you if you had been using an electric kettle or similar, after I noticed the power in my batteries dropping more than 20% overnight, you told me that you had bought “a fan”. The next day I looked to see what sort of device this was and found that you had bought 4 fans of 45 watts each. My electricity system has a maximum capacity of 3 kilowatts (3000 watts). If just one of these fans is run throughout the night, for 8 hours for example, then this one device is consuming more than 10% of my battery capacity, so now I hope you finally understand why I was concerned about the power consumption. The reasons why we chose to offer “off-grid and environmentally friendly” holidays are because we believe that we should have as little impact on our environment as possible and to keep pollution to a minimum. Because of the drain on my batteries from your fans it was necessary for me to run the petrol generator every day for most of the day, using 10 litres of petrol per day. This cost around €12 per day just to recharge my batteries after your fans were draining them. That was why I felt it reasonable for you to compensate me in some way for the cost of your mistake and I thought a nominal amount of €20 would go some way to do so. I did not feel an apology was due simply because of the weather, something that was completely out of my control. You are married into a Spanish family and should understand that Spain gets hot. In fact, the temperatures have been much higher than during the time you were here and we have had no complaints at all.
b) I discovered the problem with the hot water on Monday morning, the day after your arrival and contacted the heating engineer who arranged to come at 0830 on Wednesday morning. That is 2 days later. You did tell me that this was not really a problem as you felt that it was impossible to have a hot shower in such hot weather.
c) You were not told from the outset that, when the generator is running, some electrical devices such as the cooker switch or the microwave do not work because it was not necessary to run the generator all day for the first couple of days until you brought those fans onto my premises. After that you were told, especially when you wanted to cook fish in salt. I really cannot imagine how you broke the cooker switch, you must have smashed it so hard that it broke. Unbelievable!
d) My solar power system has provided sufficient power for the last 6 years without a problem. To add more solar panels just because one family was uncomfortable would cost me several thousand euros, something that in my opinion is completely unnecessary.

Because of the broken cooker switch, the excessive use of my generator and the amount of broken glass I felt it necessary to claim on your damage deposit. That is what the damage deposit is for – to cover damage caused by my guests. As a gesture of goodwill, I dropped the claim of €20 for petrol and €10 for the glasses but I would not back down about the broken cooker switch because that cost me €80 to repair. Your father-in-law, Francisco, at least had the decency to pay this.

So, Kevin, I hope that the above has set your mind at rest but please move on so that we can all put this thoroughly unpleasant experience behind us all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquillity of the area.
Liked least: Some reclining or padded chairs would be a nice addition.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
We are both very happy to have met you all and to know that your holiday with us was as much a pleasure for you as it was for us. We wish you the best of luck with your plans for the future and if you are ever back this way again we wold be delighted to see you. It was great to hear of all the trips you made, especially the guided tour of Tarragona ! Best wishes, Simon and Amanda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bedfordshire
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the Finca
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2012
Great to see you back again this year. It was really lovely to meet more of your family this time and we are very happy that you had such a good time. For us, the guests make it all worth while and make this such a personal business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No tv in the lodges
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jun 2012
We are very happy to read your review and are even happier that you and your family had such a lovely holiday. Thanks again for staying with us, Simon and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these L'Ampolla hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing