We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, well-priced, good food and a fantasic experience!”
Review of Locanda d'Autore

Locanda d'Autore
Reserve with
Locanda d'Autore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 151 Restaurants in Saronno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Despite the location not being ideal, this is a fantastic restaurant, especially considering its pricing. It was well presented and elegant and we had a seamless experience: a free glass of prosecco and small appetizers as well as a fantastic wine selection to choose from. Not to mention the food which was clearly well-sourced, well-cooked and presented in an aesthetic manner. Although, sadly, the desserts were not quite up to the standard of the rest of the food. Overall though, by far the best restaurant in Saronno!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jonny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016

This restaurant is located a bit outside the center of Saronno.
The ambient is a bit strange for being a restaurant, and seem more suitable for a pub or a winebar.
The atmosphere is too meditative and sought for a dinner.
The menu is difficult to be read because of too much poetry in the names of the dishes (I appreciate poetry, but I suggest a list of the ingredients after the fanciful name)
The food is quite good but I think the owners or the chefs aim too high with difficult dishes or preparation while I appreciated very much the entrée of polenta and some simple dishes.
I think this place has potential but I guess they should grow in a more precise and simple way.

1  Thank lucoh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda d'Autor... C, Proprietario at Locanda d'Autore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Good morning, Thanks for your review but I think there is a mistake.
We have not in our menu a polenta (you can check also in our website), we are not a Wine Bar . So please verify your review.
Thanks and regards
Marco Chef
LOCANDA D'AUTORE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Where to start? Service, food or price?
Service: for a restaurant of this price range I do not expect to ask for replacement cutlery when it was taken away with a previous plate, I also do not expect to have to ask for something to clean my hands with after ordering one of their most expensive dishes, the seafood grill. I do expect a smile from the staff, the woman was particularly cold. Not once did anyone enquire how we were, refill our wine glass or make small conversation with us or any other table. I am writing in English but we conversed in Italian.
Food:18 euro per person for a warm seafood starter, minimum 2 people....why?. The caposante and shrimps were bland although the other 4 bitesize samples were ok but 18 euro?. Primi, the paccheri was cooked ok but the seafood in it was again bland and the spaghetti with seppia nero was far from exciting. Main we had only one secondi as my wife prefers to wait for dessert and that was the aforementioned grill. We gave up and took only a coffee instead of the planned dessert.
Price: 2 starters, 2 pastas, 1 main, 1 bottle of vermentino 19 euro, 2 coffees was 120 euro. Had we eaten also a dessert and had a second main course the bill would have been closer to 160 and for that much I would expect so much more.
we didn't try the meat but if you want good fish, at this price but with much better service there are better places in Misinto and cirimido
Yes there was a free glass of spumante but it was poured so quickly it filled less than half a glass once the bubbles subsided and a lemoncello.

4  Thank exiledblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda d'Autor... C, Proprietario at Locanda d'Autore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Good morning,Your problem was only the final price.Indeed you asked us to apply a special discount.All your dishes came back empty,it means you enjoyed our food.Have you probably a problem with "Locanda D?Autore??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

We were on a business trip and we were looking for a cozy place to have a private dinner.
We requested the concierge for a fine dining restaurant and we have been recommended Locanda d' Autore.
The restaurant was very easy to find and outside the restaurant there were plenty of parking lots.
We have been welcomed at the door by Mrs. Mary, the wife of the owner, who immediately escorted us at the wardrobe and assisted us with our coats.
We have been personally escorted at our reserved a table and I have been offered a the little chair for my handbag.
The table was very well decorated and all the cutlery, glasses an chinaware were according to fine dining standards.
The dining room is average size with a very cozy atmosphere and it is very elegant, perfect for a private dinner as well as for formal business dinner.
We have been welcome with a properly chilled glass of bubbly Italian Prosecco and canapés from the house.
While presenting us the menu, we have been informed that every day the chef goes to the fish market and he gets the best fish of the day and therefore besides the dishes in the menu there were extra dishes available.
The menu offers a good choice of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes are available too.
We are in to fish and therefore we decided to chose the mix hot appetizer for two and the oven baked sea bass with potatoes, capers, tomatoes and olives.
The appetizer was served on shells and the presentation was really nice.
The main course was very light and dedicate but at the same time the flavor was nothing less than exquisite.
We complimented every dish with a different glass of wine recommended by the stuff.
While having the main course, the chef Mr. Marco, came at the table to make sure we were enjoying the dinner and while talking to him we surprisingly discovered that he's also the owner of the restaurant.
He gave us a detailed explanation of the desserts available that night adding also the precious information that all the desserts are strictly home made.
It was very difficult for us to choose the perfect one to conclude our dinner however we finally selected the panna cotta and the tiramisu which were extremely fresh and delicious.
We also tried the typical Italian digestive named Grappa which is very strong but nice.
All the stuff is very polite and attentive.
There was a lady celebrating her birthday that night and the stuff surprise her singing happy birthday all together while serving the desert decorated with candles. That was really a nice personal touch !
The price/quality is totally worth it.
We will definitely go back on our next trip to Saronno.

1  Thank Fragolozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda d'Autor... C, Proprietario at Locanda d'Autore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Good morning,
Thank you very much for your comment and for beautiful words for our restaurant.
We are happy when our Customers are satisfy
We waiting for when you'll be back in Italy
Kind regards
Marco
Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Greeted by the chef at the door, guided though the menus to your taste and mood, and then everything is cooked, delivered, and presented in an excellent but relaxed manner... If this appeals then treat yourself to a meal here; an excellent evening all round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda d'Autore also viewed

Saronno, Province of Varese
Saronno, Province of Varese
 
Saronno, Province of Varese
Saronno, Province of Varese
 
Origgio, Province of Varese
Ceriano Laghetto, Province of Monza and Brianza
 

Been to Locanda d'Autore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing