We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dr”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Pumphouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Downham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious”
Reviewed 16 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

If you’re looking for an escape to the country, there’s little need to go further than the spacious Pumphouse; my friends and I had a great time together. The design is quite something and you really get away from it all once you’ve made it down the 'rough & bumpy' path.

Have to leave 3 stars for a couple of reasons... I wasn’t prepared for the additional guests - sharing a property with a lot of flies wasn’t pleasant, whilst the unnecessary communication from the owner/manager has left a somewhat sour taste.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, bad communication”
Reviewed 15 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Had an amazing weekend at The PumpHouse. It's a truly beautiful house in a stunning location. And a few weeks ago i would have recommended to everyone I know. Unfortunately, strange communication with the owner during and since the stay put a cloud over what was otherwise a wonderful weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nearbyowl
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed 10 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Utterly incredible place with stunning landscapes all around. The Pumphouse was clean, comfortable and fully stocked with everything we needed to settle in immediately. It’s beautifully designed making use of its stunning original features and has loads of natural light and windows with great views all around. The spa was a huge highlight and absolutely made our stay- We have never felt more relaxed and well rested! Great walks around the area and free use of the canoes to explore the river running past the garden- great touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T
1 review
“Beautifully done!”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I had the pleasure of staying here in June. Where to start! The house is clean, spacious and very tastefully designed, with enough room to host a large group but still intimate enough to suit couples or families (we were two). The location is unbeatable. Norfolk wetlands stretch out in all directions from the house, teeming with interesting wildlife and rambling paths. The nearby town (Hilgay) is very quaint and contains both a pub and an impressive butcher. There is plenty to explore further afield - though unfortunately we lacked time.

I'd certainly love to visit again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryoung11
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Space...”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Thank you for creating such a well designed, comfy and stylish home!

It’s spacious with lovely rooms, well equipped for staying in or a bbq. The surroundings are a delight, and had the weather been kinder (or our stay in the summer) it would of been even more perfect!

Had a little hiccup arriving as being a city dweller, l consider a track to be a few hundred years not half a mile of unmade road!! Be warned your sat nav will stop in the middle of nowhere - a small sign post, or two, would of really helped especially for those heading there late at night.

Wildlife comes close too so make sure you take binoculars.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short get away and will most definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing