We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
38
128
96
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
128
96
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake toya spacious room japanese food upon checkout dinner buffet western room sashimi per night great onsen fireworks display souvenir shop outdoor onsen top floor spread sapporo hokkaido lakeview
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Checked into a room in east building and it’s the worst! It’s very run down with torn wallpaper. Room has a strong cigarette/moldy kinda smell. However, the onsen on 8F in West building is a totally different world. Outdoor onsen is overlooking the lake! It also has an outdoor foot bath at the rooftop.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Swee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
洞爺湖万世閣ホテルレイクサイドテラス, お客様担当マネージャー at Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018
Google Translation

ご宿泊ありがとうございました。お部屋の不具合など誠に申し訳ございません。今後、確りと点検を致します。またのご宿泊をお待ち致しております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The car park for the hotel is located next to the hotel and are divided into three regions. The bell captain suggested us to use car park B or C because it's easier to park. After parking the car then I realize car park A is not on a level ground but is a slope. A public foot onsen is close to the entrance of the hotel near the main street. The normal check in time is after 3 pm but we were given our rooms at around two. Parking is free. Our rooms are facing the lake so one can really sit inside the room to see the fireworks in the evening. Hotel onsens are located on the top floor of one of the building and on the lower ground floor of the main building. One is for male and the other for female and their accessibility swaps at 3 am. The dining area is huge with many varieties. One can pay additional for 'all you can drink'. Although there were five selection of draught beers available the all you can drink can only has a designated one. A tag was given to the guest to show that one has selected this additional provision. There was a sign saying that those drinks are not free but I saw many people taking their shares with no tag and the bartender did not stop them. The buffer dinner and breakfast were good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are better.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
洞爺湖万世閣ホテルレイクサイドテラス, お客様担当マネージャー at Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018
Google Translation

ご宿泊ありがとうございました。またのお越しをお待ち致しております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We were greeted by this English speaking man upoon reaching the drive to us. Check in was smooth and staff was friendly. Everything was well until we make our way to the room assigned to us.
As we were entering the East wing, trying to locate the elevator, I really feel I've entered another era... almost like I am walking back to the 60s. That is not all. Our room is located near the onsen but nothing to be excited about because it is very run down! The room itself is an antique. Very musky, and stains are everywhere.. lights are not working too! I must say this is the worst room that I've ever checked into! I paid ¥26,000 to spend a night at this hotel. The room assigned to us really does not justify that amount paid. My hubby called the hotel lobby and informed about the condition of the room. He also highlighted that we requested for a room in the new wing at the point of booking. The lady, whom I did not managed to get her name, help by re-assigning a new room located in the center wing for us. Really appreciate her help as we were there to celebrate our anniversary. The new room is alot better! I've included the picture for reference.
Old room: Picture 1 - 5
Newly assigned room: 6 - 7

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cutetickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
洞爺湖万世閣ホテルレイクサイドテラス, お客様担当マネージャー at Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear cutetickles

Thank you for using it as an anniversary.
I am sorry that the room was dirty.
Also, I'm happy to come if there are things to come to Toyako.
I wish you the best of luck for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel at the lake. It makes good photo opportunity and great to walk along the lake path. Gets chilly from the wind, do bring a jacket or scarf along.

Buffet dinner had some seasonal surprise and Amaebi and ika sashimi is good. The selection is decent and mostly Asian staying guests on site.

Breakfast buffet is Hotate miso soup and a decent selection of Japanese food.

Hotel had public Onsen.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank BubblesEito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
洞爺湖万世閣ホテルレイクサイドテラス, お客様担当マネージャー at Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

thank you for your comment.
The buffet style dinner changes in four seasons.
The breakfast is not only Japanese, but also Western.
Please come to eat by all means, it is delicious.
The bath on the 8th floor of West Building is for women at night, it changes to men in the morning.
Fireworks are on until October.
I am waiting for the use of another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is so grand and neat. The staffs are friendly. One can get a nice view of the lake even in restaurant. The shops here are quite expensive and I wouldn't recommend it. Buy souvenirs elsewhere but not here. The food options are too limited for vegetarians and vegans. There's a small mart like 7-11 nearby. Other than food the place is great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ivy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
洞爺湖万世閣ホテルレイクサイドテラス, お客様担当マネージャー at Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Ivy P
Thanks.
We do not have exclusive use for vegetarian, we have many buffet salads, so please use next time.
I will be waiting for you to use again the next time I come to Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews