We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
17
55
37
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
55
37
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatami dinner fireworks lake view
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

My family and I had a relaxing stay here recently and I recommend this hotel as a great mid-range option. The onsen facilities were clean and the wash products were great, our room had a lake-facing view (partial obstructed by other buildings) but the room was clean and spacious, breakfast was also good. The lake, bars, and restaurants were super close

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank riceball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stayed here with our almost 2-yr old son for a wedding in the area.

We had a room on the 5th fl facing the lake-side - you can't fully see the lake due to other hotels blocking the view, but you got plenty of light and breeze from the lake which was nice.

Location-wise, its very close to the center of town - within walking distance to restaurants/ cafes/ convenience stores + lake.

Overall, it seemed like a middle-of-the-road onsen ryokan, but rooms / facilities were clean & good service... I would recommend staying here if you plan to head to Toyako!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank futon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Guest needs to be aware that this is a very traditional Japanese style hotel, and the room also traditional style, no bed, just (fold-able) mattress on tatami. Mostly sat on the floor. We stayed in a family room the size is just like an average size double room, so with four mattresses spread out there was little room left.The staff.
This is an onsen hotel but the onsen quality is average. It provides very comfortable resting lounge... internet only in the lounge. Only some of the staff speak limited Englsih (manageble). The breakfast is inclusve in the room rate but mostly Japanese style. Free marking on site, but need to pay onsen tax 600 yen for the one night use. One downside of the room is when you flush the toilet it generated thunderous noise that will wake up everybody in the room! Location is ok as it is easily accessible and there is a small convenient shop. A number of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and unfortunately it was not a good experience compared to the other places we stayed during our trip to Hokkaido.
Due to a booking mix up we did not get rooms with lakeside views. Those that we did get were in need of renovation due to very worn tatami mats, worn and grubby curtains and shoji screens that had many holes in them. The rooms also smelled strongly of cigarette smoke even though we had specifically booked non-smoking rooms.
The dining room had great views over Lake Toya but the food was just average and the tables had old plastic table cloths on them. The overall impression that we took away was that this had once been a very nice hotel but it was now badly in need of an upgrade and renovation if it is ever to return to its past glory.

Room Tip: Try to get a genuine non-smoking room with lake views.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26waynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have never been to a ryokan before so can't compare it to others, but we had a brilliant stay that was a highlight of our trip. It was great value half-board, the room was extremely spacious compared to everywhere else we stayed in Japan, the staff were very friendly, courteous and professional and the onsen was lovely. The food was presented beautifully (we had dinner and breakfast in our room both days) - mostly it was fantastic (in particular the nabe and noodle soup), however the sashimi was a little disappointing. The drinks seemed relatively expensive, however there was a fridge in the room which we stocked with beers from the 7/11 a couple of minutes down the road. We had a partial lake view - we watched the fireworks from our room on the first night but found that the view was better watching from the waterfront. The beds are traditional futons with hard beany pillows which we found a little uncomfortable, but we slept fine by doubling the futon thickness with a spare from the cupboard, and using chair cushions instead of the pillow! Overall we had a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank han2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews