We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Save
Fiordland Heli-hike
8

Book in advance
from
$384.22
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Southern Lakes Helicopters
from $384.22
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
274
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound helicopter ride scenic flight te anau new zealand office staff mountain magic worth every dollar kepler track awesome pilot an experience we will never forget glacier landing dusky sound an unforgettable experience amazing flight different perspective perfect weather
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

It’s not a cheap activity but we’ll worth it.

The original plan was an afternoon flight to the glaciers but unfortunately we had to cancel due to the weather, so we settled on a sunset flight on a different day.

The plan was to fly to The Remarkables but we settled on Cecil Peak & the photos tell the story.

Bloody cold on top but an experience we will never forget.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank Phil-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022

An amazing experience pilot was fun and knowledgeable we saw deer and shammy, recommend everyone experience this scenic flight.

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Office S, Office Administrator at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. It sounds like you go quite the experience seeing these fantastic wild animals it makes the experience that much more special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

From the front desk to the pilot the experience was 1st class.Easy to book & know all about their area.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank Rested72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Office S, Office Administrator at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Thank you for your review. We are so glad we could provide you with an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you back for another flight one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2022

A fantastic adventure to enjoy part of the Kepler Track from Luxmore Hut, up to Mr Luxmore & down to the beach Lake Te Anau. Its a day of Helicopters, hikes, and boats.
Great communication prior to the trip on how to prepare, we had to be nimble on the day of the Heli-hike due to some fog over the lake but easily fixed by the the Southern Lakes Heli's Team - they drove us to a nearby base for departure rather than lakeside.
An awesome journey above the fog to My Maury - quick stop to check out the sensational views & some pics & then we headed to Luxmore hut.
From the hut you hike to Mt Luxmore - about 2.5 hrs return, a short 20-30 min pit stop (lucky to encounter a cheeky Kea) back at the hut then a 2.5 hrs hike back through beautiful beech forest to the lake & a waiting water taxi.
There is more to Te Anau then Milford Sound - don't get me wrong - Milford is pretty stunning, (my favourite sound is Doubtful) but this adventure gets you into quieter, more untouched parts of the country that is simply unique to other areas of NZ.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Thank you for your review, fantastic to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our Heli Hike experience it is such a great day out! We couldn't agree more so much to explore in Fiordland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

Even though my husband is terrified of heights he thought this flight was amazing! We covered so much territory and was a great way to see Dusky and Doubtful Sound while in Fiordland. All three stops offered something different and our Pilot Richard was great at allowing all passengers time to explore and take it all in before loading us back up to head to the next stop! Campbells Kingdom was incredible to fly into and we loved our final stop on Mt Kidd. Richard showed a high level of professionalism and shared his love of the area with us! Would highly recommend any flight with Southern Lakes Helicopters! The scenery of Fiordland is unbelievable so great to be able to see it from the air! Also very easy to get to for departure right on the waterfront of Lake Te Anau

Date of experience: March 2022
Thank BambamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you had such a great experience. We love showing Fiordland scenery to our clients, it certainly is a spectacular part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews