We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Most amazing experience in my Life!!!!

Most amazing experience in my Life!!! From the moment we arrived we got the best service... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2021
Global02730775976
,
Havelock North, New Zealand
via mobile
Wow - stunning way to see the snowy heights

Great communication during a morning with low cloud which risked our heli-hike, luckily we got... read more

Reviewed 16 July 2021
KarenS9011
Read all 239 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fiordland National Park
from US$330.78
More Info
from US$179.57
More Info
from US$71.11
More Info
from US$279.41
More Info
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
233
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxmore hut great pilot scenic flight doubtful sound helicopter ride te anau new zealand mountain magic amazing experience great flight dusky sound these guys hour flight great moment glacier landing highlight of our trip once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Most amazing experience in my Life!!!

From the moment we arrived we got the best service.

Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Our Pilot Jeremy was absolutely brilliant and so quick to learn all 5 passengers names making it a very personable experience.

The sights over Queenstown and heading to Milford were absolutely stunning.

The Milford Cruise was stunning.

This was just the beginning of things as the WOW factor hadn't even begun.

Landing on top of the glacier was the WOW WOW WOW moment.

Photos do not do this justice as it was such an amazing experience.

I had comments of how expensive the experience is BUT there is no price you could out kn how cool it was.

I'd do it again in a heart beat and not blink about the price.

Thanks to Jeremy and the team at Shouthern Lakes helicopters.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Global02730775976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Great communication during a morning with low cloud which risked our heli-hike, luckily we got airborne just before midday and it was incredible. Friendly and experienced pilot pointed out various sights on the way, before landing on one peak for a fabulous photo-op and swap who was sitting at the front. We landed at the Luxmore Hut with no-one else around and after a quick look at the cave there, with icicles all over the entrance then we headed down to the lake. Beautiful walk arriving at our beach for our water-taxi...which was a jet boat giving us a few spins on the way back!
Amazing trip, a great combo. Thanks team for making it such stunning day. The images from the helicopter flight are still whizzing through our heads!

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank KarenS9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen W, Public Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thank you for your review Karin, fantastic to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our Heli Hike experience it is such a great day out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

As a wheelchair user Southern Lakes helicopters were amazing. Right from arranging the flight to lifting me into the helicopter they were great. It was not a problem. Whereas other companies i had phoned wouldnt even consider letting me fly. The flight itself to Dusky & Doubtful sounds was spectacular. We had 2 landings which were awesome. Even saw a pod of Dolphins. Matt our pilot was great, Very informative. Would highly recomend Southern Lakes Helicopters

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank SHCS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you had a amazing flight sounds like Fiordland really put on a show for you seeing a pod of dolphins is not something we see everyday spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

There was no favourite part of the trip, the whole Doubtful and Dusky Sound flight was amazing. Davey was a brilliant pilot explaining where we were and where we were going.
We opted for the picnic hamper and were pleasantly surprised when Davey opened a bottle of bubbles to go with lunch.

The 2 stops were very different, one a top a mountain looking over Doubtful Sound out to sea and the other on a river bed.

Both Helen and i highly recommend this trip with Southern Lakes, outstanding.

Paul and Helen Cheetham

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 1952paulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Thank you Paul and Helen for your review! Fantastic to hear you had such a great experience. We love showing Fiordland scenery to our clients, Dusky and Doubtful Sound certainly is a spectacular part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

We did the Doubt sound flight and it was the most amazing experience I have ever done!!!! Iv done some cool stuff but that has got to be top of the list!!! Craig was an amazing pilot who was super chill and easy to chat with and made it just that little bit better (Go on a good day)

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank halfmoonbayschoolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your flight. Doubtful Sound is a spectacular area and to be able to view it from the air is fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews