We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Save
Fiordland Heli-hike
8

Book in advance
from
$384.22
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Southern Lakes Helicopters
from $384.22
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
274
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound helicopter ride scenic flight te anau new zealand office staff mountain magic worth every dollar kepler track awesome pilot an experience we will never forget glacier landing dusky sound an unforgettable experience amazing flight different perspective perfect weather
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

As a wheelchair user Southern Lakes helicopters were amazing. Right from arranging the flight to lifting me into the helicopter they were great. It was not a problem. Whereas other companies i had phoned wouldnt even consider letting me fly. The flight itself to Dusky & Doubtful sounds was spectacular. We had 2 landings which were awesome. Even saw a pod of Dolphins. Matt our pilot was great, Very informative. Would highly recomend Southern Lakes Helicopters

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank SHCS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you had a amazing flight sounds like Fiordland really put on a show for you seeing a pod of dolphins is not something we see everyday spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

There was no favourite part of the trip, the whole Doubtful and Dusky Sound flight was amazing. Davey was a brilliant pilot explaining where we were and where we were going.
We opted for the picnic hamper and were pleasantly surprised when Davey opened a bottle of bubbles to go with lunch.

The 2 stops were very different, one a top a mountain looking over Doubtful Sound out to sea and the other on a river bed.

Both Helen and i highly recommend this trip with Southern Lakes, outstanding.

Paul and Helen Cheetham

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 1952paulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Thank you Paul and Helen for your review! Fantastic to hear you had such a great experience. We love showing Fiordland scenery to our clients, Dusky and Doubtful Sound certainly is a spectacular part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

We did the Doubt sound flight and it was the most amazing experience I have ever done!!!! Iv done some cool stuff but that has got to be top of the list!!! Craig was an amazing pilot who was super chill and easy to chat with and made it just that little bit better 😍😍 (Go on a good day)

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank halfmoonbayschoolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your flight. Doubtful Sound is a spectacular area and to be able to view it from the air is fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

This was a spur of the moment decision and we are so glad we did this scenic flight around the hilltops of Te Anau. Words cannot express how awesome this experience was. We are still buzzing about it 2 days later! If the score is out of 10 then we would rate this a 12! But TripAdvisor only allows us to give a 5 max. Thank you so much Matt our trusty pilot and the lovely ladies in the office. Shirley and Steve from Rotorua.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank C886NJsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

It was lovely meeting you both and thank you for the opportunity to showcase Fiordland, we appreciate you taking the time leaving us review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

What a stunning ride. Just my wife and me plus the pilot. We took the trip over Doubtful & Dusky Sounds. Clear sky over Doubtful and some moody clouds over Dusky so we got the best of both worlds. Our pilot, Matt, was very knowledgeable and a delight to fly with. We were still buzzing the next day. Totally recommend this trip.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank C7614OJdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Thank you for your recommendation and leaving us a review! Fantastic to hear you had a stunning flight sounds like Fiordland really put on a show for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews