We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
WOW WOW WOW

Absolutely best experience we've ever had. Having seen Machu Pichu, The Statue of Christ etc this... read more

Reviewed yesterday
philw828
,
Havelock North, New Zealand
via mobile
Most amazing experience in my Life!!!!

Most amazing experience in my Life!!! From the moment we arrived we got the best service... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Global02730775976
,
Havelock North, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 239 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fiordland National Park
from US$328.42
More Info
from US$160.46
More Info
from US$70.60
More Info
from US$277.42
More Info
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
233
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxmore hut great pilot scenic flight doubtful sound helicopter ride te anau new zealand mountain magic amazing experience great flight dusky sound these guys hour flight great moment glacier landing highlight of our trip once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2021

There was no favourite part of the trip, the whole Doubtful and Dusky Sound flight was amazing. Davey was a brilliant pilot explaining where we were and where we were going.
We opted for the picnic hamper and were pleasantly surprised when Davey opened a bottle of bubbles to go with lunch.

The 2 stops were very different, one a top a mountain looking over Doubtful Sound out to sea and the other on a river bed.

Both Helen and i highly recommend this trip with Southern Lakes, outstanding.

Paul and Helen Cheetham

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 1952paulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Thank you Paul and Helen for your review! Fantastic to hear you had such a great experience. We love showing Fiordland scenery to our clients, Dusky and Doubtful Sound certainly is a spectacular part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

We did the Doubt sound flight and it was the most amazing experience I have ever done!!!! Iv done some cool stuff but that has got to be top of the list!!! Craig was an amazing pilot who was super chill and easy to chat with and made it just that little bit better (Go on a good day)

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank halfmoonbayschoolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your flight. Doubtful Sound is a spectacular area and to be able to view it from the air is fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

This was a spur of the moment decision and we are so glad we did this scenic flight around the hilltops of Te Anau. Words cannot express how awesome this experience was. We are still buzzing about it 2 days later! If the score is out of 10 then we would rate this a 12! But TripAdvisor only allows us to give a 5 max. Thank you so much Matt our trusty pilot and the lovely ladies in the office. Shirley and Steve from Rotorua.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank C886NJsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

It was lovely meeting you both and thank you for the opportunity to showcase Fiordland, we appreciate you taking the time leaving us review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

What a stunning ride. Just my wife and me plus the pilot. We took the trip over Doubtful & Dusky Sounds. Clear sky over Doubtful and some moody clouds over Dusky so we got the best of both worlds. Our pilot, Matt, was very knowledgeable and a delight to fly with. We were still buzzing the next day. Totally recommend this trip.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank C7614OJdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Thank you for your recommendation and leaving us a review! Fantastic to hear you had a stunning flight sounds like Fiordland really put on a show for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

Yesterday I went on a flight with southern lakes helicopters around fiordland national park, and what a experience it is! Truely amazing. With a great pilot named Matt, he gave us all amazing commentary with a few stops along the way to get out and stretch the legs. I would definitely recommend flying with sourthen lakes helicopters. Cheers guys I’ll be back for sure.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Brodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen W, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Thank you for your review Brodie! We look forward having you back in the future so many incredible locations to explore in Fiordland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews