We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$127
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tropicalsunset
New South Wales, Australia
Our stay at Crusoes
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2019
I’ve stayed on a lot of islands and many big resorts. This time, as we were going without kids, we decided to try something new. Yes Crusoes is isolated. That is what we wanted, and just like anything, if you look you will find what you are looking for, with a sunny disposition and a little respect. There are actually a couple of little ‘corner stores’ located in the village next door, there is another resort along the beach to vary your restaurant tastes. The prices although seemingly expensive are in line with other restaurants on the island. Yes, some of the buildings/fittings are dated, but there are No Crowds👌 We stayed in a charming little Bure, it had a/c, a fan, a fridge, kettle, en-suite and a second outdoor private pebbled shower. The whole place has a rustic, provincial feel about it. It would be nice to see a few updates, and would be only fair for the staff to be paid more appropriately. The staff were very good to us. When we arrived we weren’t given the room we had expected, we spoke respectfully to them, and they changed it to the exact Bure we asked for. We had our sheets and towels changed daily and without fuss. The staff went out of their way daily to accommodate us, even when we were late for breakfast most days, one gorgeous lady would take care of us like a mother hen. Yes the breakfast is only continental; cereals, tea/coffee, toast and fruit. But you aren’t paying the big resort prices to stay there either. We ordered omelettes a few times for a change, we also hired a car for a few days, and went sightseeing and ate ‘out’ at our leisure. There is also a bus on the main highway that runs past every 15-20 minutes both directions. The staff can give you lift to the main road for a small fee.
The reef in front of the resort is full of life, not deep at any point. Very easy snorkeling. We used the resort pool once which was kept much cooler than the sea, but we preferred sprawling on the sand with a drink in hand. While we were there they had a bonfire for guests, meke (traditional dance), lovo, buffets, and many other activities. We came and went as we pleased, and there was never any pressure. We will happily return to our Bure no 1 again sometime soon 💑🏝
Bula vinaka 👏
Date of stay: August 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$274
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $245
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
$249
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $224
  • Vio.com
10.6 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$486
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.3 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Marriott Hotels
$947
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $942
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
69.7 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
InterContinental
$589
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $569
  • Tripadvisor
    $571
  • Priceline
56.1 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$466
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
45.0 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$316
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
25.1 km from Crusoe's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Coral Coast
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
177
161
71
35
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
177
161
71
35
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local village kava ceremony meal plan dirt road high tide day bed curry night village tour pacific harbour organised activities scuba diving min drive rental car relaxing holiday viti levu villagers bure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2019

We thought we had booked a Bure as per the pictures on the website. No, you had to be a mountain goat to get to your room. The Bure was dirty with only a saggy bed in it. There were 3 pillows, one towel and no kettle or water jug. They had over booked the resort and cancelled our reservation so the put us in one of the stripped Bures. When we complained they said it was because they had to accommodate a bus load of tourists which had arrived on their doorstep. Most of the Bures are up on the hill and they choose who they give the beachside ones to. We asked to change and they said no but that we were due for a change 2 days before we left. We spoke to 2 couples who had the same complaints as we had. Apparently one couple had been change to different Bures twice, none of them on the lower level. We left after 2 days. Worst experience ever. 2 star at best.

Room tip: Don’t unless you want to get fit
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alison f, Director of Sales at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hello Andrea,

We are sorry you have felt compelled to write this review on Trip Advisor.
Our cheapest rooms available are the Seaview Bures which is what you booked. There are only 6 of these rooms.


on our website, this is what we have written about them:-

Perfect for single travellers or couples on a budget, our six SeaView Bures are perched on a hillside overlooking fruit trees, beautiful gardens and some of the world’s best ocean views.

In order to get the best views, yes you do have to climb a few steps.


We will look at changing the copy on our website to make sure people understand that they might have to climb a few steps in order to get to their rooms for the Seaview Bures.


It is certainly very hurtful for management and staff to hear that this was your worst experience ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Crusoe’s for 5 nights (my husband, our 4 year old son and I - yes its now an adults only resort, but we booked before they made it adults only, so they let us stay whereas another family with two teenagers was almost moved to a different hotel until they complained and said that they are not leaving!) The Fijians (yes only the Fijians) who work there are SUPER friendly and are trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The Indian managers are treating all the workers there as slaves! Horrible! All bures and the pool are very old and very shabby! The food is WAY too expensive! The free breakfast only includes toast and raisin bread, jam, two kinds or cereal, fruits, tea and instant coffee. If you want eggs its $20! A small actually tiny portion of kokoda for lunch is $20! Dinner is at least $38 (just for the meal, drinks are extra). But since the hotel is very far up from everything else you have to pay these prices or starve!
The two stars are only for the amazing Fijian staff and the amazing few!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AlviraRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alison f, Director of Sales at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Bula AlviraRa,


We are sorry to hear that the resort did not meet with your expectations. We are a budget 3 star resort and our prices reflect this.

Firstly, can we say that we value our Fijian staff and yes we agree they are fantastic.
To say they are treated as slaves is just wrong and I fear you only got one side of the story.
They are paid fairly and in accordance with Fijian laws, otherwise we would not be able to operate as a business in Fiji.

Our meal plan is just FJ$89 per day. this equates to just AU$60 and includes a full cooked breakfast with barista coffee, lunch and two course dinner. We do not feel this is excessive and indeed is very much cheaper than most other resorts on the Coral Coast and Fiji.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Nestled away from the touristy spots closer to Suva and Nadi, Crusoes is a great spot! Taki's bar on the sea front was lovely for a early evening drink watching the sunset, while there was a range of food choices too at the restaurant. Staff were beyond nice and were happy to take time to chat and get to know you and share stories of village life in Fiji! Wasn't for me but saw some holidays makers head off into Suva and staff happy to organise this for them.

No beach so don't come expecting that, but kayaks and snorkels to go explore the massive sea infront!

Small resort with a personal feel, so don't come expecting to be on the go all the time, defiantly a place to chill and lay in the sun

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DoubleJ511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alison f, Director of Sales at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

bula and thanks so much for your 5 star review.

We are a little perplexed as to why you said there is no beach as we clearly have a good size sandy beach at the resort and nearby a very stunning beach.

We agree with your sentiments that it is a small boutique resort with a friendly Fijian feel, no frills just chills!!

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

We decided to go to this resort due to location. It is very far from the city life/other resorts. They dont care ifypu are on honeymoon or not. Youll be treated like any other guest (even thought i called up few days prior to ask to pay and upgrade room. They said they would do something special for us). Room was generally clean considering where we are located. Expect ants,mosquitoes, spiders etc. Towels were changed every 2nd day. I went to reception to ask for towels at 4-5pm and the lady said its in the dryer. As i was walking away another guest said they got the same answer at 10am. The pillows were a damp smelling. I didnt bother asking for new ones just threw a towel on top to sleep.

Dinner is disappointing here. So overpriced with limited options. I believe i had been offered curry buffet option 3 nights out of the 4 there. The thing is, to travel and find food its about 10-30mins away from any other shops/businesses. So your left with no choice. One of the nights was a lovo buffet but its a small change from usual curry buffet.

Drinks arent that much cheaper during happy hour. One of the bar staff didnt even know they changed their special on the cocktail board. When we asked for it he told us to order something else (from ther selection of 6 cocktails which 1-3 they cant make most of time due to lack of ingredients). We insisted he make the new cocktail so it took him about 5 mins to readthe board and understand qhat ingredients he needed.

Could go on and on about negative but i wont.. its 7am and im tired now. they were selective on who they were nice to.

The beach and view was amazing. Even high tide you can jusy go for a nice swim. I realise the things i enjoyed, the staff had no influence over.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank shooboox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison F, Director of Sales at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Bula,
We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.

It is always good to get feedback even if negative so that we can see where we need to improve.

We will be discussing these issues with the staff to ensure other guests do not feel the same way.

vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

This place was advertised as adult only. There were kids there and several large groups of teenagers. The rooms are old and run down. No money is spent on maintenance. The food is extremely expensive as are the drinks, $15 for a vodka $6 for water which is $1 in the supermarket. Prices are extortionate. $50 for indian buffet, $12 for 2 eggs at breakfast , see menus in photos as they are not listed on the website. The manager, Gupta, promised us an upgrade then changed her mind and then avoided us. We didn’t expect 5 star but this place is a joke, infested by ants the room didn’t look like it had been cleaned after a couple of hours due to the ants. Unless you are happy with boisterous teens yelling and screaming until late at night and kids, I would avoid this place. There were a few lovely staff who made the trip a little more bearable but it was living hell! No hot water one day. Patchy internet only in the lobby that you have to get vouchers for. No safe in the room which is advertised but the lovely maintenance man got one from another room and when we asked he said there were only a few in the whole retreat! along with the sign saying they take no responsibility for anything over $120 lost or stolen. We felt very sorry for the local staff who were form the next village, working 12 hour days for a pittance and put down and spoken to rudely by the manager. Such a horrible experience. Beyond belief.

Room tip: If you go at all only bure 1 or 2 on the beach would be worth booking although i didn’t see inside these
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alison f, Director of Sales at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hello Julia,

Firstly, we apologise if there were teenagers making a noise, this will not happen again. The resort is now adults only and we are not accepting anyone under the age of 18.

Our meal plan is just FJ$89 per day. This for a cooked breakfast, lunch and two course dinner is very reasonable especially when compared to other resorts in Fiji.

Ours is a 3 star resort, rustic, friendly with spectacular views for an extremely good price.
Wi-fi is now FREE of charge.

Our staff are very valued and certainly not required to work 12 hour days. We have taken this up with management and this is monitored very carefully.

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews