We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Secluded in the natural environment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded in the natural environment
Terrace/ Verrandah with furniture to relax & dine alfresco Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Secluded in the natural environment
Terrace/ Verrandah with furniture to relax & dine alfresco
Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
cast iron wood burner with logs as well as central heating
Genuine solid wood log cabins
master bedroom luxuriously furnished
second bedroom practical for families
dining area with skylight for tree gazing
Fully equipped modern kitchen
cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Our woodland bluebells
Woodland play area with trampoline & table tennis table
Aerial view pool surrounds in natural sun spot. Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool - end May - Sept
Horse riding almost from the door
Spring time early morning sunshine
May with rhododendron flowering
board walk to the cabin
semi ancient woodland for exploring
Optional Extra Private hot Tub- please ask for availability & price
Optional Extra Private hot Tub- please ask for availability & price
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderful place to stay for kids and adults alike. Plenty to do with a trampoline, climbing frames, swimming pool and space to have fun. Grown up time a plenty and close enough to go to to Lyme Regis and other beauty spot. Was like home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen1236...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“break away”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

the log cabin was great.it was set in such a relaxing and peaceful setting.only the birds and squirrels to keep you company.the cabin had everything you wanted in it.the only thing for me was the bed.it wasn't very comfy .wefound a farm shop near by with the most wonderful food in it ,meat,cheese,bread,cakes,scones and pasties.if you go to chard go to barleymows farm shop.the food is great,and only 3 miles away from the log cabin.would we go back a BIG YES.thank you for a lovely relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so peaceful
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabelle...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Log Cabins in the the Woods”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here last minute at the end of term. The cabins are set in the woods adjacent to the camp site. Easy drive down to the coast from here - went to Lyme Regis every day. Pool use is limited due to size and sharing with the campsite also, we only got to use it on the first day which was quiet. Great little shop fully of pocket money toys. A real bonus was that we could take our dog as well. Cabins very clean and spacious. Kitchen well fitted out and lovely big bathroom with plenty of towels plus beds all made up on arrival. We will be back am sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to holiday.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was the second time we have holidayed at Alpine Grove. We stayed in Woodpecker again and were pleased to find it just as we remembered. The furniture is of good quality and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you could need, a large fridge/freezer and a dishwasher as well as all the crockery, cutlery and utensils you could possibly want. The bedrooms have plenty of storage space and the master bedroom has a very comfy bed. The bathroom is large with a shaped bath and shower over. Richard and Helen are welcoming hosts and the cream tea is a lovely gesture. I would recommend Alpine Grove to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin was exactly as shown in the adverts.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jghaig
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great little place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 might stay at a log cabin at Alpine Grove in Forton nr Chard, Somerset, myself my Husband, 7 year old Daughter and dog.
What a great little site it is, nestled in woodland, in a good location in Somerset but also close to Dorset and Devon. The Tawny Owl cabin we stayed in lovely, with everything we needed. TV & DVD's which we barely used as my Daughter was out playing with the other children at the on-site playground from dawn 'til dusk.
It was just the right size and, even at full capacity, I don't imagine it'll be too crowded.
In short, we would definitely go back ad I am looking at their site to possibly book for the Summer. Maybe we'll camp next time? But then, hte cabin was sooo nice....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing