We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
getaroom.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
1,270
287
144
76
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,270
287
144
76
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south seas infinity pool butler service la parisienne sky bar bowling alley rolls royce jerk shack butler team dinner reservations royal side wahoo steak and seafood lovers lane butler suite our honeymoon french restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2021

This review is for managing Covid reservations and not resort experience.

I am reading the bad reviews, not common for Sandals so this is a warning for the company.
We are Sandals fans and have stayed at almost most of them. Never before have I had to invest hours on the phone going nowhere to change booking due to various Covid reasons. Our Nov 2020 trip moved to Mar 2021 and now moved to May. Like another reviewer, the resort closed in March (as it should due to the bumpy service few experienced), we were offered 50% cancelation ......blah blah blah. Very disappointing since we didn't cancel, that was a bad move by management.
Now I am waiting for Barbados to change their travel policy, we have no interest of quarantining on arrival. We can bring a PCR test, we have now proof of vaccination so another test is not in our plans. Don't need to vacation that bad.

Sandals - how you handle customers changing their vacation is very important:
- Honor prices that were booked before, don't try to change them, not cool.
- Change dates/resort and be flexible, this will go a long way

These two things will keep your base. We really don't want to turn our back on you but from 5 star you are down to 3.
Keep the big picture in mind please.

Date of stay: March 2021
9  Thank SunWaterScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Royal Barbados. We have always sought to supply our guests with service that surpasses their expectations from start to end. We especially do our best to make sure that guests understand our cancellation policies before finalizing a reservation. It is regrettable that, in spite of the efforts made by our Senior Management to resolve your concerns, you remain dissatisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience you would have experienced should you have any lingering concerns, we invite you to share them with us at customersupport@sandals.com. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

My wife and I visited Sandal's Barbados in early November, 2020. There are actually 2 Sandals resorts that are side by side, and we were scheduled to have a swim out room at the older resort, but due to Covid, the rooms on this side were closed, so we were upgraded to a swim out room at the new resort. Our overall experience was great, as we felt very fortunate to get away at all during the pandemic.

We have been to other Sandals resorts, and this one by far had the best food, and the service was also excellent. Face masks were required when entering most of the buildings, but not while in the pool or walking around outside.

The resort was almost too quiet, however, as Britain had imposed a travel ban 2 weeks prior to our arrival, so most of the folks from Britain had already gone home, so it was just folks from the US that were there, for the most part.

A couple of notes about travel. Coming into Barbados was not a pleasant experience, as there was a 2.5 hour wait to clear what I would call the "Health Ministry", which is basically a one on one interview with a government agent who told us what was required due to Covid 19. This could easily have been done using TV monitors and running a continuous loop, but that is not how it worked. There was a "fast pass" that was offered by Sandals, and I would highly recommend it, as the people that took this route were through the airport in 15 minutes. When leaving Barbados, make sure you check with your airline carrier to find out if you need any special documents because of the pandemic.

We especially appreciated a couple of folks at Butch's Chop House that we would like to recognize. Kadeem was a fantastic server that went above and beyond, and Chef Ashley prepared a fantastic dinner for us.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank T-Ptraveler423333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank you for rating our resort. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us at Sandals Royal Barbados. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to hosting you again in the near future for another wonderful vacation.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

We had booked Sandals Royal Barbados for March 13, 2021. They ended up not opening the hotel for covid reasons announcing 2/16 (no problem). After asking for a refund, they said by policy only 50% can be refunded do to "us" canceling. Policy they kept saying... after being hung up on by an agent, finally being fed up with not getting anywhere, we decided to take the offer and go to St. Lucia and the room available was a $1,500 difference which by policy we are "penalized" 50% of that. Imagine? Nope, it's a reality. I'm sure St. Lucia will be amazing but it's not what we wanted and certainly not our fault the resort wasn't open for us and look at this so called 5 star hotel bullying people into taking a loss so they don't have to. Apparently, US courts have no jurisdiction over them so good luck in a Jamaican courthouse....I hope secrets will enjoy my long, very, very long future business. I own my own company and would never do this to a client. We might just call and have CC company recall funds. A simple refund would have kept my business but Sandals can forever pound sand!!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
10  Thank Johnnje21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Thank you for your Sandals Royal Barbados review. On behalf of the entire team, we are sincerely sorry if you felt disappointed with any aspect of your service. As a resort that caters primarily to two people in love, we certainly understand how important such a trip is. Your desire to express your opinion is deeply appreciated. It is quite alarming to read your comments regarding your disappointment with our Temporary closure due to covid-19. Nonetheless, your comments have been noted and will be shared with our Resort Management teams. At Sandals, we do our best to ensure our guests' every experience is a seamless and enjoyable one, with that being said. It is indeed regrettable to learn of the challenges you may have experienced with your reservation and that despite the best efforts made by our Senior Management to resolve your concerns you remain dissatisfied. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We hope that in the future, we may be given another opportunity to redeem ourselves by hosting you and your family so that you can experience the level of service we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

We were unfortunate to arrive at the hotel on the day that the Barbados Government changed the rules in relation to quarantine and we were also caught up in the testing backlog. Neither of these things were within the control of the hotel so my review is based on how well Sandals dealt with the situation. In the end we spent six days in quarantine. During this time we were able to sit in the sunshine on our balcony which overlooked the ocean - our bar was serviced daily, we had regular calls from housekeeping to offer clean bed linen and towels and an extensive room service menu. We had a couple of minor glitches ordering food due to the changing situation and the information given to us being slightly different from what the staff claimed to have been told. We also had an issue to start with in having the required temperature checks but again this was quickly sorted out. Once we notified reception that we had received our negative test results, our transfer to the main hotel was done quickly and efficiently. We were fortunate to receive an upgrade to a Skypool suite with butler service- both the room and the service were amazing - huge thanks to our butler team of Shaakeira, Sade and Akil for making the rest of our stay so special. Even though the resort was very quiet Sandals did a great job of rotating restaurant opening nights meaning that we were able to eat at Bombay Club, Kimonos, La Parisienne, American Tavern and both Butches - really hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good! Contrary to what others have said, we didn’t come across a single member of staff who gave the impression of not wanting to be there. Everyone we came into contact with was polite, courteous and helpful. The icing on the cake was transfer to the airport in the hotel’s Rolls Royce arranged for us by Shaakeira. We are looking forward when we are able to travel again to coming back to use the six days credit we were given for the time we spent in quarantine.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank valbramham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021


Thank you for sharing your review of Sandals Royal Barbados with us. It was a great honor, and pleasure hosting you. We are delighted to read that our cleanliness protocols accompanied by our staffs’ warm and friendly spirit made your stay extra special. This truly exemplifies the level of service Sandals is renowned for. We appreciate you taking the time out to highlight those and much more aspects of your stay. We remain dedicated to providing all our guests with the highest quality of services where we go above and beyond. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. We look forward to hosting you again at one of our Sandals Resorts in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Firstly Covid has made things difficult and we all simply have to compromise to get away under the current circumstances and make exceptions - Accepted 100%
Hotels also have got to be fit for purpose, Sandals are Shambles.
From a near mutiny by angry guests on the first day who arrived before us, Management are simply disinterested and the rot is at the top not the poor staff who then have to deal with the fallout.
Foods amazing, facilities brilliant but most of the staff seemed devoid of good old Caribbean humour, rarely a smile to be found, do they really want us to be there at all, is it Covid, if so then close down! They have even installed a fabulously efficient cloaking system at the swim up bar, you swim up and suddenly become invisible until you get out and walk around to the part of the bar out of the pool!
Air Con not working in our first room, then taken to the main hotel after our Covid test which had a party in the night before and not cleaned, I am partial to a streamer or two on holiday, but not someone elses from the night before! My favourite was the New Years Eve party, big tent erected, all very exciting, we got there after dinner at 10.30 set to go, to be told they did the countdown at 10.00 but didnt tell anyone. Make sure you remember to wait for half an hour in the concierge to book your meals for the coming week as there is one member of staff for about 10 waiting people, and oh, when you arrive for you meal in the evening do expect to be told it was not open that night, even if you are clutching a card stating you are booked in.
When we tried contacting the 24 hour Virgin line for some help, nothing, they do not have a presence there, despite continuing to say they do, messages were left and unanswered. We tried several times and had to phone the UK number in the end (who were then very helpful it has to be said). Basically Virgin fly you there and leave you to it, not even a tacky booklet with some local information at the airport.
We were given (as was everybody there) 2 extra nights for our troubles and we have now been told by taking them we had signed a disclaimer (no we didnt) so not to complain. We diligently filled in the 'how did it go' questionnaire on our return, the deafening silence and complete lack of response is a reassuring note to finish with that they really don't care at all.
So if you want a completely independent holiday with 5 star amenities and 2 star service visit Shambles and use Virgin, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021


Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Royal Barbados. We were delighted to have had you as a guest with us; it is disheartening you felt like there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. In all that we do, we strive to provide first-class experiences to all of our guests and as such, we encourage guests to speak with the Resort Management team should they come across something that does not seem to meet standards. Please rest assured that once given the opportunity, our Resort Team is always willing to accommodate reasonable requests. We only hope that you would permit the more positive aspects of your experience to outweigh any dismay you may have felt as we would like nothing more than for another opportunity to surpass your expectations during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews