We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best rental Choise for family”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden area with dining, shade and hammock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden area with dining, shade and hammock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Garden area with dining, shade and hammock
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Patio
Garden with BBQ Grill
Garden area with BBR, dining and hammock
Island living!
The House, Green Gates Holiday Rental
View of Green Gates from Maxwell Main Road
Maxwell Beach, literally 2 minutes walking distance!
Maxwell Beach, sunset
Bajan Rum Shop
Chattel House
Maxwell Beach, just footsteps away
Harrison Caves
Cliff Restaurant
Cliff Restaurant
Farley Hill ruins
Rum Shop
Cattlewash , East Coast
Miami Beach
Racing at the Garrison Savannah
Route from the airport to Green Gates
Bajan Rum Shop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Maxwell, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
19Nina72
Lahti, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best rental Choise for family”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spend three weeks with family of 4 persons in Green Gates. The booking and paying were very simple and trustable. All information we get in internet was at least in the house when we get there. The house was perfect clean and tidy and all needed were including.

The location is great! It's only about 100m for public transportation, 10m to the beach and By walk distance you have bank, grocery, bar, restaurant, etc. It takes only about 15-20 minutes to Bridgetown By bus.

The neigbourhood is very silent and peaceful so it was a real holiday place for us.
We really can recommend this vacation rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickeyzr
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As advertised- Exceptional”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed four weeks & very impressed. Just as advertised.
Owner Sharon supplied new toaster & coffee within hours of our request. She also supplied folding chairs for the beach, which is less than five minutes away and never more than a dozen people there except for national holiday.
We walked or took a route taxi( ZR), did not need a car. St Lawrence Gap was fifteen minutes along the beach. Happy hour at Bougainvillea Resort or roast beef dinner at Charlies under ten minute walk. A walk to Oistens for the fish fry,fish market or Massey Supermarket for groceries and beer was 25 minutes.
Very quiet and clean. No black dust on the floors like you get around Rockley. No A/C but didn't need it- Fans in every room and a steady breeze off the beach. Yard has patio tables and chairs, hammock and charcoal BBQ. Exceptional holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home, would definately stay here again”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I've just returned from a 2 week stay at Green Gates & would definately stay there again,it feels like hom from home. The property owners arranged a transfer from the airport for us & were at the house to welcome us when we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for them. The house is situated in a great location, a 2 minute walk to one beach, 10 minute walk to another larger beach & 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction to the bank & large supermarket. If you want nightlife Oistins & The Gap are a short taxi ride away, there is a taxi rank less than 2 minutes walk from the house & the Z buses that take you into Bridgetown pass by the top of the road every 2 minutes. The house has everything you need to make it feel like home & is spotlessly clean with a lovely outside dining area complete with hammock. I've recently fallen in love with Barbados & plan to be visiting on a regular basis, Green Gates will be at the top of the list when i'm choosing accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy66Lo...
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING FAMILY HOLIDAY - BOOK IT NOW!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We are currently holidaying at Green Gates Cottage for one month and cannot find words to truly describe how wonderful it is. The Maxwell area is central and near to many restaurants, supermarket, shops, hotels and literally 2 minutes walk to the beach - we timed it! The house itself is delightful and tastefully decorated with everything that you could possibly need and more! The beds are super comfy, lots of clean, soft linen and downy pillows. The kitchen is fully equipped and my husband has no excuse to cook me up some breakfast most mornings. Clothes washer, iron and board, trust me, you won't miss home! Now onto to the owners, their love for what they do comes true in their attention to detail as well as their warm, friendly but unobtrusive way of making us feel so welcome. They are on hand to pick you up from the airport and once you get to Green Gates, they take the time to show you around and give you pointers for the best stay ever! There is plenty of space in the garden to entertain while grilling fresh fish from the nearby fishing village Oistins. The dining area is shaded and my evenings are sent chillaxing in the hammock while hubby skillfully mans the BBQ grill ( yes I know that you are noticing a pattern here). Beach towels, chaise loungers even a safe for your valuables - Nan and Peter have thought about everything to make our vacation at Green Gates the best ever.

You should know that for the past 20 years we gave visited every summer and stayed at hotels, this is our first home rental and we could not have been more pleased with our decision. The cost is literally half of what we normally spend on hotel accommodation plus we have the huge advantage of complete privacy and our own space! This is our slice of paradise, we will be back next year for sure. For those of you reading this, stop right now and BOOK immediately, pretty so you too will be raving about this place.

Tip be sure to ask Nan about airport transfers, it takes all the hassle out of getting there quickly and safely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Garden area with hammock and BBQ grill.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redddwine
Barbados
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is my little paradise !”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This location is wonderful...my lovely apt is very close to everything...beach...emergency wine...shopping...resorts...bus transportation and car rental....the owners are true to their word...am comin' back for sure !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness, owners attitude and quick response...they care...
Liked least: mmmm...let me think....mmmm...have to get back to you...can't think of anything :)
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing