We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shelsea is a little piece of heaven”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Shelsea

Patio deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio deck
Our beach Beach at Oistins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Patio deck
Our beach
Beach at Oistins
Kitchen leads onto deck
Kitchen looking into dining room
Living room
Living room through to den
En-suite bedroom
Lilac bedroom - twin or superking
View of den from garden
Mango tree in garden
Humming bird photographed from deck
Another humming bird
Private lane leads to Shelsea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Maxwell, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paula E
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shelsea is a little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Shelsea is a little piece of heaven. Even though it’s not on the beach don’t let that change your mind about staying here. It’s on a quiet lane with a 1 minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the south coast & from the porch & yard you can hear the waves crashing.
The beautifully kept gardens attract all kinds of birds & we saw humming birds every day. The house has all the comforts of home including a fully stocked kitchen with all modern appliances. This was great for me since I love cooking & picking up fresh fish from the Oistins fish market which is 10 minute walk from the house. We were 6 total staying in the house including 2 grandparents & 2 young children & everyone had their own space which is just what we needed.
Our holiday was just perfect & we can’t wait to return to Shelsea.
Paula

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you Paula! We feel honoured to achieve such a wonderful review from someone who has visited Barbados many times. We will continue to strive to make our guests feel welcome and happy and we hope you return to Shelsea one day soon!
Sheila Jacobs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis N
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not Have Found a Better Place”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Barbados villas before, but we found Shelsea a cut above most. It is spacious, comfortable, and above all, well located. The garden provides a delightful place to enjoy breakfast with the company of hummingbirds and mourning doves. The proximity to the beach was delightful, allowing time for a morning swim after breakfast and plenty of time to explore the island the rest of the day. Evening cocktails on the sheltered veranda were a great way to relax at the end the day. The Oistens location places you in a position to easily travel around the island by rental car or bus. The Oistens outdoor fish market is a great place to get just-caught fish for a late afternoon barbecue back at the house. Will be returning to Shelsea.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl S
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation heaven”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Shelsea is everything you want and need in a vacation home. Our group of 6 stayed for 10 days at Shelsea. The house is so inviting and warm. It has all of the amenities that make a vacation great. The owner, Sheila, does a superb job making sure you are comfortable and well informed. Our group went to Barbados to relax and scuba dive. We spent many hours on the porch playing games and chatting. The yard is beautiful and found it perfect for sunbathing and reading a good book. We rented a van for our stay but could have just as easily taken the taxis that are everywhere. I would not hesitate to recommend Shelsea to my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the porch and yard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBquick
Kenora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a month at the Shelsea. It was everything we wanted and more. The house is private and peaceful and very secure with a fully equipped kitchen, three lovely bedrooms and an open air appeal that catches the Barbados breezes. Imagine wild parrots eating mango's in your yard of the occasional monkey paying a visit. All of this while you sit enjoying a breakfast and a good book on the patio. The beach is a 2 minute walk away. The Shelsea is very close to a major bus route so you can go just about anywhere on a bus for a mere $2.00 Barbados. When you are coming home ask to be dropped at Charlie's Bar. Everyone knows Charlie's and you will be a one block walk from Shelsea. If you choose to rent a car, Calypso car rental is in the neighborhood. If you rent a car, remember the maps are just general guidelines. However you can always find your way home if you get "lost". There are many great restaurants, shopping and activities just a short bus ride away. Barbadian people are very generous and friendly and will help you out at any time. I would happily recommend Shelsea to anyone looking for a the independence and privacy of a lovely home away from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The independence and the space. Being in a home vs a resort.
Liked least: Getting lost finding the place when we arrived. If you tell the cab to turn at Charlie's Bar, everyone knows it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPC-CVH
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further...this is PARADISE”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to feel you have been on vacation in Paradise, this is the place for YOU! We decided to try renting rather than staying in a hotel after 12 years of spending our holiday in a very nice hotel. WOW....Staying at Shelsea REALLY made a world of difference in the quality and peacefulness we experienced on holiday. It is actually hard to put into words how exceptional this treasure has become to us....So much so, we have made reservations for a repeat and have extended the time to 34 nights!!!
Imagine yourself tucked away in a tropical paradise, a beautiful garden to look at every morning with tea or coffee and every comfort of home. If you rent a car, no problem and if you do not, you can walk or call a cab. Everything is easy, including the extremely short walk to the beach access. This is a home, not a house...simply kick back and enjoy every moment! We cannot wait to get back to Shelsea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: no downside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$215
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing