We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Changed plan as Mt Te Aroha Summit trail wasn't open

Mt Te Aroha Suumit walk is currently closed after the cyclone and I wouldn't attempt going up there... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2023
295DonnaM
,
Kirkwall
Beautiful views even on a cloudy day

A great challenging walk up the mountain with really pretty scenery. Lots of tree roots, climbing... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2021
577nicolap
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
7
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2019

The staff at I-Site gave us information, if people are really seriously wanting to go to the top, they need to prepare better by start in the morning and allow 3 hours to go to the top and probably less when going down, at least they totally need 5 - 6 hours return trip, it is a bit hard and not easy track, and the time has already late afternoon around 5pm. However, there is a simpler and easier target, Whakapipi Platform LookOut, at height of approx +350m, it is easier than to the top of Mt Aroha at approx +950mm, you still need medium fitness though. So we chose this easier and shorter walk. The I-site information said 45 minutes one way to the Whakapipi LookOut, and we managed to reach this Lookout in 50 minutes, quite well. The views from Whakapipi LookOut were fantastic, Te Aroha Township at the foreground and Hauraki Plain at the horizon, brilliant. The return trip was faster because of downhill track. Totally we spent less than 2 hours, a bit sore legs but happy trip and pleased, all for free.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank santo-trainsspotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We are so fortunate to live under the mountain. There are so many different tracks. Some even for the not so fit and others for the very fit. We often walk up to the water tower with our dog on a lead to look at the amazing view over the town. Just love our Mt Te Aroha.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank L7588DUheatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

A really nice and quite difficult walking track, slippery after rain, but totally worth it! The view is amazing, I met just 3 other travellers, so really calm and peaceful place.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gertrūda Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Mount Te Aroha can be ascended in as little as ninety minutes (or less) if you’re super fit. Otherwise, a leisurely two hours is all that’s needed to enjoy some beautiful views over the Kaimai Ranges. The climb is steep and tricky in parts as you scramble over rocks and tree branches.

Once at the summit, you can go down the same route or take the gravel road. The gravel road has a huge detour once you get to the base and puts you miles away from the town and the car park. I recommended going down the way you came up!

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Jessisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

just your average mountain in NZ. is it worth the drive from south island? probably not. is it worth a visit if you live nearby - yup. good for the kids. do the easy tracks . you will enjoy the day there. note. this is a retirement town, dont expect Auckland Mt Eden stuff.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank GarryLSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews