We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Changed plan as Mt Te Aroha Summit trail wasn't open

Mt Te Aroha Suumit walk is currently closed after the cyclone and I wouldn't attempt going up there... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2023
295DonnaM
,
Kirkwall
Beautiful views even on a cloudy day

A great challenging walk up the mountain with really pretty scenery. Lots of tree roots, climbing... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2021
577nicolap
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
7
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

A really nice and quite difficult walking track, slippery after rain, but totally worth it! The view is amazing, I met just 3 other travellers, so really calm and peaceful place.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gertrūda Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Mount Te Aroha can be ascended in as little as ninety minutes (or less) if you’re super fit. Otherwise, a leisurely two hours is all that’s needed to enjoy some beautiful views over the Kaimai Ranges. The climb is steep and tricky in parts as you scramble over rocks and tree branches.

Once at the summit, you can go down the same route or take the gravel road. The gravel road has a huge detour once you get to the base and puts you miles away from the town and the car park. I recommended going down the way you came up!

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Jessisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

just your average mountain in NZ. is it worth the drive from south island? probably not. is it worth a visit if you live nearby - yup. good for the kids. do the easy tracks . you will enjoy the day there. note. this is a retirement town, dont expect Auckland Mt Eden stuff.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank GarryLSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2016

This trek is not for the faint hearted as it is very steep all the way to the summit. But rest assured when you reach the top it's an amazing feeling. Choose a clear day to go as we saw none of the spectacular views due to cloud cover. The track is well maintained and there are plenty of other tracks in the area to do as well. We are 28 and managed the summit in 1 hour 50 with a few short stops.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Neetz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Having some time to finally climb it & the weather was good decided it's now or never as I'm not getting any younger, nearly 70. Starting from the Domain the path passes a geyser & starts climbing to the Tower on the Summit. Past Bald Spur the well formed path becomes a track. Further up you start climbing up roots & rocks. With a couple of short stops it took us just over 2 hours to get up. Sadly view was hazy but on a clear day from the 950 odd meters the view would be fantastic. On the way down branched off to the Horseman's Track that passes by an old Mine entrance (No Entry). You MUST take water with you!

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews