We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tony H
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Great Locations Disappointing Room

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2023via mobile
I would have given this Aparthotel 5 stars if it wasn’t for our particular room in block 5 (room 503) I can only describe it as what would normally be staff accommodation in my opinion. Set half underground with no windows other than the frosted front door which you cannot see out of, it’s an automatically electric type locks behind you and yes locked out 3 times just putting towels out to dry. The terrace is in an open passage no privacy and you can’t leave the door open. The room itself was just a huge white box with 3 single beds set out within the room a bit like a dorm. When you look around the complex rooms with balconies and enclosed terraces with patio doors look lovely. SO DEPRESSING! but didn’t let it spoil our holiday.

Apart from that Complex is lovely, staff fantastic, had some issues with maids not attending but not going to quibble about that. Location is probably the best in Pefkos.

We would book again but only if could guarantee a room with a patio door / windows.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Feb 2024
Hello tonyH

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback.

Your positive comments regarding the location, staff and facilities and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and it’s good to know that are getting things right and that these things had such a positive impact on your holiday.

We are sorry that you were disappointed wit the room that you were allocated. You don;t mention in your review if you contacted reception to express these concerns and give us the opportunity to move you to a more suitable room. We would also like to clarify that the rooms on the lower level are amongst the most in demand rooms that we have available, due to the fact that they are incredibly cool during the hot summer months. They are also easily accessible, again another element that is in high demand from our guests.

With regards to the door locking system. This automatic locking system is standard in most Hotels and is security measure to ensure that guests do not leave their room unsecured. We're sorry that you found this to be an inconvenience but it is standard within the industry.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kinds Regards

Stefanos Pallas

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Blick vom Kirchlein
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $266
0.3 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio for 2
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $136
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $97
  • Expedia.com
    $153
0.4 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
$440
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $440
0.8 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $314
  • ZenHotels.com
    $296
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pefkos
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,568 results
Traveller rating
1,015
383
123
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,015
383
123
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peoples bar meltemi restaurant old block next year air con snack bar great holiday bars and restaurants one bedroom apartment self catering plenty of sunbeds lee beach oasis bar sea view well stocked supermarket two weeks family holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,568 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

This was our second time visiting the hotel and it didn’t disappoint. The hotel is ideally situated as five mins from the beach and other bars and restaurants.

We arrived around 2am and check in was quick and simple, we even managed to have a couple of beers in the bar before we went up to our rooms.

Rooms are clean and spacious although they feel very dated and could do with a bit of a revamp but as we don’t spend that much time in the rooms it wasn’t an issue but would like to see them updated as looking very tired.

Pools are lovely and clean, we spent most of the time round the quieter pool, didn’t have to get up early to reserve a bed as there was plenty available throughout the day.

We booked half board, breakfast was a little bit of a let down, could do with a bit more of a selection and the cooked food hotter as was luke warm. Love bacon when on hols but couldn’t eat it here as a little undercooked for my taste as like it crispy. Evening meal was amazing, so much to choose from on the menu, although there was a couple of items which had an additional charge, however it was minimal so didn’t mind too much. The staff in the restaurant are so lovely, always happy to have a chat and a joke with us and they work so hard to make sure everything is to your liking.

The bar area is lovely, never waiting long to be served and was always told to sit down as they would bring the drinks over. As soon as you have an empty glass they are back over to see if you want anything else. Again staff are amazing in here, they work so hard but always have the time to have a chat and a laugh with us. They play various different sports on the tv’s around the bar but also play loads of great music which gives it a great vibe. There was a couple of live singers on a few nights and we loved it, everyone was singing and getting up to have a dance.

All in all this hotel is fabulous, the staff (sorry not good with names) definitely make this place what it is and makes you feel so welcome, we are now looking at coming back next year, can’t wait.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hello Kelly

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback.

Your positive comments regarding the staff, rooms, facilities and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and it’s good to know that are getting things right and that these things had such a positive impact on your holiday.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kinds Regards


Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

After being an avid lover of the canaries we thought we would try Rhodes and chose the matina for the excellent reviews, I found the apartment’s dated however they were clean and the beds comfy, the complex is lovely and it’s one of the nicest pools I’ve used abroad and we used the quieter of the 2 pools, the grounds were kept beautifully and the staff were very hard working and friendly, the beach is only next door but we didn’t use it as not big beach lovers and plus you have to pay €20-25 and I didn’t find it a big beach you can walk along, the down side to the hotel is we went half board and was disappointed that there was only a limited choice on the menu with out paying extra having known that I would of gone bed and breakfast as there are plenty of restaurants along the strip, a visit to Rhodes old town and lindos are well worth the trip, on a whole I enjoyed it but sadly would not return for other reasons, however I would recommend the matina if someone wants to visit the island

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 126deniseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hello Denise

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback.

Your positive comments regarding the staff, rooms, facilities and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and it’s good to know that are getting things right and that these things had such a positive impact on your holiday.

We would like to clarify your point with regards to our Half Board option. Our half board guests can enjoy an unlimited breakfast buffet along with a 2 course, a la carte meal from our Meltemi Restauranti menu. We have 14 starters to choose from, 2 of which have a small subsidy, along with 27 main courses of which 6 have a subsidy. We wanted to ensure that our guests were not limited at all in their evening meal choices, so rather than completely removing items from the half board menu that would not be financially viable, we felt it fairer to continue to offer these higher end meal choices to the guest, with a small subsidy (in most cases between €3 - €7). We are sorry that your tour operator did not convey this to your prior to booking, but we have now addressed this with them for future guests.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kinds Regards


Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

If I could give more stars I would!

We have just returned this morning following a week at Matina; myself, my husband and our 17 year old son.

We stayed in a studio apartment: perfect for us - our sons bed was slightly separated giving that bit of privacy for him, had great kitchen facilities, really comfortable beds, a bath with a shower over, good size balcony with a nice view over the pool and was meticulously clean - the whole hotel was cleaned to a really high standard with the most amazing staff who couldn’t do enough to help you have the best possible stay.

I am coeliac so can’t eat gluten and this is the best place I’ve stayed ANYWHERE for food - we eat breakfast here every day, lunch most days and even had our evening meal here twice.
Special mention to George at the restaurant, so knowledgable about what I could and couldn’t eat, he also gave great advice on trips we should take (go to the Greek night in nearby Lardos - fantastic!)

This place has great facilities for all ages, a small kids pool, an adults only pool, regular entertainment (should you fancy it) and it’s literally meters from the beautiful Pefkos beach as well as the strip.

The girls on reception and the jet2 rep were also on hand whenever you needed them, all so friendly and helpful.

The matina really made our week a very special family holiday and we are already looking to return as part of a larger family holiday next year. Honestly couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else in Pefkos!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jodegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hello Jodie

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback.

Your positive comments regarding the staff, rooms, facilities and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and it’s good to know that are getting things right and that these things had such a positive impact on your holiday. We were especially pleased to read about the positive impact that George had on your stay and that you found our menus to be varied and considerate of your dietary requirements.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kinds Regards


Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and had already pre completed check-in and met Bob at reception who explained everything and he was really helpful and a lovely gentleman. All the staff and ABC Supermarket as well were all very nice and friendly polite and helpful people. Fantastic location, facilities and fantastic staff. 👍

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hello Gary

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay and appreciate the opportunity to take on board and respond to our guests feedback.

Your positive comments regarding your stay with us and the Hotel overall were wonderful to read and we're delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kinds Regards


Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2023

This is our third visit to the matina as a family of four , our two teenagers absolutely love it here , the staff are so friendly and take the time to speak to you every day . Special mention to Stergos and David who are absolutely fantastic, they really take the time to speak with everyone. Also filw deserves a mention for being entertaining , we love the staff here and hence why we come back every year , we will be back in October

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanos pallas, Owner at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Hello Rebecca

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Matina Pefkos Aparthotel. We’re always grateful to guests who take the time to review their stay but feel that the feedback from guests who have stayed at the Hotel on numerous occasions is vital to ensuring that we are maintaining our own high standards.

Your positive comments regarding tour staff were wonderful to read and were delighted that they had such a positive impact on your stay with us. We will ensure that your kind words are relayed to them.

Once again, thank you for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you visit us again.

Kinds Regards


Stefanos Pallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews