We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$185
View deal
Hotels.comUS$185
Expedia.comUS$185
eDreamsUS$185
PricelineUS$185
Agoda.comUS$185
TravelocityUS$185
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
291
477
285
181
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
477
285
181
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar pizza beach bungalow beach front the hotel offers half board the main hotel rented a car all inclusive package big hotel beach volleyball breakfast and dinner waves crash speak french per day great beach both sides
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,307 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2019

So lets start at the beginning. On arrival at the airport our travel agent had arranged that our transfers were to be made by the hotel, they didn’t manage that bit. An eight minute phone call to the hotel was finally concluded by them agreeing to pay for a taxi, after originally telling me it was my fault. If you do need a taxi it will be over 60 euros.
On arriving at the hotel and getting our room I was distinctly underwhelmed, damp on the ceiling, painted walls in dire need of redecoration, broken windows in the bathroom, stained toilet bowl, loose toilet seat, click clack type sink plug that neither clicked or clacked and so didn’t work.
That was all trumped by the state of the door to the veranda. It was rotten, literally rotten. So much so the glass was loose, the door jam that it closed against was so bad it was unafixed at the base so much so I could place things between it and where it should be adjoined, the wood was also rotten along the bottom and again the glass was loose (I’m kind of hoping the hotel will come out with something along the lines of “we are in the process of updating rooms” which means there were either rooms a lot worse than this which were being done first or they didn’t know how bad there hotel is). See the photos attached.
The TV “showing local and international channels” means 10 French speaking channels that often showed the no signal banner,
Change of room? Sorry all the rooms are taken.
It was kept nice and clean though.
As has been pointed out elsewhere, there are no private beaches on Guadeloupe which means Sundays are particularly crowded, Sundays and Mondays on public holidays means the resort is exceptionally busy, too busy. The car park is full, cars are parked on the grass verges all along the drive and on both sides of the road and central reservation on the approach to the hotel barrier.
Onto the hotels claims.
Wifi in the bar and reception – It is literally only in those two places, move 10/15m away and you lose it. Strange that, you can only get wifi where they want you spend money. The speed meant constant buffering. In the 21st century a hotel with such poor wifi is very unusual.
We were only on B&B so we had to pay extra for watersports and tennis etc, in fact anything other than loungers, boules and beach volleyball, weirdly if you wanted to change your beach towels more than once a week there was a 1 Euro charge per towel per change for that as well (note to hotel – don’t come up with the old washing towels, green policy, detergent use excuse when you change plastic cups in the rooms everyday and use plastic drinking straws.
So what tips do you need to know if you are visiting?
Sea view rooms, means the sea is viewable from the veranda, personally I’d settle for garden rooms rather than pay extra and a bonus is avoiding the steps.
This is a big hotel, the restaurant seats around 200 at a time so there will be gaps in the selection of food available at any given time unless you are an early bird.
There is a very good Europcar hire desk at the hotel, the lady was really helpful. If you prefer Hertz there is an office about 150m outside the gate.
There is a little store about 10 minutes walk away
If you are B&B the evening self service buffet is 30 Euros pp. If you have a car eat out, you’ll get better for less
The rooms have small fridges and the hotel will lend you a kettle.
The front of house staff are lovely and friendly.
Which brings me onto check out, we’d had a poor start and poor room, what else could possibly go wrong bearing in mind we had pre paid for the rooms and only had a few drinks and snacks from the bar? HOW ABOUT BEING GIVEN A BILL FOR 518 EUROS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It wasn’t rocket science to check that the bill should have been less in fact a massive 400 Euros less! Having pointed out the lack of airport to hotel transport, state of the room and the overcharging, the hotel waived the 30 Euro fee for a 2 hour late check out.
How many other people are being overcharged where it is not so obvious?
I won’t be going back and advise you to think twice before booking. Before the check out shenanigans this was a 2 star review, afterwards it went down to 1.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank neptunesnemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay last July at our hotel.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, as we strive to improve our services in order to bring more satisfaction to our guests.
We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating.
Rooms have been renovated (mainly paint and electricity) during our closing period from August to October. Morevover, we are waiting for tropical decorations that will bring bright colors to our rooms.
Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere for our guests.

When busy, indeed, our guests can park on the grass, which is closer to the reception.
For your information, the WIFI is mainly available in the common spaces.

We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding your transfer and the extra bill.
This is why we always do a recap with the detail of you bill before each guest leave.
Hopefully, you have been able to point the mistake.
Thank you for that.

We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to us directly if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around.
It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019

My 3 kids and I spent 2 weeks in this beautiful hotel, in a dreamlike location. The rooms were spacious, clean with great beds. The hotel offers great activities, and good entertainment in the evenings. The restaurant had wonderful food with a variety for everyone. The hotel manager, together with his crew are the greatest asset to the hotel.

Room tip: I think that all rooms are great! I visited other rooms in the hotel, and they all were great.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2019

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review!
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the activities and entertainment.
Our hotel aims to provide a unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.
We will communicate your compliments to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Langley Resort Fort Royal.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2019

We didn't stay in the hotel but could use the facilities, bar and restaurant. We had a really fabulous buffet one evening that was very reasonabky priced and you could eat as muchh as you like. The restaurant and bar area are situated right on the beach front. The food was delicious and we would definitely reurn here to eat. In the evening at least once a week there is a live band. You can sit at the beach tables to listen to the musuc and at the same time listen to the waves. A wonderful setting.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SaraGW1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback.
It's such a pleasure to read that you appreciated your experience at Langley Resort Fort Royal.
We hope to welcome you soon again, maybe in one of our bungalows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Stayed here recently and although it has some positive points (nice beach, friendly staff) they allow non-guests to use the grounds for the day. The weekend especially was quite busy. We were looking forward to a quiet stay on off-season but Instead it was populated with guests from different hotels and many local folks. Wasn’t able to use the pool as large groups of locals settled there for the entire day. I chose this place because it had a private beach. Would not have paid the price had I known it’s open to the public (probably at a fee but nonetheless...)

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bailey788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFortRoyal, Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review.

On this particular weekend, indeed, we hosted a salsa event.
During low season, the weekends are also busy.

Moreover, there are no private beaches in Guadeloupe.

We hope to see you again soon.

Christelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

My wife and I were touring Basse Terre, Guadeloupe by road, and called here for lunch in June 2019.

Security directed us to free parking, and we walked to the hotel reception. They pointed us to the bar (where we had a drink by the beach) and to the restaurant (where we had lunch).

The views are spectacular, and we enjoyed our Caribbean salads. The “punch” is VERY strong - you have been warned!

We walked along the beach frontage (see my photograph) before we left.

For interest, this is the hotel where the cast and crew of TVs “Death in Paradise” stay during filming (May-September).

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen7Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesFRR, General Manager at Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Dear Stephen
Thank you for your feedback on Langley Resort Fort Royal Guadeloupe. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant, which also offers indeed a spectacular view. We hope that you are tempted to actually come back and stay with us as also the sunset at our resort is breathtaking and you can enjoy a lot of water sports and activities or just relax on one of our beaches. Whether you watch it from a room or suite balcony or from a sea view of beach front bungalow: the views are beautiful. We also have recently renewed all furniture in the rooms and bungalows. Nice you mentioned the BBC hit TV series 'Death in Paradise', as indeed many stay here. Every year they also film one episode or part of one episode at our resort in Deshaies, Guadeloupe, French West Indies, Caribbean. The production team of Death in Paradise just completed filming with us! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Langley Resort Fort Royal Guadeloupe in the near future!
Kind regards
Léon Raaijmaakers - Director
Langley Resort Fort Royal Guadeloupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews