We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
18
15
10
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
15
10
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean and comfortable greeted by friendly staff pudding lovely hotel lovely food friday evening on arrival a lovely stay steak high standard facebook
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at the George hotel. The room was lovely and big. Also in my room there was balloons and banners for my birthday which was a lovely touch. The food was amazing the dinner we had on the Friday night was amazing the breakfast in the morning was again lovely. The host Charlene & Dillon went above and beyond to make our stay as lovely as possible the bar area was relaxing could of sat there for hours.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C D George C, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Karen B

We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed your food during your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the George on the 8th of June with a friend Such a stunning place with a little courtyard where you can sit outside
The place itself was wonderful very clean and decorated throughout (loved the pictures of the dogs in suit) Was made very welcome when checking in the atmosphere was buzzing
Our room was a WOW factor beautiful stunning 10/10
Restaurant area was busy but was show to a table by a lovely lady (Charlene)
Food was well presented and very nice (Hats of the chef) stayed for a few cocktails
After s comfortable night went for breakfast another full house sat and had a yummie full English breakfast that went down a treat
Such a lovely place run by great management
Will certainly be returning with family and friends
Thanks again!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank annettekumar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C D George C, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Annettekumar7

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are very pleased to hear such positive thoughts.
We operate a fresh kitchen and we are pleased to hear that you really appreciated the food.
Cocktails have just been introduced and we hope to see you again soon for some more!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

The rooms we stayed in were of a high standard and clean. The tv sets had Netflix and the WiFi was spot on.
The food however was shocking. The menu was poorly thought out and the meals we were served were extremely small portions and did not taste good.
Breakfast was disorganised and and was no better than the evening meal. The second night we stayed we ate elsewhere and the following morning there was no fresh coffee at breakfast and just a luke warm boiler of water for tea.
We will not be staying again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C D George C, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Andy S,

I am very concerned to hear that your food experience was not as good as our standards strive to be. The lunch time menu is slightly smaller on our 2 for £10 menu. However this hasn't been of a concern to us before as out food portions are usually at a very suitable size.
Breakfast will be investigated as staff are trained to a good level in customer service. Unfortunately our coffee machine is currently out of service however alternatives are in place.

We are sorry to hear you wont be returning, as we would like the opportunity to investigate your stay. If you could email us directly we would be more than happy to discuss this further

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Our first impression other than a completely disorganised receptionist was of a pleasant looking hotel, lovely courtyard, nicely decorated. Our rooms were I have to say, excellent, well presented, clean, fresh linen, no complaints there whatsoever from all 5 of our rooms.
However....
We went to have a drink and some food. We were not able to put our order on our rooms or on a tab, ok, just an inconvenience maybe but it's not what we expect. Real ales were badly kept, cloudy, warm. On to the food.... Well, the teenage chef who wanted to befriend us stated that as they were a 'fresh' kitchen they had ran out of about 2/3 of what would have been in offer. Put it this way, his mum should have gone to Iceland as that was about the leveyof food we ended up with anyway! Portions were childlike at best, we were simply gobsmacked but after a full days work we grumbled quietly and ate our poorly presented, mediocre at best offerings. I really should have taken photos, it was laughable. When the dear waitress can to ask if everything was alright, she was met with stoney silence and she embarrassingly went away.
Breakfast....
Couldn't get much worse?
No fresh coffee, no juices, malfunctioning cereal dispenser, Luke warm urn water, food quality was just horrendous, I didn't even try mine it looked that grey.
2 night stay. Rooms were not made up or refreshed, we all had to ask for loo rolls and coffee/tea refills.
All in all...
A well presented hotel from first impressions with good rooms. Stay clear of the food and don't expect good service.
This place needs grabbing by the scruff of its neck, ditching the kids that are trying their best or employ a decent manager to help them out.
What a shame.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

I stayed for one night as a single traveller. Some of the reviews I read were far from complimentary but my experience was largely positive. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful; my room was clean and comfortable. I had an evening meal and breakfast: both
fine.For £49 all in, I thought it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CuthTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews